from http://community.livejournal.com/sg_ljers/1320534.html
thought it might be interesting.. :)
size 8 - 10 = fat
for those who are interested, this is what Sandra Leong wrote in the papers on 25 Feb.
I
thought I'd heard everything until H, one of my girlfriends. related
her story to me. Her boyfriend-now an ex, of course- dropped the
bombshell just two days after sending her a bouquet of champagne roses
for Valentine's Day. He wanted out, he said.
When
she quizzed him for the reason, he said he could not tolerate her
putting on weight over the past year. "I'm scared of fat," he moaned.
"And I'm scared that one day, you will look so big that I wont be able
to look at you."
He added that though he loved everything else
about her, this weighty issue consumed him so much that he could no
longer carry on the relationship.
Now, H is nowhere near fat.
She's somewhere between a size 8 and a 10. And she doesnt have any
rolls of fat bursting from her clothes. So there's no reason for the
insensitive brute to feel that way.
So it really surprised me
that she didnt proceed to sock him in the head. "No point," she said,
with a sigh. "He cant love me for the way I am and I accept that."
Yes,
physical appearance counts to both sides, especially during the heady
days of wooing-if you dont look good to the other person, you'd be hard
pressed to even land a first date.
But once a man and a man
and a woman have committed to a relationship, like H and her ex had,
shouldnt it mean that they love each other unconditionally?
I
quickly realised my foolishness when I posed the question to some male
friends, who spent the next five minutes whooping at the news that one
of their kind had told a woman she was fat-and lived to tell the tale.
They answered that if a man no longer fidns his woman physically
attractive- whether it's because she's puled on the pounds or grown
warts- the relationship is most likely a goner, even if nothing else
has changed.
"Its like having a pebble in your shoe," said
one. "It doesnt kill you but it bugs you like hell. Personality counts
but looks cant be discounted."
"Looks are to men what money is
to women," reasoned another when I sneered that all men are
superficial. "So whos being unfair to whom?"
It is not hard to
point out that women are also so much more forgiving when it comes to
those we love. yes, we are hard on ourselves- most women direct their
scrutiny at themselves and other women- but strangely enough, we can
put up with paunches and pimples on our other halves.
I, for
one, have dated men of all shapes, sizes and defects, but all were
always good looking to me in their own way. If he had small eyes, I
thought he looked like Bae Yong Jun. If he was tubby, I thought he
looked like a cuddly bear.
I know of many other women who
would do the same, and unquestioningly too. So why cant men reciprocate
such generosity? Sigh, I guess it may be time for me to remove the
blinkers from my eyes.
and of course, we know the reply from Mr Sim S K. here is his reply in its entirety.
Dear
Sandra, your friend was dumped because she was fat - get over it.
between size 8 and 10 may not be obese but for a young Chinese woman,
that's fat. Her intelligent ex-boyfriend was probably looking into the
future after she's had two or three children. Like your male
colleagues have told you, women dont mind an ugly man so long as he is
rich enough. Men dont mind, well pretty much anything, about a woman so
long as she is beautiful enough.
So your chubby friend should
get off her ample bottom and exercise or she can spend her life alone
except for her good friends Haagen and Dazs.
such a sweeping statement (in italics) and an honest-to-goodness-true-blue-jerk. *roll eyes*
yay! i am fat!!!
how big is size 8??
i hope it's a US size 8-10 they are talking about and not a UK size 8-10
and im still finding it 'hilarious' to some extent that men keep on thinking that so long they are rich they'll get a gf. hurhurhur.....
8-10. isnt that arnd L. i think,
I'm a US Size 6 & my ex called me fat. ![]()
Originally posted by Yuki~!:I'm a US Size 6 & my ex called me fat.
i think u're petite leh. if wan fat is me de.
Originally posted by cApitaland:i think u're petite leh. if wan fat is me de.
Petite ![]()
me thinks tht the Mr Sim abt too harsh ya. sometimes honey coated words are a drag but in this case i think he went overboard.
-.-" He ought to get specs.
hurhur some people like that one la.
size 0 den nice one. ![]()
Some guys keep fantasizing they'd get model-like gfs in their lives.
i wonder how men can live when they're shallower than a puddle on the sidewalk during a hot day...
then i realise the circular reasoning.. it's because they're shallow that they can..
oh well.. to each their own..
love has reasons reason can never understand..
and the guy the writer wrote about? i pity him.. and i save my pity for retards...
Originally posted by Ed11790:are we talking about shoe size or what?
HAHAHAHHAHA
that's actually very funny.
Originally posted by Ed11790:are we talking about shoe size or what?
dress size for the ladies, IQ size for the men written about by the writer..
Tastes of men change all the time
With climate change, high inflation costs, wars, terrorism
we might just return to the time when food is scarce and fat is beautiful!
I'll store some of mine just in case :P Have plenty in storage anyway ![]()
Tell ur gal fren to get a 6 pac then.
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Tastes of men change all the time
With climate change, high inflation costs, wars, terrorism
we might just return to the time when food is scarce and fat is beautiful!
I'll store some of mine just in case :P Have plenty in storage anyway
i figure one thing never changes and that is love ![]()
Shouldnt we suppose to b happy for the ger. At least she dun get dump after marrage, with kid, simply bcoz she is fat. Be it size 8, 10 or even 16, there is bound to be someone there to accept u for what u really are. Beside, fat isn’t really a problem when it is something that you can work on or correct if u desire. It is not like its true ugliness or handicap which u are born with.
wah you like that also fat? then me is what sia...
my gf slightly more plump than me sia. thats why whole day trying to get me to eat more. I'm still heavier by mass though, but only because muscles weigh more? haha.
if you really love a person, nothing she do will make you angry
if you hate a person, you will find every reason
bak bak = more to love?
Originally posted by Agenda:bak bak = more to love?
see things more positively mah right :D
its a breathe of fresh air looking at all the walking skeletons outside
how big is 8-10 sia......
hmmmm...the problem with some men is that before marraige wan hold hand.....after have kids dun wan hold hand....why scared? you make your own wife fat just becoz you wanted a kid wat......my ang moh unker told me that men who do scared of a wife being fat are dumb.....