the child has to bear in mind of the consequnces, and wat can the teacher do ?
tis is off- the- school matter
yes. ![]()
the message has nt been brought across to the mass majority of the students.
this applies to even me, i just found out that there was this right where students can be sued.
yes but why hasnt the message been brought across to the students? This shows that students blogging about teachers is not really a big issue in singapore... nobody really cares. The public is more concern about teachers blogging about students. See the number of cases of teachers blogging about students on the news and how the problem of students blogging about teachers has not been much of a concern in singapore
Originally posted by moon~ryan:
but does any1 care abt that? if you go and check some student's blog, you would find that many of them are still blogging about teachers
BLOGGING about teachers is NOT only about DEFAMING/INSUTLING them. Wah I so easy find flaw in your argument liao...how to debate??? >.>
Many resort to being 'anoymous' by stopping people to 'link' them or even password the blog to prevent other people from reading.
Originally posted by moon~ryan:yes but why hasnt the message been brought across to the students? This shows that students blogging about teachers is not really a big issue in singapore... nobody really cares. The public is more concern about teachers blogging about students. See the number of cases of teachers blogging about students on the news and how the problem of students blogging about teachers has not been much of a concern in singapore
Go digg 2006/7 newspaper and read. Theres a few teachers taking legal actions aganist students for defaming/insulting them, and yes, students had to take responsiblity of what they say even though they are not even 18years old.
i think this is so dam stupid man..i think both parties have their rights to blog abt one another..who cares?..it's ur blog..u can blog wadeva u want..i juz dun understand why some ppl got sued becoz of all those blog stuff..feel sry for them man..haiz..
well.. i guess u can do so if ur blog is private though
Why not? Its the teacher who have to set the example for the students not the other way round.
I think it should be allowed. Fairness aside (this is a crappy reason by the way), there are other valid reasons (which is just my opinion).
1. Acts as a communication tool. Some people are just idiots when it comes to communicating face-to-face. However, if there's a medium, they could do so very well. In this case, blogs could be the medium.
Be it good criticism or bad criticism, this gives the teacher something to reflect on and improve on.
2. As a way of knowing a student. Although teachers aren't the kid's parent, but getting to know them would be a way to know if they are in trouble or feeling troubled. If spotted early, help can be rendered fast enough to prevent tragedies.
Of course... with troublesome students... the teachers can find a way to workaround him/her... and if lucky could find out why he/she behaves in a certain way...
If the blogging platform is used in a positive manner, I don't see why not. But if it's not, the students might as well keep their own private diary.
well, this world is corrupt.
Originally posted by kenn3th:Thats the problem with society.
However, the teacher has every right to act on the writings of the kid.
Apprently no teacher has ever done that.
because its such a small matter. like making a mountain out of a molehill.
Why not? Teachers are just like normal ppl like us. We can blog abt teachers, why cant they blog abt us? They too are human pls.
there is no freedom of speech in sg one lor... haven you guys learn?![]()
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:there is no freedom of speech in sg one lor... haven you guys learn?
no... we have freedom of speech... only our freedom of speech has rules...
Originally posted by MohamedF:no... we have freedom of speech... only our freedom of speech has rules...
not rules.. boundaries. i think if everyone can be more sensitive to other people feelings, there won't be need for such boundaries.
but i just find the double standardness very distasteful.