Originally posted by Hanagata:pager = extinct? not really...
some army camp still use it...
what is pager?
TVB西游记 I & II
大时代
Starting of PS games.
Lara Croft game
Final Fantasy
Crash Bandicoot
Resident Evil
Parasite Eve
Spyro the Dragon
------
Originally posted by ChiBet:My first mobile phone
Still remember the first PC I got runs DOS and has a black background with green text.
it looks heavy... the big thing is the battery pack? so this is before the brick hp?
Originally posted by pongchak:it looks heavy... the big thing is the battery pack? so this is before the brick hp?
The big thing is the battery pack + phone components.
The handset is just the handset + dailer, transmitter/receiver all in the big thing
Battery pack is just about 1/3 of the big thing
Originally posted by Ponders:YES YES.. it so much more easier to DUB cassettes than to get around copy protection systems.
but back then, they don't seem to make so much noise if you dub cassettes.
yeah man, and i the first movie i watch is Independent Day from a LD. last time i always got the urge to break a LD because its like so big and black, like very fun to play with ![]()
actually hospital have many medical equipments, and most of the time the handphone dun really get reception
i went to KK woman and children hospital, in those clinic with machines, where they tell u not to make calls, but i override the warning and make a call, the reception is abit bad.
So in hospitals, those A&E i think doctors still uses pager, as they are using a different frequency, and can be broadcasted further, also wikipedia said this as well
i still have an LD player! and LDs, they still work perfectly. only short of VCR player.....i have many VCR last time
Originally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:
Thanks, then how u call back??
i remember when i primary sch also got a pager coz my mother say cannot find me.....
they page you then find public phone call back or use home phone...
i remember the pager still can "sms" one, but very mafan.,,
then can customize the "ringtone" yourself... now i think about it very funny..
i still remember my pager is yellow color, subscriber = sunpage...
Originally posted by Hanagata:pager = extinct? not really...
some army camp still use it...
issit?singtel shut down their pager operations...I wonder who is operating the system...![]()
Originally posted by ChingAlvin:i remember when i primary sch also got a pager coz my mother say cannot find me.....
they page you then find public phone call back or use home phone...
i remember the pager still can "sms" one, but very mafan.,,
then can customize the "ringtone" yourself... now i think about it very funny..
i still remember my pager is yellow color, subscriber = sunpage...
alphanumeric pager....or message pager if U like...
way of entering message quite the same as SMS now leh...
Originally posted by angel7030:
Thanks, then how u call back??
once u see the person's number on ur pager, u just use the public phone or house phone to call back lor ![]()
and everyone has this "code" (numbers) to let the other party know who ka pager.
Originally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:
once u see the person's number on ur pager, u just use the public phone or house phone to call back lor
oh! that mean the pager cannot call lor, aiyo, so it like miss call nos lah. Wha lau, so troublesome. But actually it is good hor, nobody knows where you are and you dun hv to answer on the spot right..hmmm.
celebrating the millenium.
i remember in primary school we were told to draw our hopes for the millenium or something ![]()
Originally posted by DrAlienology:celebrating the millenium.
i remember in primary school we were told to draw our hopes for the millenium or something
Post millenium is not rosy as we know now.
haha pager.
never knew how to use one.
I still have hundreds of them (pagers) in my office. So what I do with them? use them as alarm clocks. ![]()
only bookies carry pagers these days...
too bad i threw my pager away. i got the last version in 1999.
Originally posted by GHoST_18:only bookies carry pagers these days...
Many industries especially those in Oil and Petrochem industries and hospitals still use them. But they have their own paging network within their compound. Pagers are still the most cost effective form of communication equipment for use in such areas as mobile phones are not allow and intrinsicallly safe portable radios (walkytalkies) are very expensive. Moreover, pagers are very useful when it comes to emergency situation as it is very fast to broadcast an emergency message.
Originally posted by BabyRex:Many industries especially those in Oil and Petrochem industries and hospitals still use them. But they have their own paging network within their compound. Pagers are still the most cost effective form of communication equipment for use in such areas as mobile phones are not allow and intrinsicallly safe portable radios (walkytalkies) are very expensive. Moreover, pagers are very useful when it comes to emergency situation as it is very fast to broadcast an emergency message.
moreover, pager is unlimiting paging comparing to sms. dun count the cheap monthly bill too.
if i rmbr u need to key ur pager no. den wait for 2 beep sound den u press # 2 times isit?
Originally posted by RaTtY8l:if i rmbr u need to key ur pager no. den wait for 2 beep sound den u press # 2 times isit?
dat is only if ur number is not a confidential number, the pager can only trace ur number.
if it is confidential number, the pager is unable to trace the caller's number. so the correct way is when u heard a beep, u need to key in ur own number then follow by *