wad do ppl usually do in pubs? chit chat thats it?
for a newcomer in a pub, wad should i drink?
thks :P
milk ![]()
Originally posted by skeujin:milk
wa riao serious qn...
not those who go pubs, bars etc put to socialise i guess its bo bian
Just order the drink you feel like drinking.
If you're image conscious and male, avoid ordering champagne and anything pretty like mock/cocktails with those pink brollies and bicardi breezers (general opinion has it that gays order those things).
Cheap domestic beer = You're the broke and poor type
Stout = Violent streak or just plain ham sup uncle type
Red wine is for the health conscious, should be a safe bet. Scotch as well but you may be too young for that.
White wine = Trying to project a sophisticated image type
Just stick with imported beer. You should be ok.
u shd go out more often thn to generalise and believe everything u read from a chain mail....
imho a person's choice of poison reflects certain aspects of their personality.
the above based on my observation in social settings and private gatherings with friends.
Originally posted by skeujin:u shd go out more often thn to generalise and believe everything u read from a chain mail....
well some ppl dont drink , i tried drinking alcoholic drinks and i couldnt tahan the taste.
anyway there a first to everything.
wad do ppl usually do in pubs besides chit chatting?
besides chit chatting, chating up some hawtbitches.
Seriously, you either have an aim, or u don't. When you don't, just be sure to chill and kick back. dont worry about this and that and end up more stressed than you were before you entered.
Originally posted by soleachip:imho a person's choice of poison reflects certain aspects of their personality.
the above based on my observation in social settings and private gatherings with friends.
Champagne is now a very popular drink for ladies and men. Its classified under sophistication and celebration.
mock / cocktails these days are new n refreshing. away with your old school pina coladas in with new ingredients and juices and you have a very refreshing and usually a very potent drink.
how cheap can a domestic beer be in a pub? please give me an example of it and theres nothing wrong with domestic beer. some imported brands suck big time.
Stout is a very good drink not for wusses who stick to imported beer. Go tell the bear he is a hum sup old man. n btw drinking stout does not give you a beer belly.
Red wine is a complicated drink. if your a noob to alcohol. aviod wine cause you wont know the diff between a merlot or semillion blanc. you probably wont even know how to how the glass right.
old enuf to go pubs n drink imported beer n red wine but not old enuf for scotch? did the govt place n R(A) rating on scotch?
White wine... please read red wine
most imported beers suck let me take a guess. yr a hoegaarden drinker.
Originally posted by Borntolive.:well some ppl dont drink , i tried drinking alcoholic drinks and i couldnt tahan the taste.
anyway there a first to everything.
wad do ppl usually do in pubs besides chit chatting?
i wasnt responding to you in the previous post.
if you dont take alcohol. its perfectly fine in today's culture to go fod a soft drink or a mocktail or even a juice or punch.
only MCPs think these drinks r for gays.
what u do in a pub depends on what kind of pub r u going to. a chill out pub will allow u to chat n catch up with old frens. a pub with live bands and DJs will usually be noisy and u can still chat by screaming yr lungs out. both will allow you to people watch. some pubs have pools tables and dart boards. others have tv showing espn. which one r u going to?
Originally posted by skeujin:Champagne is now a very popular drink for ladies and men. Its classified under sophistication and celebration.
Yep precisely. Festive/gala occasions aside, I just don't understand why people seem to think that sipping champagne projects a sophisticated image. Even inside a pub. Strawberry champagne? Seriously?
Originally posted by skeujin:mock / cocktails these days are new n refreshing. away with your old school pina coladas in with new ingredients and juices and you have a very refreshing and usually a very potent drink.
Yep true as well. But if TS is male and image conscious, no issues with him ordering cocktails. Like I said just avoid any rubbish with one of those weird inedible pink brollies. He'll look ridiculous if he's straight and bringing those things around chatting up women.
Originally posted by skeujin:how cheap can a domestic beer be in a pub? please give me an example of it and theres nothing wrong with domestic beer. some imported brands suck big time.
Well I was forced to ingest cheap domestic beer (again) tonight. How expensive can they get? They're always free and always on the house.
Originally posted by skeujin:Stout is a very good drink not for wusses who stick to imported beer. Go tell the bear he is a hum sup old man. n btw drinking stout does not give you a beer belly.
Drinking stout and beer never gives you a beer belly. But drinking too much stout and beer gives anyone a beer belly. What bear? The one from club 30? What has he got to do with this?
Me thinks beer is fine, but stout on whichever occasion just screams "Look at me, I'm stud and here's the fist."
Originally posted by skeujin:Red wine is a complicated drink. if your a noob to alcohol. aviod wine cause you wont know the diff between a merlot or semillion blanc. you probably wont even know how to how the glass right.
old enuf to go pubs n drink imported beer n red wine but not old enuf for scotch? did the govt place n R(A) rating on scotch?
I changed my mind, wine too sophisticated and pretentious for newbies. It's as ridiculous as an 18yo showing up in his dad's ferrari.
Originally posted by skeujin:most imported beers suck let me take a guess. yr a hoegaarden drinker.
Let me guess, you actually ask for the drinks menu in a pub and take more than 2 minutes to make up your mind. ![]()
Mid to late twenties, middle class, obviously drinks champagne and spends too much time grooming your hair in the bathroom.
for guys, stick to beer
ladies, stick to lychee martini
its so amusing how one can be forced to drink free domestic beer n thn biatch bout it.
it seems more to me tt its not the beer that is cheap.
I drink only beer at bars and pubs and I have the belly to prove it ! ..... ![]()
Originally posted by skeujin:its so amusing how one can be forced to drink free domestic beer n thn biatch bout it.
it seems more to me tt its not the beer that is cheap.
Not only is beer disgusting, you see, they sedate me nervous system.
How much have they been charging you for milk? Straight from the tap or bottled?
And all the claws are out!
Stout: Draught Guinness in an Irish pub won't make you a "ham sap" uncle, because it's completely different from drinking ABC in a hawker centre.
Domestic beers: Archipelago really, isn't bad, as is Tiger. Generally I have all my beers poured from the tap, never in a can or a bottle. It's even better if the turnover at the pub is high. Carlsberg is awful IMO.
Scotch: There's no age barrier to drinking Scotch, although there is method to drinking it. Drinkers also distinguish between blended malts and various single malts.
Cocktails: You'll rarely go wrong with these although some people swear by different clubs, depending on how they are prepared.
So your fail-safe options are draught beers, gin & tonic...or if you want something soft-drink based, have a Gunner or lemon-lime bitters. As said earlier, various pubs have different things to do - sports on TV, live music, pool, darts...you can even organise your own pub games.
Go ahead and talk to the staff or strangers...however, pulling in pubs can go very wrong, and it's not for the faint-hearted.
IIt depends on whether you're in an Irish-style pub, a Harry's outlet, a German-style pub (go for their in-house beers!) or somewhere trendier like Wala Wala or Balaclava.
And Fatum, you've got a beer belly because you've been snacking so much! ![]()
You order remy martin louis 13, or richard hennessy. Both will set you back at least $1300++ a bottle, with the latter over 2k. But then, finding the pub that sells it is a challenge.
Some whiskies can cost thousands as well. So you can order that.
Or just stick to cheap, good beer. Liquor that costs a few hundred dollars are generally considered good enough for any occassion, so forget about thousand dollars bottle unless you're really loaded. :p
flaming lambo.
Depend on where u go,
if u go dirty pubs, even plain water can get u drunk,
if u go lesbian pubs, prepare for cocktail stuff like grasshopper, bloody mary, sphinx and sling.
if u go hormone pubs, strong liquror like chiva, johonny, volka, tequila, is a pre requisite
if u go soccer pubs, tiger beer can liao
if u go ang mo pubs, drink irish stout
if u go normal pubs, nothing special, i suggest you better go kopi tiam, same same, and infact cheaper.
get urself a shot of Absinthe.
All u need is 1 shot. n since its ur first time.. i gurantee u a BANG out of it. =P
I normally get Martell or Chivas.. Depending on yourself de.. Beer is when i just wanna have a drink and go off.. U wan u get sky juice lo =p
usually, I'll order apple martini, or screwdriver, or a beer..
Originally posted by Borntolive.:wad do ppl usually do in pubs? chit chat thats it?
for a newcomer in a pub, wad should i drink?
thks :P
u asking what i do i pubs?
mocktails! mocktails!
i love governer's smile (orange juice with milk) hohoho...
Originally posted by newcomer:
u asking what i do i pubs?
nah i asking wad to ppl do in pubs besides chit chatting after hard days work