Originally posted by maurizio13:zegna nice, GCT also wear zegna, he specially fly italian tailors over to make for him.
$$$ come from where?
Zegna
i think all man should at least have a suit.
I like Zegna and Hugo Boss :P
Originally posted by wonderamazement:
$$$ come from where?
either salary or expenses account lor.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
either salary or expenses account lor.
hmm.... interesting... I would like to know how you plan your income sheet... Care to share? pm also can...
Zegna looks good
Greetings.
I'm sorry to offend inflated egos here, but having quite a many number of suits required for professional reasons, I am reading through all these comments that Hugo Boss or Zegna looks ...oh so nice and is of "perfect fit"
I've not owned a Zegna nor a Hugo, prefering to have all my suits tailored from scratch given their value-for-money...
Am I missing something here, or is it just that I'm unlike the many here who are "brand blind" and lick up anything with Hugo or Zegna printed on it. ...
Originally posted by bleuwhale:Greetings.
I'm sorry to offend inflated egos here, but having quite a many number of suits required for professional reasons, I am reading through all these comments that Hugo Boss or Zegna looks ...oh so nice and is of "perfect fit"
I've not owned a Zegna nor a Hugo, prefering to have all my suits tailored from scratch given their value-for-money...
Am I missing something here, or is it just that I'm unlike the many here who are "brand blind" and lick up anything with Hugo or Zegna printed on it. ...
No prob dude...tailored suits are cool....but "Ready-to-wear" are the key words. Hope it answers.
Originally posted by bleuwhale:Greetings.
where do you tailor then? how much does it cost? typically?
Ah - my bad on the "Ready to wear" - my bad, my bad.
I'm just...too fussy to spend SGD$2500 - 4500 on a rack suit when anyone can get, say, a 3 piece done for about less than 1/4.
Hm... I DO buy off-rack suits when travelling around and spot really cheap ones -ie, SGD$100/2pc SUIT.
When I do get it tailored, I'm lucky enough to have a family contact that knows a renowned tailor who (in the past) came by Spore once in a while - great work and amazingly reasonable rates given that there is no mark up (family connection).
Theres this ..hm.. Kingsman (or something) on the 1st or 2nd floor of Far East Shopping Centre (if thats its name, the one at Orchard, near Hyatt) - have thought of trying that ..any one with reviews?
Originally posted by bleuwhale:Ah - my bad on the "Ready to wear" - my bad, my bad.
I'm just...too fussy to spend SGD$2500 - 4500 on a rack suit when anyone can get, say, a 3 piece done for about less than 1/4.
Hm... I DO buy off-rack suits when travelling around and spot really cheap ones -ie, SGD$100/2pc SUIT.
When I do get it tailored, I'm lucky enough to have a family contact that knows a renowned tailor who (in the past) came by Spore once in a while - great work and amazingly reasonable rates given that there is no mark up (family connection).
Theres this ..hm.. Kingsman (or something) on the 1st or 2nd floor of Far East Shopping Centre (if thats its name, the one at Orchard, near Hyatt) - have thought of trying that ..any one with reviews?
I see.. I always see those tailors at far east.. but never try them.. won't it be expensive doing it in far east? town area...
I thought the price was quite reasonable back in 2004 when a freind of mine had a 2pc done.
I'm eager to try out a few master tailors in HK and China.. comnig from USA, the prices quoted by these few houses, although relatively expensive for local expenditure, is reasonable when compared to what we get in USA or UK.
But well, I love the $100+/2pc suits for "normal/everyday" businees wear. Ha. I lvoe that its so freaking cheap.
u can go thailand to find tailors to do hugo-inspired, zegna-inspired, moschino-inspired suits...
bring ur own picture (of the suit u like)....
some even have the catalogues there for u to browse....... ![]()
armani
I go to Bangkok every year for my tailoring pilgrimage. In the multitudes of tailors in Bangkok, you have to find the tailor that is really good. Some advice on looking for tailors in bangkok is:
1) never go to those that says "24 hours guaranteed" tailoring, fast no good.
2) Those who allow you to have 2 or 3 fittings before embarking on the tailoring it.
Of cos, there is the issue of workmanship and style and materials. That you need to find out yourself which one suits you best. Dun be surprised that there are some shops in Bangkok that is pretty expensive by their standards and refuse to bargain becos they know their standards. Anyway I found my regular tailor in Bangkok liao. Tucked in one corner by the chao phraya river. Not the cheapest in BKK but really good workmanship.
heard there is one thailand tailor fly to different countries to take orders...
info oni sent to regulars and thru WOM
he will stay in the hotel and ppl will come to him (by appt)... he will take measurements, discuss material and design...
then he fly back to thailand to do the suits.... then mail them to the customers....
been trying to get the contact but still cannot find....
oso heard another one is a china uncle... from shanghai one...
oso come SG a few times a year to take orders...
I used to tailor biz shirts...5 at a go for bunk discounts..each shirt costs less than any Zara, Celio (my fav) and Springfield (you need to be ah meng to wear it- long sleeves!!)....but end of the day, I really prefer retail therapy than customization. ( Nice to have your initials on your cuffs and all though...)
For off-the-shelf, it's fun cos of the seasonal changes and you can see the end product like instantly. You still get fashion from tailored stuffs in terms of fabric but there the focus is on Gang-Hu, not fashion and trend. I bet there are tailor that's on the front line...but it'll cost more than Boss anyway...
That said, we might have digressed already...
Anyway, Boss does do minor alteration real fast. And the best part, if you have an important meeting or some dickhead decided to spill drinks on you and dry cleaning by your hotel take a day, it's a good (but ex) solution.
Hong Kong and many other places does have seaonal sales for their ready-to-wear suits and it's like 70% off! Shiok!
no doubt..armani have the nicest cut...