tattoos, visible places yet neutral.
i dont associate myself with pictures of devils and skulls
i m thinking of putting a few meaningful words on my upper arms.
what do you guys think of such people(putting neutral tattoos) in the society?
most of the time people still stereotype them being associated with gangs and secret societies or people who do not have a proper education.
what say you?![]()
just make sure that you don't regret your decision.
though they look nice on youthful biceps, but i can't say the same for old saggy biceps 40 yrs down the road.
Have you seen those ex-gangster, elderly old man with sagging tattoos? it is very disturbing, not to mention disgusting.
It depends on wad kind of tattoo u put.
If u put some very cheem quote, ppl sure wont mistake u for an ah beng.
if you put SGFORUMS. SINGAPORE ONLINE COMMUNITY.
then it's okay.
Originally posted by deathmaster:just make sure that you don't regret your decision.
though they look nice on youthful biceps, but i can't say the same for old saggy biceps 40 yrs down the road.
Have you seen those ex-gangster, elderly old man with sagging tattoos? it is very disturbing, not to mention disgusting.
i find this answer very 'common, just saying it cause other people says it and u dont really understand it.' i have no idea how to explain it, but do u really think that way or is it that u just heard alot of people saying that.
anyway, ts, no matter what u put, people will always see u as the 'not decent type'. trust me, wo shi guo lai ren. anyway, think before u put anything, u must really like the design, dont feel pressured.
Its like how sgForums... MUST talk about SG stuffs.![]()
wtf right ? hahaha
stereotyping ? no .. more like association.
I think the most important thing about tattoos is that you have to know WHY you want to put the tattoos.
If it is about 'showing' to other people then I think quite sad la cos u may grow out of this naivete and then the tattoo still remains on you.
And if the reason why you want a tattoo is for your own self, because it is a piece of art that is meaningful to you - then why you care what others thnk about it?
Guys should tattoo "I love my mummy" across their forearms.
That is one way to impress the ladies.
Really.
Originally posted by charlize:Guys should tattoo "I love my mummy" across their forearms.
That is one way to impress the ladies.
Really.
Yes, and for gays, they should tattoo " I love my papa" to impress guys and ah peks
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:I think the most important thing about tattoos is that you have to know WHY you want to put the tattoos.
If it is about 'showing' to other people then I think quite sad la cos u may grow out of this naivete and then the tattoo still remains on you.
And if the reason why you want a tattoo is for your own self, because it is a piece of art that is meaningful to you - then why you care what others thnk about it?
Well, if it is a art, you hve to think and accept peoples critics, if not, it is not art.
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:It depends on wad kind of tattoo u put.
If u put some very cheem quote, ppl sure wont mistake u for an ah beng.
Depend lor, the way we look at tattoo is also very bias, if a local guy or gal show his/her tattoo, the ah bengs, ah lian or ahmad, minah mentality come into the picture on most local pples mind.
But if a ang mo make the same tattoo, the local call it art and fashion.
Go for It! Make sure the words are really meaningful and neutral to everyone. After all, the words are going to stay on you for a long time.
What happen if regret with the tatoo??
Originally posted by CannyOng:What happen if regret with the tatoo??
If regret or make a mistake, just sign below the tatoo and make another tatoo of your liking, we will accept it, just remember to sign ya
Originally posted by angel7030:
If regret or make a mistake, just sign below the tatoo and make another tatoo of your liking, we will accept it, just remember to sign ya
sign on it? is it a sarcastic remark?
sounds hilarious to me hahahaha...
Why get a tattoo? what if one day tattoos are not fashionable anymore? are you very sure that in the next 50 yrs you will still like it? I actually find many tattoos on people unpleasant(westerners included), i'd rather put on more blink blinks.
But if you really want to get 1, start from a small tattoo first.
i dun knoe though
Originally posted by Evangel:Why get a tattoo? what if one day tattoos are not fashionable anymore? are you very sure that in the next 50 yrs you will still like it? I actually find many tattoos on people unpleasant(westerners included), i'd rather put on more blink blinks.
But if you really want to get 1, start from a small tattoo first.
Hello, small tattoo more expensive lor, need more skill ok, dun think small small easy, anyway, ingaporeans alway go for the big and cheap tattoo one lah. And
by 50 yo, his or her skin will shrink and wrinkle, the tattoo will automatically become small, like eagle become sparrows, dragon become worm, love shape become mango shape, rose become chilli padi etc etc. So, dun worry, as the years go by, the tattoo will grow old to suit the age ya.
Originally posted by rlsh07:i dun knoe though
then go home
ahhh thanks for all your constructive comments.
i know when i put it, people associate me with negative influences. i have a few tattoos in the covered zones of my body and they mean a lot to me. some are works of art, some with meaning.
i feel that putting words may mean a lot to me. sometimes these words help me understand what i have been going through.
however, people who may have tattoos put it for different reasons, not just putting cuz we are pai kia or we want to hao lian so people think we are not someone to mess with.
if i put one; lets say at a sleeve area, probably the only fears are that people might think im dangerous and relatives think i m deviant already!!![]()
here is one, not sure can upload here anot but surely needs touch up soon.

Hello, small tattoo more expensive lor, need more skill ok, dun think small small easy, anyway, ingaporeans alway go for the big and cheap tattoo one lah. And
i go for the smaller ones FYI. i have low blood sugar count and cannot take too long doing it.
price isnt a factor here
Well, if it is a art, you hve to think and accept peoples critics, if not, it is not art.
quote of truth.
Just dont tattoo your whole arm or whole leg .
Cause if the tattoo is ugly .
Thats the end.
tattoo a merlion lor,make sg proud
Its only natural for ppl to judge you when they look at you at your tattoos.
Thats the principle of it. Tattoos are meant to be seen then judge.
If you want to be seen and ppl cannot judge it, then its a mole, not a tattoo. ![]()