um.... did he happen to look like Mas Selamat?
Im really shocked by what had happened to a fellow singaporean in the States which put so much importance and emphasis on human rights. I find it really disturbing that mr wong was not informed as to why he was detained, questioned and made to spend time in jail. I think both the US and Singapore police should give mr wong the necessary explanations and compensations for the tortourous ordeal.
I cant imagine what they do to real criminals in the US...
Of all the Singaporeans who went there, why was he picked up, detained, and also on such prolong hours? Thats must be a reason to it. My guess is that his name that must have popped up on something in the system. Could be the same name but diff person.
Normal process is likely that some questions and he will be released abotu 4 hours later.
I hope we get an answer later, esp to prevent ourselves being caught in the same situation. Somemore its a Singaporean Chinese who was stopped. Is there any any known threat trend by a Singaporean Chinese traveller (eg, smuggling, drug trafficking)?
that the worst part of traveling..... clearing the immigration.... those officer there always give u the feeling that they can do anything they wan and dun have to explain to u at all..... i kena in japan b4..... locked up for 1 nite and sent back sg the next day......changed my passport due to that... and after more than 3 yrs .. they finally let mi in again....
wateber happened 2 their emphasis on human rites?
but den again, they r immigration officers 4 a reason.
Originally posted by Shotgun:I think the US and Russian Authorities suspected him to be a spy. Certain travel profiles tend to trip such warnings.
more like a terrorist, a spy would have a new or less incriminating passport.
It is terrible....but I dont think that man can sue.....at most if he send a few letters to media and make a big spotlight....maybe there is apology letter from US Embassy.....but I doubt there will be anything more than that.....
Meat Pao.
damn sway can.... i think, i am him, i will go crazyy
Send a self-interview video to All Jazeera.
Originally posted by Troy437:I hope we get an answer later, esp to prevent ourselves being caught in the same situation. Somemore its a Singaporean Chinese who was stopped. Is there any any known threat trend by a Singaporean Chinese traveller (eg, smuggling, drug trafficking)?
Remember the guy who was involved in arms smuggling in the states?
Originally posted by jacqn:sure its true? from which source?? its so drama. very scary.
New paper.
Oh to add, sounds like he took the new SQ flight from singapore to moscow and then to houston both ways.
Since he visited the middle east quite a number of times, and houston is a big oil city, perhaps his occupation might be petroleum oreintated.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:wateber happened 2 their emphasis on human rites?
but den again, they r immigration officers 4 a reason.
America having concern for human rights?? Don't make me laugh.
no human rites den their statue of liberty for wat de.
simple. for show la!
they oso muz perform to standard for show wat.
It can be done to any one.Nothing makes him special.
Dept of homeland security has tht right.
Not like DHS has done that for the first time. One Mac guy was complaining on his blog of similar issues. Roughly a month ago and he is a US citizen himself.
Another one complained of the same thing. What got the DHS interested was his underwear. He complained that he didn't find his stuffs after collecting back his luggage.
One wonders.
Originally posted by MeepokBoy:Im really shocked by what had happened to a fellow singaporean in the States which put so much importance and emphasis on human rights. I find it really disturbing that mr wong was not informed as to why he was detained, questioned and made to spend time in jail. I think both the US and Singapore police should give mr wong the necessary explanations and compensations for the tortourous ordeal.
I cant imagine what they do to real criminals in the US...
In USA, criminals got more rights than ordinary citizens, I ain't kidding.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:no human rites den their statue of liberty for wat de.
Get real, Americans are world's biggest bigot, hypocrite and like to speak with forked tongue.
Originally posted by Sheesh!:In USA, criminals got more rights than ordinary citizens, I ain't kidding.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:no human rites den their statue of liberty for wat de.
You're severely mistaken. Look at what happened during Vietnam and the Cold War. The US is currently one of the biggest human rights violators with all the torture they're going in Abu Ghraib and Guantanamo. Just have a look at the situation in Iraq, millions of innocent Iraqis including women and children killed by the US. Lawless murders, shooting children for fun, melting men's genitals off with electricity, hanging them by their arms for days, waterboarding, etc.
The Statue of Liberty is the biggest piece of bullshit.