mech engin is not dumping ground lor. You need lots of machines to run this world.
aerospace is worse lor. The market you can venture out into is so narrow. Even a mech engin grad can also work in aerospace company.
Even material engin has more prospects than aerospace.
Originally posted by eagle:shud go for the one you have interest in
for me, i really have interest in elec engineering
mech engine got interest too.. just not that much.. and psychology in sg, ricebowl not good.. overseas then good.. but i not prepared to go overseas to do psychology.. so stick to my 2nd best haha..
but u can oso argue engine oso may nid go overseas.. haha..
Originally posted by FirePig:mech engin is not dumping ground lor. You need lots of machines to run this world.
aerospace is worse lor. The market you can venture out into is so narrow. Even a mech engin grad can also work in aerospace company.
Even material engin has more prospects than aerospace.
"u make me happy, when skies are grey.." haha..
my sis got bbc leh, she got accepted into NUS and NTU engineering. she went for NUS engineering
Originally posted by Quinsy:my sis got bbc leh, she got accepted into NUS and NTU engineering. she went for NUS engineering
GP?
Originally posted by eagle:GP?
more importantly, which year?
Originally posted by iwishiwilliwould:and i really do not understand why they refuse to open up more places for poly students, when we are just as good.
courses in singapore are so limited really.
i have the answer but it will seriously piss u off.. and spark off a huge, unnecessary and repeatedly brought up debate on this guy's thread..
so i'll sum it up and say poly students very ke lian..![]()
is sim degree useful when u r looking for a job.
from what i observed, the degree isn't as well recognised in singapore, let alone overseas.
Originally posted by iwishiwilliwould:oh u have an ans to that? i really would like to hear.
issit cuz we have a diploma, so we are meant to work, and the alevel ppl can get in because if they dont, theres nowhere else to go?
so we are sacrificed. great.
actually u got my answer.. 真�明 haha..
and it's kind of a speakers corner thingy again.. coz govt want to encourage more ppl to go JC too.. so they let them got easier way to get in uni..
and yes i know it's unfair.. dats y i say our poly students kelian..
and now with more ah tiongs to fight for our local uni slots.. zzz..
Originally posted by iwishiwilliwould:oh u have an ans to that? i really would like to hear.
issit cuz we have a diploma, so we are meant to work, and the alevel ppl can get in because if they dont, theres nowhere else to go?
so we are sacrificed. great.
be realistic over uni admission as in the intake figures..
be lucky tat now the top 20% poly students can get on to local uni at least, many yrs ago it would been only the top 5 - 10%
Frankly, if you are in the poly route, it is better to go to a foreign uni (if you can afford it).
You could likely finish your degree in a year or a year and a half, faster than if you went local. ![]()
u forgot to place emphasis on the words in the bracket.. nevermind i help u..
Originally posted by charlize:Frankly, if you are in the poly route, it is better to go to a foreign uni(if you can afford it).
You could likely finish your degree in a year or a year and a half, faster than if you went local.
Why do most people have this stereotypical stigma that SIM is worse than the local unis? Is it really that bad?
if can go local unis, why want to go sim?
Originally posted by bryanw:if can go local unis, why want to go sim?
sim not considered local uni..?![]()
Originally posted by purpledragon84:
sim not considered local uni..?
sim is sim. its totally different league. when ppl talk abt local unis, its NUS, NTU and SMU. sim is simply referred to as sim.
I got 2 poly friends. 1 got accepted to SMU the other is going SIM. Both of them ORD a month after the uni starts. The one going SMU can disrupt cos they say SMU is a local uni. Sim is not a local uni so cannot disrupt.
i always thot it was singapore's 4th local uni lol..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:i always thot it was singapore's 4th local uni lol..
History, reputation and research is not up there yet as the other 3.
Last time, before SAT was introduced, A, B, B also cannot get in NUS engine. When SAT was introduced, the min requirement dropped from A, A, B to B, B, C.
Originally posted by eagle:GP?
my sis A lvls last year, her GP i think B.
Originally posted by FirePig:Last time, before SAT was introduced, A, B, B also cannot get in NUS engine. When SAT was introduced, the min requirement dropped from A, A, B to B, B, C.
now CCD can also get you into mech engin at NUS (a lot of ppl with average grades like BBC rejected their places there)
and for NTU mech engin, even grades like CCE can get you in.
i wonder what is happening to this year's intake
Originally posted by striderz_o405:now CCD can also get you into mech engin at NUS (a lot of ppl with average grades like BBC rejected their places there)
and for NTU mech engin, even grades like CCE can get you in.
i wonder what is happening to this year's intake
quite different from what i heard and saw, but well, there'll be no end to this since they nvr release the range of grades, so heck..