The cause is good....but seriously why must go thru' such wayangs? ![]()
....and of course the biggest carrot here is that 10K prize.....without it u think anyone wud want to put thru' with this?
Switch off aircon & fans....what humbug!
Tell people dun use hot water to bath 1st lar!
...and might as well garner more efforts to pick up rubbishs from our parks! It's spick and span every mornings and come the evening the parks would turn into 3-rd world ghettos
green city my LEG!!
how about gather people to repair the botak'ed turfs that farking singaporean luv to take short cuts on despite properly paved pavements for them to walk on!
Pick out the cig butts and tissue papers stuffed into bushes along walkways! Where there's seats, u bound to find em! ![]()
The only way to push our locals to go green is only with $$$$$. No $$$ NO Talk!
It's either Incentives or Fines! without either, they "choy ley doo ong" ahhh! ![]()
PPTTUUUIIII! Sinkaporeans!
3 people spending 24 hrs in small stuffy boxes to spread green message
By Hoe Yeen Nie, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 21 June 2008 2210 hrs

SINGAPORE: Try living in a hot, stuffy see-through box for 24 hours. Three Singaporeans are doing just that to spread the green message.
They are participants of MediaCorp's 'Gaia Life Challenge', a competition to find Singapore's most eco-friendly individual.
The box is a small Perspex house measuring 2.4 metres on all sides, and it can get really hot in there. There is an air-condition unit and an electric fan inside for the contestants to use if they want to.
Contestants get 15-minute breaks every two hours, and some use them to cool off a bit.
"Splash my face with some water and then hang around in the coolness of the (Bugis Junction shopping) mall," said contestant Michelle Scully, a retail executive.
It is a challenge to beat the heat, especially when one is trying to reduce one's carbon footprint.
"I will avoid switching on the air-con, because it eats up a lot of electricity. I'll use the fan, because it's really warm here, 35 degrees Celsius," said contestant Chin Chainn Hui, a student from the National University of Singapore.
For the third contestant, he is going for moderation.
"I'm still going to watch the TV...but if I'm going to be outside for quite a while, I'm going to switch off not only the TV, but at the source as well. I'm not going to stop myself from using the air-con when it gets too hot, but at least stay at 25 degrees Celsius," said Marcus Tay, an environmental engineer.
The contestants have drawn curious stares from shoppers at Bugis Junction, and MediaCorp hopes the efforts of the contestants will inspire the public to go green.
"A lot of us would have a very vague notion that.....switching on the air-con would be less Gaia, less friendly, less green, than using the fan. But there's nothing more visual and more impactful than actually living in a glass house like that," said Shaun Seow, MediaCorp's Deputy CEO (News, Radio, Print).
Contestants will also compete in games - from sorting out recyclables from their trash to collecting water from the nearby fountain.
At the end of it all, one of them will leave with the grand prize of 10,000 Singapore dollars. - CNA/ir
And the winner will use the prize money to buy a new air-con. ![]()
if our gahmen is so serious abt the environment, they should reduce roads and make driving cars helluva of inconvenience. instead they use erps as an excuse to curb drivings and at the same time......$$$$.
and now they building more roads.
the bus lanes thingy is still so laggy! they should introduce bus lane island wide and 24/7 so that taking buses become a way of life. Rite now it's neither here nor there ![]()
wayang everything also wayang. u dunno singapore is very good at wayang meh? just look at the SAF. ![]()
if our gahmen is really serious about the environment, they should force people to convert their cars to fuel cell or at least hybrid...they should also force sbs and smrt to change to fuel cell busses...but i dun think they're gonna do that...too senseless in this situation
no wonder they always sponsor *edited* $$$ for arts ![]()
WAIT! wait i keena sued for no proof!
Originally posted by Deino:.....*deleted*
u better also edit hor...wait kenna sued until pants dropped ![]()
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:
u better also edit hor...wait kenna sued until pants dropped
better?
hehehe......bo pian one lor ![]()
lol...so much for freedom of speech...
the other time my teacher ask me go for public speaking seminar...the first thing i told her was its useless coz no "freedom" of speech here...lol...but to think of it i think its quite worth it...
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:
u better also edit hor...wait kenna sued until pants dropped
and you quoted his reply for truth ![]()
Originally posted by Chris1988:
and you quoted his reply for truth
errr...dun worry...i saved his backside...edited liao ![]()
walau...this topic macham belongs to speaker's corner liddat ![]()
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:walau...this topic macham belongs to speaker's corner liddat
i also think so ![]()
back to topic...i think i will only wash my undies once a week to save the earth ![]()
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:back to topic...i think i will only wash my undies once a week to save the earth
but those around you not saved ![]()
i will not wear undies to save the earth...huahaha...
juz kiddin...
all after money.... what environment.... without prize money, they will?
Should not give cash as prize mah. Who know what the winner going to use with the prize money.
MediaCorp should get those Green Companies to sponsor their products as prize. For example, energy efficient electrical applicances; water saving device like water saving shower heads.
In this way, the contestants also get to try out these products at home or can recommend them to their friends (help to promote these products).
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:back to topic...i think i will only wash my undies once a week to save the earth
I thot you are still on diaper?
Originally posted by 333225520:Should not give cash as prize mah. Who know what the winner going to use with the prize money.
MediaCorp should get those Green Companies to sponsor their products as prize. For example, energy efficient electrical applicances; water saving device like water saving shower heads.
In this way, the contestants also get to try out these products at home or can recommend them to their friends (help to promote these products).
Only money can make singaporean eyes big big, other than that, nobody cares, no money, no honey ya.
Originally posted by Deino:if our gahmen is really serious about the environment, they should force people to convert their cars to fuel cell or at least hybrid...they should also force sbs and smrt to change to fuel cell busses...but i dun think they're gonna do that...too senseless in this situation
1 litre of cheapest petrol of say $2, they take Gst 7%, ie 14 cents, 10 litres, they take $1.40, 100 litres, they take $14 dollars. With thousand and even million of petrol usage here, do you think they want to stop petrol n diesel driven vehicles here???
Because we care!~ every little step counts!~ Doing wayang things inevitably leads people to complain that they do wayang things and generates suggestions(like this thread) that may lead to a more fruitful and productive approach.
Originally posted by angel7030:1 litre of cheapest petrol of say $2, they take Gst 7%, ie 14 cents, 10 litres, they take $1.40, 100 litres, they take $14 dollars. With thousand and even million of petrol usage here, do you think they want to stop petrol n diesel driven vehicles here???
thats why i said they're not gonna do it...its too senseless unless the world runs out of fuel...lol