at times yes...
Yes, I love to live alone. But something it gets too lonely. ![]()
I wish to have my own apartment and butler...
or have a good fren be my driver cum assistant...
Got good and bad la... Good thing is that u can have all the freedom and space u want. I also thought of staying alone sometimes, when I can live in peace.
Bad thing is u have to settle everything for urself - food, housework, bills etc etc. Living alone is never easy I think.
I would wanna get a pet dog to welcome me home after I came back from work. Haha.
The ideal scenario: sharing a roof with a loved one - but considering reality is far from ideal and that I... can live all by myself... self-sufficient kinda.. ![]()
Still, staying alone is a neat idea
I'd appreciate the quiet..
Originally posted by the_fallen:
well, at least by staying alone, it shows that the person can really take care of himself/herself if the place is neat and tidy rite?with the fact that living alone is a sign of financially independent isn't is?
the only thing which i feel is that gotta do all the housework ourself..but it's a preparation for family in future isn't it?
when you cannot find a belt, forget where you left your jeans, socks or misplace a cell phone, no one else will know, no one you can blame, no one can help call to find it.
the minor inconvenience and chores add up. weekdays are spent working. if you work late, kopitiams are closed. when you come home, all you want is home cooked food waiting on the table. but since you live alone and you have no maid, there is no food. so LL order mc donalds or eat bread or maggie mee.
by friday night you've worked so hard, relished in so much bad food and silence, you just want to catch up with friends so you go out late into the night, come home, crash. wake up on saturday.
dedicate saturday mornings to running errands, to banks etc. afternoons to cleaning up your place, car, dishes, laundry. if you're lucky you'll finish everything in 7 hours.
as for sundays, if disciplined enough, then will stock up on things like toiletries and maggi mee, groceries, shampoo. open up all your bills, letter, clear all necessary paperwork.
this kind of independence, the later it arrives the better. it's grown up responsibilities, no one likes them.
with a house pet, additional responsibilities, more time consuming.
why would anybody want to show that they can take care of themselves? hehehe... cleaning the toilet and dust from the fan is not as glam as it seems leh.
won't be long before you start feeling haggard and wonder whether you've officially become an uncle or auntie, worst if you start behaving like your own parents.
you hate it, resent it, and want to join your friends at the beach on sunday... so suddenly, all you want is have your mom or dad do everything for ya the way it used to be!
i like to live alone. but the thought of washing ur clothes, do housework on ur own.. hire a personal maid lor ![]()
Originally posted by soleachip:when you cannot find a belt, forget where you left your jeans, socks or misplace a cell phone, no one else will know, no one you can blame, no one can help call to find it.
the minor inconvenience and chores add up. weekdays are spent working. if you work late, kopitiams are closed. when you come home, all you want is home cooked food waiting on the table. but since you live alone and you have no maid, there is no food. so LL order mc donalds or eat bread or maggie mee.
by friday night you've worked so hard, relished in so much bad food and silence, you just want to catch up with friends so you go out late into the night, come home, crash. wake up on saturday.
dedicate saturday mornings to running errands, to banks etc. afternoons to cleaning up your place, car, dishes, laundry. if you're lucky you'll finish everything in 7 hours.
as for sundays, if disciplined enough, then will stock up on things like toiletries and maggi mee, groceries, shampoo. open up all your bills, letter, clear all necessary paperwork.
this kind of independence, the later it arrives the better. it's grown up responsibilities, no one likes them.
why would anybody want to show that they can take care of themselves? hehehe... cleaning the toilet and dust from the fan is not as glam as it seems leh.
That's the reason why I'm thankful that I'm quite a chef and I've often enjoyed the silence ![]()
I think what you've expounded is the miserable outlook of living alone, be more optimistic!
------------------
Now imagine...
When you cannot find a sock or your favorite pair of jeans, and you search high and low for it. Only to find it under the bed and you chuckle, thinking how silly you were.
And every night after work, you come home to your quiet solace - it might be a drag trying to tidy things up but you know you're happy. Almost 7pm and you're still fixing your own dinner, simple pasta with meatballs... Nothing extravagant but still very palatable!
Friday night is nights out with your pals... After some merry making, you return to a place you can call your own, sit by the window with a glass of port with soft music in the background and singing a toast to the nighttime skies!
Saturday might be a little hectic with the errands! Bank, supermarketing and probably drop by your folks to spend time a little. Saturday evening, you can choose to hang out with pals.. Recieve guests or just coop up at home before the tube!
Sun... Rest and relax! Some housework, maybe! :P
Originally posted by playboy_1985:i like to live alone. but the thought of washing ur clothes, do housework on ur own.. hire a personal maid lor
like Iron Man eh. ![]()
Originally posted by Detached:That's the reason why I'm thankful that I'm quite a chef and I've often enjoyed the silence
I think what you've expounded is the miserable outlook of living alone, be more optimistic!
I'm being optimistic, simply by knowing it's much less miserable living under one roof with others!
Originally posted by soleachip:I'm being optimistic, simply by knowing it's much less miserable living under one roof with others!
Have you tried living alone?
Read my edited post ![]()
Originally posted by Detached:The ideal scenario: sharing a roof with a loved one - but considering reality is far from ideal and that I... can live all by myself... self-sufficient kinda..
hmm.... livin with a loved one not really ideal what.... can be achievable.... hehe
i prefer to live with somebody, not exactly alone
Originally posted by Detached:When you cannot find a sock or your favorite pair of jeans, and you search high and low for it. Only to find it under the bed and you chuckle, thinking how silly you were.
Chuckle and think, good, spend the last 30 minutes searching for this pair of jeans, now late for work by 30mins. 4 colleagues waiting for you. arrive late. arrive feeling shitty.
Originally posted by Detached:
And every night after work, you come home to your quiet solace - it might be a drag trying to tidy things up but you know you're happy.
why would you be happy knowing you have still have to work (tidy up the place) after work itself?
it's 8pm, not 7pm. at 7pm you're still stuck in a traffic jam because some mofo caused a chain accident on the right lane.
Originally posted by Detached:Almost 7pm and you're still fixing your own dinner, simple pasta with meatballs... Nothing extravagant but still very palatable!
so technically speaking, you start fixing dinner at 8.15pm. boil the water, 5 minutes. Make meatballs, another 15minutes. by the time you sit down with food, it's 9pm, just in time for the 9pm drama serial. simple meal, but all that cream and tomato sauce on the pan needs cleaning. so you dump it at the sink overnight and think, great, accumulating more housework.
Originally posted by Detached:Friday night is nights out with your pals... After some merry making, you return to a place you can call your own, sit by the window with a glass of port with soft music in the background and singing a toast to the nighttime skies!
piesay, you live in a private apartment with singapore skyline har?
after dinner by the time you meet up with friends will be 10pm.
after the merry making you go home, seduction process is 30minutes.
by now you have been out for more than 14 hours, haven't showered for more than 14 hours. so you sit by the window with stale smelling pits, drink some whiskey, listen to soft music still thinking life is wonderful but all you want is shower first and chop chop fulfil your friday night schedule. by the time you're done, 3am. so your gf sleeps over. next morning she is still sleeping over. but no one is going to do the dishes for you. then LL have to send her home. waste even more time.
Originally posted by Detached:Saturday might be a little hectic with the errands! Bank, supermarketing and probably drop by your folks to spend time a little. Saturday evening, you can choose to hang out with pals.. Recieve guests or just coop up at home before the tube!
when you drop by and visit your folks, they start nagging, fetch them here, there, it's going to take up at least 6 hours. errands 9am to 12pm. parents 12-6pm. receive guests? what guests? you going to cook for guests again and repeat the process? but no one cleaned the frying pan from last night yet dude.
Originally posted by Detached:Sun... Rest and relax! Some housework, maybe! :P
sunday just switch off your cell phone and sleep all day. pretend there is no housework to do. but that's just living in denial.
heh, either that or you're a yuppie living the hi life. in which case, different lah.
Originally posted by soleachip:Chuckle and think, good, spend the last 30 minutes searching for this pair of jeans, now late for work by 30mins. 4 colleagues waiting for you. arrive late. arrive feeling shitty.
why would you be happy knowing you have still have to work (tidy up the place) after work itself?
it's 8pm, not 7pm. at 7pm you're still stuck in a traffic jam because some mofo caused a chain accident on the right lane.
so technically speaking, you start fixing dinner at 8.15pm. boil the water, 5 minutes. Make meatballs, another 15minutes. by the time you sit down with food, it's 9pm, just in time for the 9pm drama serial. simple meal, but all that cream and tomato sauce on the pan needs cleaning. so you dump it at the sink overnight and think, great, accumulating more housework.
piesay, you live in a private apartment with singapore skyline har?
after dinner by the time you meet up with friends will be 10pm.
after the merry making you go home, seduction process is 30minutes.
by now you have been out for more than 14 hours, haven't showered for more than 14 hours. so you sit by the window with stale smelling pits, drink some whiskey, listen to soft music still thinking life is wonderful but all you want is shower first and chop chop fulfil your friday night schedule. by the time you're done, 3am. so your gf sleeps over. next morning she is still sleeping over. but no one is going to do the dishes for you. then LL have to send her home. waste even more time.
when you drop by and visit your folks, they start nagging, fetch them here, there, it's going to take up at least 6 hours. errands 9am to 12pm. parents 12-6pm. receive guests? what guests? you going to cook for guests again and repeat the process? but no one cleaned the frying pan from last night yet dude.
sunday just switch off your cell phone and sleep all day. pretend there is no housework to do. but that's just living in denial.
heh, either that or you're a yuppie living the hi life. in which case, different lah.
why worry so much
at times i wished i could live in many kinds of condition...
at times i wished i could live in a rent room as if i'm a foreign student...
at times i wished i could have my own pent house in the town area...
or a bungalow with many people like a sharehouse...
Originally posted by soleachip:when you cannot find a belt, forget where you left your jeans, socks or misplace a cell phone, no one else will know, no one you can blame, no one can help call to find it.
won't be long before you start feeling haggard and wonder whether you've officially become an uncle or auntie, worst if you start behaving like your own parents.
you hate it, resent it, and want to join your friends at the beach on sunday... so suddenly, all you want is have your mom or dad do everything for ya the way it used to be!
maybe u haven't read my reply clearly..
i did mention it's an early preparation of family etc...and the earlier we learn to take up these stuffs, the faster and sooner we can lessen our own bunden in future..
imagine when there's a rush of buying of home, marriage, child,,,new wife..4 problems one shot come together..it'll make ur head blow man..especially those shot-gun marriage..poor thing..
well..i've being living with my mom since my birth..and i found the common problem of guys having to live with their silbings problem already harassing me for more than a few years already...
arguements, disagreements..don't even talk..
well the only stuffs we do talk is to talk back and interupt each other's lecture section..lol..
i've got enough of my family's bad habits..
rather than living off my mom, and having to like make and do with what elder sister and brother..i'll just move out for good..as soon as i can earn my own money..
if nothing goes wrong..i'll start off by working home-based..thus having a comfortable home has always being on my mind..in fact a home office based type of home..
get what i mean..
we all gotta face up to reality and take responsiblitilies where it's due..so why not take it up early and show our parents that we can take good care of ourshelves thus they can have a peace of mind and not worry about us.
living with family is so noisy and sometimes irrating, but happy and warm overall.
maybe i'm a mummy's boy, but living alone? nah, i'll die of loneliness
family comes first for moi.
double post
i have been living alone since i was 16
pros - privacy, can do whatever - whenever, stay naked (cooler during hot days), bring chicks home to screw, no curfew
cons - no one else to cook & clean, high initial setup cost buying fridge ($2.3k), TV ($20k), washing machine + dryer ($1.5k), king size - water bed ($3k),
Originally posted by ChiBet:i have been living alone since i was 16
pros - privacy, can do whatever - whenever, stay naked (cooler during hot days), bring chicks home to screw, no curfew
cons - no one else to cook & clean, high initial setup cost buying fridge ($2.3k), TV ($20k), washing machine + dryer ($1.5k), king size - water bed ($3k),
Ur parents buy another house for u or rent ?
Originally posted by Karma88:
Ur parents buy another house for u or rent ?
i rent - i am not a singaporean, came here when i was 16 to study
Originally posted by SBS7484P:live on my own on wkdays
sat slpover at family's place
sun spend day out with them, thn go back my own house
hosay ar
live on my own can bring frens back
bring zhabor back and have a little piak piak
n1 i wish i can do the same ![]()
gets a bit lonely to stay by yourself. sometimes you really wish that you have someone to talk to face-to-face at home.
Originally posted by bluepaperclip:gets a bit lonely to stay by yourself. sometimes you really wish that you have someone to talk to face-to-face at home.
when lonely, bring a girl home to screw. cant do that if your family is at home
Benefits? Living on your own is tough