Originally posted by fudgester:So.....
Person who has little faith in himself deserves to be bullied?
Person who has little self esteem deserves to be bullied?
Fwah, nice concept you have. I certainly hope you don't have kids in the future; if this is the kind of thing that you'll teach them, then I feel sorry for them. Dollars to donuts say that they will grow up to be bullies in school and gangsters after they drop out.
Heck, you definitely don't have the guts to say everything you just said directly in the faces of the dead kid's parents. Assuming your conscience is clear, of course.
i simply agree with you.
wonder how some pple how can say such a thing.
so people tt is weak and always bullied deserved to die?
Originally posted by youyayu:serve the student right.. sorry to say this but.. he must have did something to get bullied.. NO BODY get bullied for nothing..
there was a kid in primary school who got bullied purely because he was slow and considered 'abnormal'
you think he deserved the bullying he got? do you not think that given a choice, the mentally retarded would choose a better condition to be in?
great logic there sherlock
intelligent people dun kill demselves.
they plan up a counterattack on the bullies.
i have to say something to this boy.
You don't deserve to live if you can't handle this.
bullying happens...from K1....to P1....to Sec1...PreU1....army....Uni....workplace....after married & at home.....aged & in old folk home....died & in colabariums......no idea if it happens up there too ![]()
Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:intelligent people dun kill demselves.
Try telling that to his grieving parents.
I really hate bullies... The problem is, the bullies think what they're doing is all fun and game and have nothing to do with it, i.e. bullies have no ampathy... and ampathy is suppose to be installed in a child when they small... This shows that the problem of bullying starts from lack of proper parenting...
The second is the school itself... From what I've seen back in secondary school, most school takes bullying as a trival matter... Most have no strict policies against "psylogical bullies"... They only take into account physical bulling cause its clear cut against the law... But psycological bullying is a bit of a new concept of schools in Singapore...
Schools should take note the seriousness of psylogical bullying coz most of the bullies now use their mouths and computers instead of their fists...Also, their punishment nowadays are a joke... stay behind after class, write lines, pick up trash... They need punishment that will sink in... That's why I still support canning...
In the end, bulling is serious even small time bullying like stealing a pencil will become a big issue if repeated for 6 months...
we should let the boy rest.
Bullying is here to stay. The victims are out there. And they would most likely stay silent and they would suffer in silent.
For those of you who witness bullying in schools, help the victims by reporting the bullies. That is if you have the guts to stand up for what is right. You do not need to confront. There is no harm to "pau toh" bullies. Who knows. You might save a life.
Originally posted by MohamedF:I really hate bullies... The problem is, the bullies think what they're doing is all fun and game and have nothing to do with it, i.e. bullies have no ampathy... and ampathy is suppose to be installed in a child when they small... This shows that the problem of bullying starts from lack of proper parenting...
The second is the school itself... From what I've seen back in secondary school, most school takes bullying as a trival matter... Most have no strict policies against "psylogical bullies"... They only take into account physical bulling cause its clear cut against the law... But psycological bullying is a bit of a new concept of schools in Singapore...
Schools should take note the seriousness of psylogical bullying coz most of the bullies now use their mouths and computers instead of their fists...Also, their punishment nowadays are a joke... stay behind after class, write lines, pick up trash... They need punishment that will sink in... That's why I still support canning...
In the end, bulling is serious even small time bullying like stealing a pencil will become a big issue if repeated for 6 months...
Sometimes, I feel that we take this political correctness bullshit way too far. The end result is that we totally miss the essence of punishment. Punishment is not just about disciplining those who stray too far, but also to deter others from following their path.
And you need not punish someone out of hate. Far from it; when you punish a wayward student, you do it out of love. Tough love, if you will. A slap on the wrist when they're young is better than a few strokes of the rotan when they become adults.
If you punish bullies too lightly, the message they get is simple: it doesn't pay to be nice, and even if you get caught, the penalties for it are light anyway. Stupid logic, but hey, bullies are never really that intelligent to begin with.
In my first two years in secondary school my principal was a stickler for discipline who did not hesitate to order the public caning of hooligans and other delinquents. Two of my classmates were caned in class for poor behaviour. The end result was a school population which was generally well-behaved and did reasonably well academically.
Then my principal was replaced. The new principal was extremely lax with discipline. I certainly never saw any canings, nor did I ever see him even raise his voice against students who misbehaved.
End result? My school's discipline went down the drain. And I think it's hardly a coincidence that my school's academic rankings reached downwards terminal velocity at the same time.
Sometimes I feel that we fear to 'mentally scar' the bully with punitive action so much that we end up forgetting the mental scars of the victims.
i think though there are bound to be bullying... it has to be disencouraged for it to stay say in army or workplace and in particular in schools.
and at the same time, encourage people who have been bullied to talk to someone they trust...
You don't have the right to judge whether he deserves to live for
i. you are not him
ii. you are not in anyway related to him
iii. you don't know how much stress he was under from all that bullying.
A person, no matter how intelligent he is, will break down under immense pressure.
Originally posted by LatecomerX:You don't have the right to judge whether he deserves to live for
i. you are not him
ii. you are not in anyway related to him
iii. you don't know how much stress he was under from all that bullying.A person, no matter how intelligent he is, will break down under immense pressure.
everyone deserves to die...but at the same time they deserve to live too...
everyone deserve their own judgement also...but that doesn't mean they have the right to execute their judgement...
Originally posted by youyayu:serve the student right.. sorry to say this but.. he must have did something to get bullied.. NO BODY get bullied for nothing..
you got experience sec school anot 1
i have this very good friend, who got bullied, and nobody to turn to
lucky in the end, me and a group of friends stand up for him, and confronted
guess the kid wasn't so lucky, rest in peace.
you won't know much if you didn't experience it yourself
i first hand saw my good friend, being helpless, and nobody to turn to, i had to force him to speak out his problems, he cried so much when he told me about everything
singapore teens nowadays want face, cos they have the thinking that if they told teahers or parents, they will be deemed as 'weak' to everyone around him
from what i see, a lot of kids, or teens' solutions to these cases, are "just hoot him, don't care the consequences"
the problem is, they are just saying it for fun, jui gong lampa song (mouth talk dick happy), they will just say it, and will not even put it in action, cos they will chicken out in the end, their skin is too tender and pampered to withstand the slightest bit of pain
imagine that, daisuke
counterattack alone on a group?
what do you plan to do? guns?
if they are all bigger sized than you, and cornering you, what will you do? outtalk them?
the fist talks the most in male teenage life, its a different world there
nobody deserves to die, not even the bullies, there are merely a group of cowards who wanted attention, and a sense of 'status' in the school, and also the most important point in their heads, to attract girls ( =_=")
counselling works for adults ONLY, but not teenagers
times are different, and we're living in a new era
the teaching team is not only responsible for teaching, but also is responsible for the welfare of everyone in the school
Originally posted by Deino:everyone deserves to die...but at the same time they deserve to live too...
everyone deserve their own judgement also...but that doesn't mean they have the right to execute their judgement...
Me don't understand what you are trying to express. Mind elaborating?
I have recently read an interesting article which seems to apply in this case regarding school bullying and I would like share it here.
Excerpts from Why Nerds Are Unpopular:
"Nerds would find their unpopularity more bearable if it merely caused them to be ignored. Unfortunately, to be unpopular in school is to be actively persecuted.
Why? Once again, anyone currently in school might think this a strange question to ask. How could things be any other way? But they could be. Adults don't normally persecute nerds. Why do teenage kids do it?
Partly because teenagers are still half children, and many children are just intrinsically cruel. Some torture nerds for the same reason they pull the legs off spiders. Before you develop a conscience, torture is amusing.
Another reason kids persecute nerds is to make themselves feel better. When you tread water, you lift yourself up by pushing water down. Likewise, in any social hierarchy, people unsure of their own position will try to emphasize it by maltreating those they think rank below. I've read that this is why poor whites in the United States are the group most hostile to blacks.
But I think the main reason other kids persecute nerds is that it's part of the mechanism of popularity. Popularity is only partially about individual attractiveness. It's much more about alliances. To become more popular, you need to be constantly doing things that bring you close to other popular people, and nothing brings people closer than a common enemy.
Like a politician who wants to distract voters from bad times at home, you can create an enemy if there isn't a real one. By singling out and persecuting a nerd, a group of kids from higher in the hierarchy create bonds between themselves. Attacking an outsider makes them all insiders. This is why the worst cases of bullying happen with groups. Ask any nerd: you get much worse treatment from a group of kids than from any individual bully, however sadistic.
If it's any consolation to the nerds, it's nothing personal. The group of kids who band together to pick on you are doing the same thing, and for the same reason, as a bunch of guys who get together to go hunting. They don't actually hate you. They just need something to chase."
----------
"Bullying was only part of the problem. Another problem, and possibly an even worse one, was that we never had anything real to work on. Humans like to work; in most of the world, your work is your identity. And all the work we did was pointless, or seemed so at the time.
Teenage kids used to have a more active role in society. In pre-industrial times, they were all apprentices of one sort or another, whether in shops or on farms or even on warships. They weren't left to create their own societies. They were junior members of adult societies.
What happened? We're up against a hard one here. The cause of this problem is the same as the cause of so many present ills: specialization. As jobs become more specialized, we have to train longer for them. Kids in pre-industrial times started working at about 14 at the latest; kids on farms, where most people lived, began far earlier. Now kids who go to college don't start working full-time till 21 or 22. With some degrees, like MDs and PhDs, you may not finish your training till 30."
I think we should blame the teachers .
Cause some teachers just dont give a damn about students even though they know that the students are being bullied .
And teacher should care more about their students and see if they are being bullied in anyway .
Originally posted by LatecomerX:Me don't understand what you are trying to express. Mind elaborating?
nvm...i speak rubbish when i get sleepy...
He was still a 14-year-old boy. He might not the mental strength to endure all those abuses.
So how can anyone say he deserves to die?
To those who said he should die, beware of your own fate.
Beware of your own children. That's if you are able to have children.
the boy is clever!
he become a spirit, then when the bully cross the road he push the bully, then kena knocked down by bus, he is not stupid as he did not kill the bully, but make him half paralysed
then the spirit make the bully's father lose his job, so will have difficulties supporting family
Originally posted by fudgester:So.....
Person who has little faith in himself deserves to be bullied?
Person who has little self esteem deserves to be bullied?
Fwah, nice concept you have. I certainly hope you don't have kids in the future; if this is the kind of thing that you'll teach them, then I feel sorry for them. Dollars to donuts say that they will grow up to be bullies in school and gangsters after they drop out.
Heck, you definitely don't have the guts to say everything you just said directly in the faces of the dead kid's parents. Assuming your conscience is clear, of course.
dude.. no one is born with low self esteem
people get bullied , thus they get little faith in themselves and low self esteem..
i cannot believe im actually seeing this.
u think the boy want to kanna bully isit? knn..
so let's say if u're in the boy's shoe, getting bullied everyday i think u also deserved to die too.
Originally posted by gigabyte14:
you got experience sec school anot 1
i have this very good friend, who got bullied, and nobody to turn to
lucky in the end, me and a group of friends stand up for him, and confronted
guess the kid wasn't so lucky, rest in peace.
you won't know much if you didn't experience it yourself
i first hand saw my good friend, being helpless, and nobody to turn to, i had to force him to speak out his problems, he cried so much when he told me about everything
singapore teens nowadays want face, cos they have the thinking that if they told teahers or parents, they will be deemed as 'weak' to everyone around him
from what i see, a lot of kids, or teens' solutions to these cases, are "just hoot him, don't care the consequences"
the problem is, they are just saying it for fun, jui gong lampa song (mouth talk dick happy), they will just say it, and will not even put it in action, cos they will chicken out in the end, their skin is too tender and pampered to withstand the slightest bit of pain
imagine that, daisuke
counterattack alone on a group?
what do you plan to do? guns?
if they are all bigger sized than you, and cornering you, what will you do? outtalk them?
the fist talks the most in male teenage life, its a different world there
nobody deserves to die, not even the bullies, there are merely a group of cowards who wanted attention, and a sense of 'status' in the school, and also the most important point in their heads, to attract girls ( =_=")
counselling works for adults ONLY, but not teenagers
times are different, and we're living in a new era
the teaching team is not only responsible for teaching, but also is responsible for the welfare of everyone in the school
guess this 2 guys Daisuke-goon or youyayupapaya were either bullies last time or the victims of bullies
He is just a young boy, and most probably do not know where to turn to for help.
WTF, no one has any right to judge who do not deserve to live. And defination of intelligence is subjective.
Originally posted by googoomuck:I'm wondering why school bullying in Singapore do not receive media attention.
because in singapore the victim can only commit suicide and cannot get hold of guns and start spraying bullets on the bullies.
Originally posted by playboy_1985:guess this 2 guys Daisuke-goon or youyayupapaya were either bullies last time or the victims of bullies
dunno lor
i think they never experience or see before, only in news or something
they are like pampered their whole life
Originally posted by digicharat:because in singapore the victim can only commit suicide and cannot get hold of guns and start spraying bullets on the bullies.
if sg got guns allowed, i think a lot of schools will be like the virgina masscre already