Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Actually, singapore engineers do have creativity and innovation.
Just take a look at the projects that created by both the uni and poly students.
But, the life of being a engineer in singapore is pretty sad.
Unless they branch out to management after reaching a certain stage of their career, their career peak would most probably be stuck as a engineering dept head.
Although they have high starting salary, their salary will be more or less stagnant after 10 years when compared to their compatriots in other industry.
With the rising cost in sg, the salary of the engineers will not be able to cope with the inflation.
Not forgetting that they are classified as cost centre and would be the first one to show the exit if the company is not doing well.
What to do? This is the reality. Singapore do have a huge supply of cheap foreign engineers. There is nothing we can do to stop the flow. In other word, we can either upgrade ourselves or accept lower pay.
The world is never fair, especially for a Singaporean in Singapore.
Go for bunisness managment. It may be tough. But in the long run its better.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:Go for bunisness managment. It may be tough. But in the long run its better.
I heard NUS Business admission criteria this year is way more stringent compared to NUS Engineering faculty. Such scenerio is quite rare in the past.
You can easily see where is the demand.
ah long nowadays very organized. money easy come....can consider.
i know one warehouse storeman by day, collector by nite. official salary <$1500 per month but drive new mitsubishi lancer.
sometimes, he `chio' me go sin po po bar near lavender there; drinks and girls on him. in between the nite, he will go excuse himself to do `collecting'.
the risk is `do time' in prison. he kena 6months before.
he said when IR is up and running, he will `huat' for sure....
soccer field
some say oil field
what kind of job will the people that hold a degree of business management get ??
I assume you are talking about getting a degree in Engineering Vs a degree in business management.
I would say you have a better chance of making more money with business management than engineering. If you are thinking of working for a firm just look at the starting pay as well as career advancement of engineers and business grads. Business grads earn tons of money at a much younger age, attain key positions faster, compared to engineers who start with a low pay and have to work for many years to reach the same level. In many cases engineer's pay just cant match those of business grads, even after tons of experience and attaining key positions.
And forget about the old saying "upgrade your skills". That’s just shitty nonsense that the local media keeps spouting out as if it’s the cure for all problems. Whatever skill you upgrade there will be someone from India or china with even better skills willing to work for a lower salary than yours. In the end you just end up paying for upgrading your skill that won’t serve you at all.
Even if you have plans to start your own firm, a business degree, coupled with all the business contacts and networking that you would have developed during studies or during work experience, would put you in a better position to be successful than an engineer.
@ vulpes macrotis mutica
Regarding your earlier post about slaries for engineers being high in australia, mining i guess requires mechanical, civil or perhaps geological based degrees. Are there any countries where electronics, software (not IT) engineers are in demand? or demand for research engineers in electronics? How about New Zealand?
Originally posted by KungPaoChicken:Aiya simple, you either quit school now and be a pimp.
Or migrate to columbia and buy over a poppy land.
Or make weapon inventing companies and create a time wrap bomb.
Cfm richer than buffett cus the richest list are all the proper businessman. So ya, the richest is not warren.
WB is damn power because he made his fortune primarily through investing, and not selling some products he created or invented or sourced wholesale or discovered or etc
Originally posted by Poparazzzi:Engineering or Business Management ???
If you are the best in your field, you will make money
Originally posted by eagle:If you are the best in your field, you will make money
totally agreed. i think this sums up what TS is asking.
some say that business management might provide an easier route to wealth but if you suck at it, then there's no point left.
Originally posted by KungPaoChicken:Study Alternative Energies, next century nid talents from there. And if u succeed, 80% of the world's annual expenditure goes to you. And Iraqis will curse u with their God for making their fossil fuel market crash. And George Bush will rush down from America to make friends with you and Singapore will be the right-hand country of America (if you are a sgrean creating the new energy in sg). And all ppl ard the world will make statues of you and worship you like a god and you will have the power to create a new religion because you have just saved the world, u will become the new salvation.
not so easy la.
even if u succeed, the arabs will cfm plus chop send a hitman after you.
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:
not so easy la.even if u succeed, the arabs will cfm plus chop send a hitman after you.
if u succeed, you can stay underground already.
Hitman also dunno where to find you
Originally posted by eagle:if u succeed, you can stay underground already.
Hitman also dunno where to find you
haha den got use meh?
holding all the cash ( if any) or praises from the world but u muz hide.
den ur families oso hiding with u.
beli jialat leh. hahaha
Char Kway Teow.
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:
haha den got use meh?holding all the cash ( if any) or praises from the world but u muz hide.
den ur families oso hiding with u.
beli jialat leh. hahaha
you already say very hard mah :D
or if you so rich, and so scared, you use half the money hire some terrorists to cause problems continuously over there, then they wun hv time to bother about you