Originally posted by ChoCoChips:
haha i didnt say got difference did i?i didnt say they not low class did i?
ya. which means that you cant accept something that is present in our society.
vulgarity is part of life.
anyway, this is another topic for another day.
me duno hokkien, but heard all those vulgarities, and understand most of them. difficult to communicate when they mix in more hokkiens
maybe secondary school should have Elective Hokkien Literature or Pure Literature in Hokkien
uay si lang kong eh, mai guai hokkien uay .....
Originally posted by Fatum:uay si lang kong eh, mai guai hokkien uay .....
tat tio!
It's trendy and 'hip'! I think that's why the youths these days use it. Being one who lives in Singapore, I'm well aware that I've no right to justify their actions. But doesn't anyone think that this is a somewhat crude/uncivilized/indecent/vulgar/obscene/explicit/offensive/indelicate/uncouth way the teens (or even people older) are adopting to?
They're trying their best to blend in with their peers.
No offense, but I've found some Chinese nationals to be even more vulgar.
Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:me duno hokkien, but heard all those vulgarities, and understand most of them. difficult to communicate when they mix in more hokkiens
maybe secondary school should have Elective Hokkien Literature or Pure Literature in Hokkien
U go taiwan University and High School, they study in Hokkien one,
How come u dunno hokkien but know hokkien vulgar words, dunno mean dunno liao mah, Take pillow hang out on pole to dry and suntann
Originally posted by angel7030:
U go taiwan University and High School, they study in Hokkien one,
How come u dunno hokkien but know hokkien vulgar words, dunno mean dunno liao mah, Take pillow hang out on pole to dry and suntann
as in dun understand most of the words, but understand simple simple words
i find people who dun even understand simple hokkien and yet use alot of hokkien vulgarities very 'fake'.
take for example 1 classmate of mine, ang moh pai one, but loves to litter his sentences with lots of hokkien vulgarities. Almost every damn sentence of his has a vulgarity and honestly i can't stand him. Use vulgarities very hip meh?
So 1 day i told another classmate to stop doing his work and to go for lunch in hokkien. Mr Vulgar man, who was besides that classmate, asked me what did i just say. I simply smiled at him and walked off. =D
unique wat ![]()
ang moh country dont have all tise
its just pure misuse... make the language sounds coarse! when its a beautiful lang
Originally posted by gunner77:unique wat
ang moh country dont have all tise
depend on which ang moh country you talking about lah... have diff english slang and different way of phrasing their sentences. then further up have even more dialects than us.
As you said they are teenagers
They`ll grow out of it .
Who in singapore never say knn or ccb before ?
those kids who wanna use hokkien vulgarity, must at least know what the word mean, when to use it and how to use it. that's what i feel. that's y in the past, i kept asking my parents what those words mean.
its just a trend, really.
How come i dont know speakin hokkien is a trend or a cool and hip thing? ![]()
All along i thought it is just a dialect....... ![]()
Anyway, wa si hokkien lang ![]()
Originally posted by limpper:i mean when you scold them "fcuk you", you think they will reply you with a "thank you'? lol
No la, i reply 'no thanks' if the person is not to my favor
but 'ok lor' if the person is the type that will make me ![]()
You are no different from them as well...
Anyway, it's knnbccb, not knnccb...![]()
Originally posted by LL34:1. i can tell u 99% of teens who speak hokkien only noe the vulgarities
2. even if they do speak.. i dun think speaking hokkien to ur peers sounds right.. usually to elders only right o.o
1. Sounds true
2. So you mean got guys with moustache and wear black glasses = bad guy? No right?
mandarin is outdated
hokkien is the in thing to do now
knnccb to all
Hokkien bad words has to most impact and that is why it is part of the building blocks in Singlish>LOL
Actually hokkien vulgaraties still ok... Wait till u use teochew and cantonese to scold ppl.. Supppppper vulgar.. But then again.. Alot of young generation dunno what exactly it mean but hokkien is a good ice breaker! =D
actually, it will be more cool to speak cantonese when everybody else is speaking in hokkien..
i know how to speak hokkien but it's of no use when everybody knows what u are toking about.. if everybody speak hokkien den u start speaking with ur friend in cantonese or hainanese i think it's quite cool lol..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:actually, it will be more cool to speak cantonese when everybody else is speaking in hokkien..
i know how to speak hokkien but it's of no use when everybody knows what u are toking about.. if everybody speak hokkien den u start speaking with ur friend in cantonese or hainanese i think it's quite cool lol..
For some unknown reason Hailam people are born linguist and can speak other dialects with ease and nobody even need to learn their dialect.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:For some unknown reason Hailam people are born linguist and can speak other dialects with ease and nobody even need to learn their dialect.
i hailam lang but i duno how to speak hainanese..![]()
but i understand it..![]()