Originally posted by storywolf:
What is your purpose ? outdoor survival or home use ?
For his fish tank
Originally posted by angel7030:
u lagi wrong, they venture into domestic products since 2000, this is a temasek holding company, i visited their plant in China Suzhou before my father bought their shares and transfer to me.
Doesn't Temasek has stake in Hyflux?
Quoted from http://www.hyflux.com/singapore.htm
The SingSpring Desalination Plant is a 20-Year Build-Own-Operate Project, undertaken by Hyflux for the Singapore PUB, to supply drinking water to the western part of Singapore.
This is Singapore’s first seawater desalination plant and was completed 3 months ahead of schedule in September 2005. With a daily capacity of 136,380 m³, it can meet some 10 percent of the nation’s water needs.
Hyflux undertook the design, engineering, procurement and construction as well as the operation and maintenance of the plant.
Originally posted by sbst275:
Doesn't Temasek has stake in Hyflux?Quoted from http://www.hyflux.com/singapore.htm
Yes, Hyflux is a privatised, just like singtel, starhub, power supply, all are privatised with govt as the biggest share holders, it been around since 1990s, so govt sure to get the contract to build it. We call this type of company GLC< govt link companies.
Essential items such as food, water, electricity, phonelines are critical to a nation, it must be control by the GLCs with ex minister, MP or army officer as CEOs. It will be dangerous to the national security if it is run by foreigner as they may turn off all electricity, water or phonelines and start demanding for something.
Just like transportation, SBS, it is a GLC, where the govt have control over it.
Privatising it allow it to suit the market and people like us to invest in it, and more importantly if it takes away the image of Govt iron rice bowl idealogy so as to churn more profits and hire and fire does become a norm.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Yes, Hyflux is a privatised, just like singtel, starhub, power supply, all are privatised with govt as the biggest share holders, it been around since 1990s, so govt sure to get the contract to build it. We call this type of company GLC< govt link companies.
Essential items such as food, water, electricity, phonelines are critical to a nation, it must be control by the GLCs with ex minister, MP or army officer as CEOs. It will be dangerous to the national security if it is run by foreigner as they may turn off all electricity, water or phonelines and start demanding for something.
Just like transportation, SBS, it is a GLC, where the govt have control over it.
Privatising it allow it to suit the market and people like us to invest in it, and more importantly if it takes away the image of Govt iron rice bowl idealogy so as to churn more profits and hire and fire does become a norm.
SBS is NOT a GLC, it's not even owned by Temasek
SLF owns a minority stake in ComfortDelgro, who in turns own 75% of SBS
When i went to shanghai on exchange program during my secondary 3, we are invited by a singapore govt owned company called hyflux to visit their company in suzhou. Singapore students visiting Singapore govt company ya. The CEO was a ex SAF colonel, cannot remember his name liao.
I went back and told my Dad, dad went to buy their shares, he said sure go up one.
SBS is NOT a GLC, it's not even owned by TemasekSLF owns a minority stake in ComfortDelgro, who in turns own 75% of SBS
It indirectly owned by them, omg, it must be a GLC, this are all national security issue, if it is foreign own like malaysia, thailand, or india, look at their transport system, no system, can go strike anytime, buses so old and dirty, dangerous drivers driving, so many different types of buses, so many private companies.
Fomerly, singapore hv lots of private bus companies, look at the chaos it created, omg, u got study history and social economy or not?
Water--Hyflux and Utilities Board
Electricity- Power Supply
Phone and mail - Singtel and starhub
Media- Mediacorp and SPH
Food- NTUC,
Transportation- SBS MRT
If all these are taken and control by foreigners and if anyhow play punk on it as it is not their country, guess the citizens is going to suffer, that is what happen in poor countries, all control by private owners, govt corrupted and take money from private owners, citizen suffer with poor transport system, poor insitution etc etc
How come i young young gal know better than u huh.
And
SBS is NOT a GLC, it's not even owned by TemasekSLF owns a minority stake in ComfortDelgro, who in turns own 75% of SBS
It indirectly owned by them, omg, it must be a GLC, this are all national security issue, if it is foreign own like malaysia, thailand, or india, look at their transport system, no system, can go strike anytime, buses so old and dirty, dangerous drivers driving, so many different types of buses, so many private companies.
Fomerly, singapore hv lots of private bus companies, look at the chaos it created, omg, u got study history and social economy or not?
Media- Mediacorp and SPH
Food- NTUC,
Transportation- SBS MRT
If all these are taken and control by foreigners and if anyhow play punk on it as it is not their country, guess the citizens is going to suffer, that is what happen in poor countries, all control by private owners, govt corrupted and take money from private owners, citizen suffer with poor transport system, poor insitution etc etc
And all
Originally posted by angel7030:It indirectly owned by them, omg, it must be a GLC, this are all national security issue, if it is foreign own like malaysia, thailand, or india, look at their transport system, no system, can go strike anytime, buses so old and dirty, dangerous drivers driving, so many different types of buses, so many private companies.
Media- Mediacorp and SPH
Food- NTUC,
Transportation- SBS MRT
And all
it's not a GLC, since when SBS belongs to Temasek? Unless you've mistaken it for SMRT. Many of Temasek's co used to be stat boards i.e. MediaCorp (SBC was a stat board), SingTel, PSA, SMRT and so on
how many times must I say?
GIC, the biggest Goverment invest arm of companies, the central of govt business both locally and abroad. And u know who is the top man there, it your grandfather LKY
Originally posted by sbst275:it's not a GLC, since when SBS belongs to Temasek? Unless you've mistaken it for SMRT. Many of Temasek's co used to be stat boards i.e. MediaCorp (SBC was a stat board), SingTel, PSA, SMRT and so on
how many times must I say?
Tell me if SBS is still around or not?, please lah, even if it is not in temasek, it still Link to the Govt ok, i dun bus or mrt, but all i know is that govt have the biggest shares.
Translink and Singapore Transit service
erm soul reaper.. why u link everything i say to mlm.. i just want to know the price for the cheapest water filters here for house use
Originally posted by elementalangel:erm soul reaper.. why u link everything i say to mlm.. i just want to know the price for the cheapest water filters here for house use
Here's the simplest and cheapest water filter of all: nothing.
Tap water in Singapore doesn't just meet health standards; it exceeds WHO standards. To give you an example, NEWater is already highly potable in itself. Yet what the authorities do is that they blend it in with reservoir water first before pumping it to homes, effectively doubling the amount of treatment that is necessary.
There's absolutely no issue in our tap water causing potential health problems. If it does, it means that WHO standards are screwed up, and those companies selling flagrantly expensive home water filter systems are better off advising WHO on what they should do.
If you're willing to fork out $1800 - $3000 for a home water filtration system, then all the best to you. I've been drinking plain drinking water right out of the tap all my life with no problems, and I'll continue doing so - without having to fork out all that money.
Originally posted by angel7030:Tell me if SBS is still around or not?, please lah, even if it is not in temasek, it still Link to the Govt ok, i dun bus or mrt, but all i know is that govt have the biggest shares.
Translink and Singapore Transit service
it's how it's link
not eveything is GLC
Originally posted by fudgester:Here's the simplest and cheapest water filter of all: nothing.
Tap water in Singapore doesn't just meet health standards; it exceeds WHO standards. To give you an example, NEWater is already highly potable in itself. Yet what the authorities do is that they blend it in with reservoir water first before pumping it to homes, effectively doubling the amount of treatment that is necessary.
There's absolutely no issue in our tap water causing potential health problems. If it does, it means that WHO standards are screwed up, and those companies selling flagrantly expensive home water filter systems are better off advising WHO on what they should do.
If you're willing to fork out $1800 - $3000 for a home water filtration system, then all the best to you. I've been drinking plain drinking water right out of the tap all my life with no problems, and I'll continue doing so - without having to fork out all that money.
unless we're living at our neighbour up north where water is really very dirty
Originally posted by fudgester:Here's the simplest and cheapest water filter of all: nothing.
yup. Had u been thru NS? Everyone drinks from the tap. Even when go for field exercises, the jerry cans are filled from the tap. Any issue on that?
Originally posted by airgrinder:yup. Had u been thru NS? Everyone drinks from the tap. Even when go for field exercises, the jerry cans are filled from the tap. Any issue on that?
for me, I'll turn on e tap let some water flow out bef filling up my cans
just to be sure a bit
i've been using amway water purifier. so far so good.
Originally posted by airgrinder:yup. Had u been thru NS? Everyone drinks from the tap. Even when go for field exercises, the jerry cans are filled from the tap. Any issue on that?
I did my 2 1/2 years, and I water paraded with plain unboiled tap water all the way through.
Heck, I went through Brunei, and I drank river water self-treated with chlorine-based purifying tablets. No one in my unit came down with any water-borne disease.
Whoever wants to pay huge sums of money to further treat tap water which has already been treated to kingdom come beyond accepted WHO standards, let them do so.
Me? I'll just stick to the good ol' tap water that I've been drinking all my life.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:my family just installed one.
ok, maybe i'm barking up the wrong tree here, but wah lao eh. you know the filter actually turns dark yellow after a few months?
plus when they decided to clean out the water tank, for 1 day, the water which flowed out is putrid and dirty????
freaking gross man. that's when we installed the water filter.
lol
ever heard of bacteria or fungal growth on the filter itself??
now think about it.. the water is clean.. but the filter is there all the time.. after a while some bacteria or what starts to grow there.. and you're actually running your clean water over that gunk?
in other words, you are actually dirtying your clean tap water?
PWNED!!
you just paid a crapload of dosh to poison yourselves ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:ever heard of bacteria or fungal growth on the filter itself??
now think about it.. the water is clean.. but the filter is there all the time.. after a while some bacteria or what starts to grow there.. and you're actually running your clean water over that gunk?
in other words, you are actually dirtying your clean tap water?
PWNED!!
you just paid a crapload of dosh to poison yourselves
I thought you have to change out the filter after some time ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:I thought you have to change out the filter after some time ?
yah... the one in the office says "every 3 months" but in the meantime, if they can be bothered to, it's 3 months of things just growing there... ![]()