Originally posted by ChiBet:
wow, i got a friend name dharmaso i must respect him ah?
but i christian leh
chibet, you christian huh..dharma is the bible of buddhism, if a person name is dharma, it up to you to decide.
Me also Got a fren named Christ, but i never respect him.
Originally posted by angel7030:
chibet, you christian huh..dharma is the bible of buddhism, if a person name is dharma, it up to you to decide.
Me also Got a fren named Christ, but i never respect him.
i got another friend name jesus
but he keke wan
he pronounce his name haresus
i got another friend name jesusbut he keke wan
he pronounce his name haresus
holy shit
but according to buddha, we must respect the 3 gems, the sangha (monk), buddha and the dharma.
A person who is worthy of respect is not by birth (ordination is considered 'borned into sainthood') but by one's virtue.
Monks are very much like the other laypeople, just that they choose to take on the vocation as a religious clergy, so we respect those who deserve, by able to trying their best to abide living in that religious principle.
holy shit
i know christians say holy jesus
but i tot buddhist say holy cow?
or is it hindus?
So actually is kind of self reflection that all shall perish and to remember the perished, then howcome got getai, dinner, auction and all those ching tok ching!!! ??.
Humanist's explaination is from a buddhist point of view.
Every other things that you'd mentioned are from the Chinese culture.
i know christians say holy jesusbut i tot buddhist say holy cow?
or is it hindus?
lol got buddhist got say holy cow meh?
Originally posted by yamizi:
lol got buddhist got say holy cow meh?
buddhist dont eat beef cos they believe cows are holy right?
Hmm not true, this is more of a chinese folklore belief with the influence that those who worship Guanyin shall not take beef.
Hindu revered the cows to be sacred as, if I'm not wrong (please correct me if I'm wrong), in Hinduism, there is a sacred cow by the name of Nandi which is a vehicle of an important hindu deity.
Originally posted by yamizi:Hmm not true, this is more of a chinese folklore belief with the influence that those who worship Guanyin shall not take beef.
Hindu revered the cows to be sacred as, if I'm not wrong (please correct me if I'm wrong), in Hinduism, there is a sacred cow by the name of Nandi which is a vehicle of an important hindu deity.
my mother claim to be very devout buddhist (she is a vegeterian who would not even eat onions/garlic) told me no beef cos cows holy - they help in farming which provide food for people so we should not eat them. she claim she got the info from some buddhist seminar
other interesting info she told me
after nuclear war, only vegeterians will survive cos all other animals died and there is no more meat so everyone have to eat vegetables
i am very put off by buddhism cos my parents always force me to follow her pray when she go for her prayer sessions (every 1st and 15th of the lunar month)
i keep telling her what kind of religion force people to worship their god/s but she still insist i go so i convert to christian and tell her i can no longer pray to a piece of plastic/wood/metal/clay
the thing is that she still insist i pray to buddha other than jesus
Originally posted by ChiBet:my mother claim to be very devout buddhist (she is a vegeterian who would not even eat onions/garlic) told me no beef cos cows holy - they help in farming which provide food for people so we should not eat them. she claim she got the info from some buddhist seminar
after nuclear war, only vegeterians will survive cos all other animals died and there is no more meat so everyone have to eat vegetables
i am very put off by buddhism cos my parents always force me to follow her pray when she go for her prayer sessions (every 1st and 15th of the lunar month)
i keep telling her what kind of religion force people to worship their god/s but she still insist i go so i convert to christian and tell her i can no longer pray to a piece of plastic/wood/metal/clay
Hmm, interesting, I'm not sure which organisation and seminar did you mom attend so I can't comment on that. However, usually only a buddhist who practice meditation on a regular basis would be advised to refrain from taking onions and garlics.
I think roosters help giving wake-up calls, so should refrain from eating them;
Pigs are proven to be one of the smarter poultry animal, so maybe we should refrain from eating them;
Ducks and fish add colours to the pond, which beautify one's sight, so maybe we should not eat them too,
Darn, like that anything also cannot eat!
In fact, if there is a nuclear war, I believe even the plants will be contaminated and not fit for eating. So I don't know how she got that piece of half-truth information.
And you're right, everyone should be given the free will to choose his/her religion and not been forced upon.
And the Buddha statue is indeed a piece of plastic/wood/
metal/clay, however this piece of plastic/wood/
metal/clay symbolises the spiritual perfection that everyone can attain and that it is to remind us that we also have the potential to achieve what the Buddha had.
It's just like the 2 pieces of sticks in the Christian-faith that symbolises the sacrifice of Jesus Christ.
=)
Originally posted by yamizi:Hmm, interesting, I'm not sure which organisation and seminar did you mom attend so I can't comment on that. However, usually only a buddhist who practice meditation on a regular basis would be advised to refrain from taking onions and garlics.
I think roosters help giving wake-up calls, so should refrain from eating them;
Pigs are proven to be one of the smarter poultry animal, so maybe we should refrain from eating them;
Ducks and fish add colours to the pond, which beautify one's sight, so maybe we should not eat them too,
Darn, like that anything also cannot eat!
In fact, if there is a nuclear war, I believe even the plants will be contaminated and not fit for eating. So I don't know how she got that piece of half-truth information.
And you're right, everyone should be given the free will to choose his/her religion and not been forced upon.
And the Buddha statue is indeed a piece of plastic/wood/
metal/clay, however this piece of plastic/wood/
metal/clay symbolises the spiritual perfection that everyone can attain and that it is to remind us that we also have the potential to achieve what the Buddha had.It's just like the 2 pieces of sticks in the Christian-faith that symbolises the sacrifice of Jesus Christ.
=)
dont forget, a pig's orgasm lasts 30 mins
Just ate some beef jerky. I have a bad habit of snacking frequently. About garlic and onion, I try to avoid it (never liked it, anyway) except garlic bread. I still eat that.
Anyway, since a Buddhist practice compassion, the best would be to be a vegetarian, but this is not a 'must' to be a Buddhist.
However a Buddhist should observe the following guidelines in eating meat:
http://www.jenchen.org.sg/vol5no4a.htm
| Volume 5 no 4 | |||||||||||
Feature |
|||||||||||
| Five Clean Sources of Meat |
|||||||||||
Many people firmly recognise that the Buddha's teachings are full, subtle, comprehensive and profound. They recognise and revere the truth of the Buddha-dharma as soon as they encounter it. However, they face a common dilemma: they hesitate to take refuge in the Three Treasures because they do not wish to be vegetarians. For this reason, some ponder at the gate of Buddhism for a long time and are afraid to take that step forward. Others arrive at the crossroad of religion, some took the wrong turn and ended up with some cults or unorthodox ways. They do not realise that it is not easy to be born a human, and it is even harder to have the opportunity to encounter the Buddha-dharma. Having been born a human, it is indeed a waste of opportunity not to embrace Buddhism as it knocks at our door. |
|||||||||||
The Buddha-dharma is infinite and there are in reality more than 84,000 Dharma doors, or methods by which we can embark to learn and practise Buddhism. Vegetarianism is just one of the many methods. To refrain from killing is merely a means of assisting us to progress in our cultivation. As a medicine, meat is permitted in the Buddhist precepts if it is required to cure a particular sickness. Buddhism cherishes compassion. However, killing and causing harm to life have their retributions. The world has no peace as victims and villains engage in a vicious cycle of vengeance and revenge, culminating in calamities and disasters, and inflicting suffering and misery across the world. Buddha understands the ignorance and habits of sentient beings that have accumulated from aeons of their many past lives. In order to provide sentient beings with an expedient means of embracing Buddhism, those who are not able to convert to a vegetarian diet on a long term basis are permitted to consume meat provided: (1) That he did not
slaughter the animal personally In Confucianism, benevolence also means to refrain from killing. It is said that heaven has the virtue of loving life. It cannot bear to witness the loss of life, let alone eat the flesh of those whose cries in death we have heard. Buddhism advocates compassion and loving-kindness to all sentient beings, regardless of their relation to you. It is only appropriate that we do not kill for our livelihood or for the purpose of celebrating occasions, such as births, birthdays, funerals or weddings. Meats are no different from the other foodstuffs purchased from the market if people do not witness the killing or hear the cries of the animal that is being slaughtered. If a differentiation between the two kinds of purchases and the taste of the meat do not exist in the mind, then the guilt is lighter. Together with the three mentioned earlier, these constitute the five sources of clean meat.
Meat eating however is a pre-condition to killing. If people refrain from eating meat, there will be no killing of animals for meat. Sadly, the human race has committed killings for aeons and is engaged in an endless cycle of vengeance and revenge over their past lives. For one who is slaughtered for meat in this life, it is probably because he had done the same to others in the past. The score is even, no more and no less. People who eat meat from the five clean sources are advised to learn to chant the Buddha's name and the Buddhist mantras, so as to transfer the merits to those whose meat they are eating. They should also wish them an early rebirth in the human realm, to eliminate any thoughts of vengeance, to nurture their virtuous roots to benefit all sentient beings and together build a peaceful, caring and blissful pure land in this world. Only when this is promoted across the entire world, will we be able to eliminate hatred and vengeance, and enhance a mind of compassion and loving kindness. In this way we will be able to transform this Saha world into a pure land. |
|||||||||||
|
|
|||||||||||
|
|
Originally posted by yamizi:
A person who is worthy of respect is not by birth (ordination is considered 'borned into sainthood') but by one's virtue.Monks are very much like the other laypeople, just that they choose to take on the vocation as a religious clergy, so we respect those who deserve, by able to trying their best to abide living in that religious principle.
me under Zen
Originally posted by ChiBet:my mother claim to be very devout buddhist (she is a vegeterian who would not even eat onions/garlic) told me no beef cos cows holy - they help in farming which provide food for people so we should not eat them. she claim she got the info from some buddhist seminar
I think your mom might be more of a Chinese folks practitioner than a Buddhist. Just a guess based on what you said.
me under Zen
Hmm, how do you know you're under Zen?
Which lineage do you belong to?
Originally posted by ChiBet:dont forget, a pig's orgasm lasts 30 mins
Hey! I don't know about that!!!
To me this festival consists of burning down the field in front of my house every year.
you mean the aftermath look when the festival/event ends..
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:To me this festival consists of burning down the field in front of my house every year.
lol
=)
The people can get damn inconsiderate.
KNN.....they want to burn one whole big lorry-load of joss paper, by all means, but wtf?! They go and drag this huge cage-like thing meant for mass burning, put in the field at my house and burn merrily.
Firstly, KNN....that one public property you also want to pinch. Burn already they just left it in the middle of the field. The poor workers wasted much sweat transporting the freaking thing back.
Secondly, they don't even consider how residents like me feel with all the ash flying around. A bit of burning, fine, but when you have a truck-load of things to burn and you burn it at a residential area, you just a fucking prick. Can't just go somewhere remote to do it??
And other small-scale stuff include pinching 2 smaller burning-bins and putting them in the same field to burn. WTF?! Cannot burn at the designated area meh? And use already don't know how to put back??
Really gets on my nerves when you have inconsiderate people like these.
bins or no bins, there will always be some "extras" who love to do it on the grass patches, concrete floors, etc except the bins provided..
Originally posted by QX179R:bins or no bins, there will always be some "extras" who love to do it on the grass patches, concrete floors, etc except the bins provided..
How true, I saw it before. Not civic minded ones don't mind doing this. To me this is not to be encouraged
Originally posted by SingaporeVault:Actually, I don’t really believe much about 7th month. But on Friday night, I kena accident. Knocked over a cyclist. No one was majorly hurt but my car windscreen shattered. Cyclist managed to walk away after the accident. Came home, called mother then she reminded me that it’s 7th month. Damn suay… cyclist turned without looking and I was going straight. So yah… damn pissed with him. By the time I saw him, he was directly in my path. Luckily, I wasn’t speeding. Going rather slow compared to how I usually drive – 50km/hr. So he was lucky too. But a word of advice to all: I think it’s true… just be extra careful for the month.
Some cyclists always assume that everyone else on the road has to give way to them. Just be more careful which I'm glad you'd done.