Originally posted by browniebaobao:
duiz...
i always bring them out for a nice treat.
ok so when is mine.. haha.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:too much in figures. But nevermind.
how much is too much?
it's not even up to my expectation.
honestly i dun earn a lot, im actually underpaid in my job.
makes me feel even more terrible when i feel that im underpaid but my siblings feel sour.
Originally posted by SpeedStar:
ok so when is mine.. haha.
give me a tinkle when u come back lor.
how much is too much?
it's not even up to my expectation.
honestly i dun earn a lot, im actually underpaid in my job.
makes me feel even more terrible when i feel that im underpaid but my siblings feel sour.
Why huan lo? But I have this friend who never tells his family on his income...even his dad and mum cos he dun like ppl to know abt his pay. Some of my friend's parent also dun know what are they working as...haha
Anyway take it ez, if not u want to ask ur boss to deduct ur salary so that u can meet on par with her? lol
Originally posted by SpeedStar:Why huan lo? But I have this friend who never tells his family on his income...even his dad and mum cos he dun like ppl to know abt his pay. Some of my friend's parent also dun know what are they working as...haha
Anyway take it ez, if not u want to ask ur boss to deduct ur salary so that u can meet on par with her? lol
i feedback to my boss that im underpaid lo..
if they are so unhappy, i quit lor.. im also v tired..
i feedback to my boss that im underpaid lo..
if they are so unhappy, i quit lor.. im also v tired..
Life is short...if u not happy jump ship. Do it while u still have the value ;)
i cant believe bbb..dont rmb me...haiz...
Originally posted by browniebaobao:Would you mind if your sibling earns more than you.. given the following scenarios..
- u have 10 yrs more working experience than your younger sibling who has abt 2 yrs experience, but he/she is paid about the same as you, in a different job, different industry.
or
- u have a older sibling who is earning abt $1k more than you, tho he/she has only about 1 yr more working experience than you.
Would like to know your opinions...
Money talk is always delicate topic, even within the family. Imho, especially Chinese family. Speaking from experience, people do calculative, especially siblings. Sad but true.
Best to keep this kind of information to yourself. If you are drawing higher salary, at best you invite envy. At worst, jealousy.
If your salary is something that will affect decision making as a whole, just volunteer information about how much money you're willing to contribute. Period.
Besides different industries pay different rates.
if any of my siblings makes more than i do, i will be very happy for them!!! :) i will only want the best for them. so, i don't mind.
fastest moving topic today
i think it also depend alot on your family's metrics. some siblings are very close and this kind of salary difference won't mean a thing to them. true, i will be very happy too if my sister earns more than me.
i mean if she has higher qualifications and in a field that commands more pay, it is common sense that she will earn more than me, right?
bbb dontch sadded
/me hug bbb ![]()
Originally posted by thehappybunny:bbb dontch sadded
/me hug bbb
shes mine u sob![]()
Maybe TS's siblings think he looking down at them because he's earning more. Sometimes it's the attitude which TS show which cause the misunderstanding.
Life is more than money, and the value of a person is not determined by the size of the paycheck. Unfortunately in Singapore the reality is people judge you by your income. I'm sad to hear such competition and jealousy happen even between siblings. That is why the Singapore ministers have to give themselves fat paycheck to get the 'respect' of Singaporeans.
The sg ministers well trying to gain such "respect" seem to back fire the other way round lor...
Anyway, as for comparing incomes and status.. first it is really depends on the kind of industry u're in. This place were driven and narrow into certain industries which interest the gov only and eventually those industries get very good salary. As for other non-gov interested industries... the salary scale will always be in the limit.
I'm in the creative industry for over 7 years and I realized that no matter how well i do with my portfolio.. the salary range will always be the same anywhere around this island... ever heared of the term "poor designer"? Cannot even get married cos salary to low...
So as for now taken up a 3rd language and planning to fly overseas for interviews liao....
Younger must give money to elder right? so i just strech out my hand haha!
it's just a fucking pay cheque. what difference does it make to your life if you're getting 2k/mth vs 5k/mth? think about it.
I really don't think it's relevant to compare your pay with siblings. Does having a higher pay make one more successful than the other? I don't believe so. It only creates competition among siblings and most people know, money is root of evil.... why let that ruin your relationship with people you love?
Originally posted by newcomer:it's just a fucking pay cheque. what difference does it make to your life if you're getting 2k/mth vs 5k/mth? think about it.
More $$ defn make diff to your life lor... wat tokkin u?
Just that.. no nid compare wif others.. esp siblings...
Anyway, saving habits oso matter... I live on e edge.. so whole paycheck gone every mth :D
Originally posted by browniebaobao:we were having a family discussion.. my siblings asked abt my salary.. and i juz told them honestly.. bcos my earning will affect our decision making.. then they reacted very negatively.
If they earn more than me, i'll be happy for them. Why can't they feel the same for me, but turned sour instead? It's not that I contribute very little to the family.. I gave the most home allowance even before my increment.. and I gave willingly..
I really dun understand...
Tell this to your siblings, also tell them you said all that not to incriminate them. Then let them know how important it is for a family to be a team, I'm sure given time, they will come to understand.
Originally posted by sand king:Younger must give money to elder right? so i just strech out my hand haha!
man it sucks to be ur younger sibling. lol
Originally posted by newcomer:it's just a fucking pay cheque. what difference does it make to your life if you're getting 2k/mth vs 5k/mth? think about it.
You must MAR, is it? 2k/mth and 5k/mth DO MAKE A LOT OF DIFFERENCE.
With only 2k/mth, only enough to support yourself. No money to buy big house, car, hire maid, etc. Some girls may not even want to marry you with so little salary!
everyone mind la... but what can u do? you also LL, ownself no happy?
well, get over it lah, sometimes varies from luck and company. If the boss u work under dont appreciate u, you got talent also no use. No pay rise etc... whereas if your boss like you, give u pay rise.. etc etc... promote...
they not happy cos after knowing how much u earn they think u give too little to the family lor.. wan u to give mi right??? actually.. i also dun understand but this kind of slibings really exist one.. sianz..