Last year in november I subscripted to reader digest and paid $99 for 1 year subscription because I was cheated by their "sweepstake".
Than now that my subscription is expiring, they actually auto renew it even though I have not paid. I went to their website to look for their contact number to call them but it is already after office hours.
Under their FAQs, they say that the subscription is automatically renewed unless you call them to cancel it.
Than when I check my account online, it says that I owe them 1 year subscription fee of $99!
Anyone experience such a situation?
What did you do?
Read for one more year lo, anyway reader's digest is good.
"Last year in november I subscripted to reader digest and paid $99 for 1 year subscription because I was cheated by their "sweepstake".
dot dot dot ......................
Call them and say you want to cancel, Those book they send, if they want it, just collect from you...don't believe on what automatic renew. Those are carp. Even auto-renew contract must get your approval...if it is stated in your last contract.
write in to them and complain. maybe they would publish ur article as ''laughter is the best medicine'' section.
just read lor
its good wat.
Originally posted by diablo4343:write in to them and complain. maybe they would publish ur article as ''laughter is the best medicine'' section.
HAHAHAHAH! I really LOL-ed. but honestly, it would probably be published at the "Life's like that" section. Kehehehehehe.
googled under : reader's digest fake sweeptakes...
sure you will get lots lots lots of hits.....
don't be so gullible.... pity you..
Originally posted by Madpoh:Last year in november I subscripted to reader digest and paid $99 for 1 year subscription because I was cheated by their "sweepstake".
Than now that my subscription is expiring, they actually auto renew it even though I have not paid. I went to their website to look for their contact number to call them but it is already after office hours.
Under their FAQs, they say that the subscription is automatically renewed unless you call them to cancel it.
Than when I check my account online, it says that I owe them 1 year subscription fee of $99!
Anyone experience such a situation?
What did you do?
just shoot them email and call and yell "I WILL NOT PAY! CANCEL MY MEMBERSHIP"
after i cancelled subscription, they still keep sending me leh
but i think they realised after a few mths then stopped le
the sweepstakes is damn bo liao
I wonder did anyone win the sweepstakes in the first place? Or is it a fake sweepstakes?
it always say u are the selected few
but i always know about 20 other ppl who got it too
crap
They did not cheat you.
It is very clear from the start. Subscribe one year for $99, and you also get books + a chance to win a million dollars. Correct? You accepted their invitation. Got or not?
Second year, you don't want, tell them cancell lor. If they still send books, that's their problem. Still got time till Nov..
Whether the problem is big one or small one, depends on your size.
Next time must read fine print.
maybe they are desperate. after my times mag subscription was over, they keep sending letters to ask me to subsribe, even calls.
Originally posted by FireIce:after i cancelled subscription, they still keep sending me leh
but i think they realised after a few mths then stopped le
the sweepstakes is damn bo liao
They send you after you cancelled subscription which means that you get free reader digest as you never pay them?
newsweek and Time mag also like that one.. send u for many months after ur subscription has ended.. lol..
maybe thats y they need to scheme ppl into getting extended subscription.. coz they lugi too much haha..
i din relli cancel
i just did not pay
Who you subscribe with?
Anyway, I usually stuff the entire sweepstake contents into the reply envelope (it becomes very fat), and then mail it back to them. :)
Eh pm me .
My father lawer . I`ll help u get back the 99 bucks .
But u have to pay 500 for the service .
"Last year, a Reader's Digest spokesman said that about 47% of new subscriptions for its magazines resulted from sweepstakes promotions, down from 89% the previous year."
Source: http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news/digest.html
PS: When i was in lower secondary, i was pretty taken in by their sweepstakes thingy which always arrives in a big and weighty envelope. Not to mention that they have a way with words too, always saying that you are one of the few qualified for their sweepstakes.
So, I keep sending them back the reply envelopes hoping to hit the jackpot someday. When they sent me the sweepstakes envelope time and again, I keep replying them each and every single time (this dragged on for a couple of years). At first I was pretty excited, then finally I just felt digusted by them. The contents of each envelope they sent always give me the same crap. Then I realised that what they were really promoting was not the sweepstakes, but the products in the fliers they included in the envelope.
Yes, I was really naive back then.
bery fun to play with the stickers
i think got some fake car keys oso
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:Next time must read fine print.
true that!