Originally posted by Marco_Simone:I saw a police tentage at the ground floor today and it was obvious what happened.
Anyway,I did witness a fall before.I was at home at that time,suddenly I heard someone screaming and then heard a loud boom downstairs...I went to the window to take a look and saw a man face up on the floor totally intact(thank goodness!) but obviously he was died.
Seen pics of the aftermath of jumpers before and it's not neat.Imagine the head being split open and whats inside flowing out looks like strawberry jam. Luckily,I didnt see such things before.
to me...seeing someone jump down a building means seeing the process of jumping or at least the falling.
I've seen it. Once.
I was rather young then. But still, old enough to know what 'jumping off' means. I think the incident happened in a shopping mall along Orchard (Ngee Ann City, if I'm not wrong). This man, with a few bottles of beer by his side, was sitting on the parapet between the third story corridor and oblivion. It was obvious he was drunk as he seemed to be muttering to nobody. There was a few police officers at the scene who seemed to do what you'd normally see on HK drama serials.
The man (obviously, since he was drunk) took no heed and suddenly toppled off the ledge. No audio accompanied the swift and quick plunge. However, there was this grotesque 'splat' sound when his head hit the floor (yes, he fell head-first). I actually witnessed the whole event.
Blood began oozing out of his head area. I wasn't close enough to see if the skull had broken apart since I was standing on the second storey.
It wasn't a terrifying experience since it's not really as gore as I'd had thought it would be. Someone once told me that people usually die before they hit the ground. I think it's because while during free-fall, there is an opportunity for the spine to break, therefore killing you.
Thats it. My little not-so-terrible recount.
Originally posted by xXBlack_RebelXx:I havent. And dont want to either. Original poster, you say it without any empathy. Do you not have sympathy for the person, what they must have felt to get to the extent of terminating their existance in such a excruciating manner? You speak of it like as if its something exciting or entertaining.
wah your english very tok kong.![]()
Originally posted by Vendettus:I've seen it. Once.
I was rather young then. But still, old enough to know what 'jumping off' means. I think the incident happened in a shopping mall along Orchard (Ngee Ann City, if I'm not wrong). This man, with a few bottles of beer by his side, was sitting on the parapet between the third story corridor and oblivion. It was obvious he was drunk as he seemed to be muttering to nobody. There was a few police officers at the scene who seemed to do what you'd normally see on HK drama serials.
The man (obviously, since he was drunk) took no heed and suddenly toppled off the ledge. No audio accompanied the swift and quick plunge. However, there was this grotesque 'splat' sound when his head hit the floor (yes, he fell head-first). I actually witnessed the whole event.
Blood began oozing out of his head area. I wasn't close enough to see if the skull had broken apart since I was standing on the second storey.
It wasn't a terrifying experience since it's not really as gore as I'd had thought it would be. Someone once told me that people usually die before they hit the ground. I think it's because while during free-fall, there is an opportunity for the spine to break, therefore killing you.
Thats it. My little not-so-terrible recount.
nah you die before you hit the ground because you're too scared already... cardiac arrest... i don't think so spine can break because people bungee jump like no problem
nope, but the aftermath yes..
handled a fall from height (?suicide) case last yr during the 7th month while on my nite duty & the time was abt 2-3am if I remembered correctly..
Originally posted by QX179R:nope, but the aftermath yes..
handled a fall from height (?suicide) case last yr during the 7th month while on my nite duty & the time was abt 2-3am if I remembered correctly..
song bo? ![]()
Originally posted by QX179R:nope, but the aftermath yes..
bro nope to what?
Originally posted by CasperV:
bro nope to what?
nope to the question posted by TS lor..
oh i thought about the cardiac thing... can people really break the spine during freefall?
Originally posted by CasperV:oh i thought about the cardiac thing... can people really break the spine during freefall?
from wat we learnt during our course, pple who fall from height we'll suspect spinal injury but fractures confirm have, either open or closed only..
I seen my first dead body from jumping once when i was in my early teens . I was going to market for my breakfast with my bro when we saw a police cordon along the way at one of the blocks . Being curious n kaypo we went to have a look only to see a body which was already covered by police canvas but apparently the head was hit by the kerb in the void deck and the upper quarter of the skull was split open cleanly . exposing the brain matter which had turned orange colour already and the hair still sticking to the skull was seen further above the brain in the void deck . By the way , the body belongs to a tamil girl/lady .
Second time was when i was going to work and i saw an old mans body lying in the drain with his wallet inside his trouser pocket . And the police was asking a man i think reported the death , and again being curious n kaypoh agn i stick ard 5 mins more to try and see if i could get anymore " information " . But in the end i couldn't see much then i left but not without calling my mum abt it and ask if she want to see anot :P . I heard my mum telling me a few days later that this man has alot of sickness for many years liao . And we presumed that he puposely wanted to end it all in one shot . Sigh !!! Anyway years later when i was helping my friends medium temple , the got chided me for watching n kaypohing ard the old mans body . The god told me that the old man was very unhappy abt it . So next time i see such things , the god ask me to ignore and walk away to do whatever i have in mind because they also have their own " journey " to go .
heard a scream and a loud thud... peeked over the corridor parapet, there the body was. amitofo.
my fren did and never survived it.... no i never saw it myself.... but i jumped b4 too... bungee jump lor...
Originally posted by CasperV:nah you die before you hit the ground because you're too scared already... cardiac arrest... i don't think so spine can break because people bungee jump like no problem
Sure anot? A lot skydivers would be very dead people by then.
The idea that you will die / faint before you hit the ground is BS. You'll enjoy every moment of it until your world explodes into a million pieces.
i wintness a suicide be4 with my dad at age 10 or 11 cant remember my age as its past 20 years
i was watching some SONGKA going on opp below my void deck with my dad, its the last day for the SONGKA thuse early in the morning they blast the music very loud
as we were watching from our 4th floor we saw a woman opp us at 5th floor, she was walking slowing towards the center of the level and then she face us ( not sure if she notice us watching her) and then suddenly she rise up (climbing on something) and very fast her body lean over the wall and just stright down she goes. its was a very fast moment. and land her head into the drain. her head hit the drain and spilt. the sigh was very gross and my dad and i was too stund to do anything or say anything.
this shock the group of ppl below. as he body lay beside the SONGKA. 1 of the old woman rush out and cry madly....... its really sad to see how sad she was crying for her daughter.
later that day many rumour come out " some say the the death spirit below got into her body and jump' and etc . u know chinese ppl always very superstition 1.
(though its was 20 years ago but this is something i never forget.)
songka is what?
Flying without wings.
Originally posted by wonderamazement:songka is what?
Wake or funeral.
Originally posted by aHGer^83:
6 mths apart.... but exact same date....after the shock and continuos sickness, went to medium and ask lor.. they say cos i was the 1st to witness the police's death, he wanted to let me see the 2nd death....
gooodnesss, i got goosebumps reading this sentence..
its so so so scary n creepyy.....
i wtinessed lots of pple jump down the world trade centre building on tv on sept 11 2001.
Would you like to set up a Condolences corner for those suicidal TRASH? ![]()
Originally posted by CasperV:oh i thought about the cardiac thing... can people really break the spine during freefall?
I dont think so lar...people doing freefalling from a plane how?Those SAF commandos freefalling every NDP?
but then again...there is a risk if U are talking about more than 1G of force...like ejecting from a plane and maybe a elevator failure.
never seen in real life before. it must be damn scary. but i did seen one in my dreams before, of a bangala landing infront of me.