have u tink maybe it just happen that the couple needed the tissue?
Originally posted by FireIce:after grad, work for a couple of years, get PR, serve finish bond (if any) then off to US!!!!
U so kind...some grad...take cert...fly off liao...bond?what bond?Dun come back to sg then no bond lor...
i normally give $10 if i feel they really poor thing
You cannot blame sg kids for not buying tissue from the uncle.You must understand that donating money and buying things even tissue often leave a guilty feeling after doing it.And their parents don't want them to donate so much money.
Society or should I said societies in mainland china is vastly different from provinces to provinces, cities and rural areas...hence it's like a jigsaw puzzle
One one hand the working class you have rowdy construction workers and another group quiet cleaners ....students too I guess is one who' in the rich group and other working class..
China rich teens spending money here in SG just the beginning...wait till the adults come over and create a spending mania .. mass.consumerism is really not a healthy phenomenon.People who are rich become coarse and overbearing
cos the kids spend all their money on mac liao so no money to buy tissue... ![]()
Originally posted by Xcert:China students dun get allowance from parent ar?They do lor...
After graduation...U might not even see them in singapore.
yes they got allowance, but it's in rmb, if they give them 500 yuan monthly, it does not mean anything ,after divided by 5,become 100 dollar
Society or should I said societies in mainland china is vastly different from provinces to provinces, cities and rural areas...hence it's like a jigsaw puzzle
it's very true
the packet of tissue is overpriced.
In China
Begger can be occupation.
In Singapore, poor cannot Beg
selling those tissue is in-direct begging.
I will also not buy those tissue from poor.
I will at my mean help them all the way to be look after by social service welfare service department in singapore.
make sure they get Public Assistance from MCYS.
make sure they can get Medical Social Welfare card for FREE medical treatment till they surrender their ID card
Put it this way lah. This China couple has come a long way from their homeland and endured hardships that you and I may not be able to comprehend. Perhaps that is why they are able to relate better to the less privileged or marginalised people in our society. They have more compassion than SG kids.
I don't wish to put Singaporeans down. I am a Singaporean too. But looking at our SG kids these days, they are a bunch of spoilt products of their parents, and given more than what they actually needed. And still complaint.
Yes, there are also more mainland Chinese kids who are better off than SG kids these days. Their ability to spend more does not make them any worse off in behavior than SG kids.
very often when we talk about people from a country actually it's not a nation-level thing but only personality. why r guys always so eager to relate somebody's behavior to his/her motherland? this is likely to cause bias because stereotyping is always in favor of your in-group. if u see a china mainlander doing good things u even won't know he's from china, while when he behaves badly it'll be ur basic instinct to say china men are all evil.
so try to avoid saying "china ppl blah blah blah" or "singaporeans what what what" if u can. all are individual humans.
Originally posted by kenzoshin:Put it this way lah. This China couple has come a long way from their homeland and endured hardships that you and I may not be able to comprehend. Perhaps that is why they are able to relate better to the less privileged or marginalised people in our society. They have more compassion than SG kids.
I don't wish to put Singaporeans down. I am a Singaporean too. But looking at our SG kids these days, they are a bunch of spoilt products of their parents, and given more than what they actually needed. And still complaint.
Yes, there are also more mainland Chinese kids who are better off than SG kids these days. Their ability to spend more does not make them any worse off in behavior than SG kids.
1. You wrote, "This China couple has come a long way from their homeland and endured hardships that you and I may not be able to comprehend" but on the other hand you said "more mainland Chinese kids who are better off than SG kids" so who is enduring the hardship? The one with lots of money or the one with less money?
2. You wrote, "SG kids these days, they are a bunch of spoilt products of their parents, and given more than what they actually needed" and on the other hand you wrote "more mainland Chinese kids who are better off than SG kids and able to spend more" eerrr.....who is having more money then what they actually need here? The spoilt SG kds who can't spend or the struggling, hardship suffering Chinese Mainlander? Get your facts right.
Just can't stop thinking...how am I suppose to endure all the sufferring and hardship with those truck loads of money...
damn....I wonder who is enjoying life here?
1. You wrote, "This China couple has come a long way from their homeland and endured hardships that you and I may not be able to comprehend" but on the other hand you said "more mainland Chinese kids who are better off than SG kids" so who is enduring the hardship? The one with lots of money or the one with less money?
2. You wrote, "SG kids these days, they are a bunch of spoilt products of their parents, and given more than what they actually needed" and on the other hand you wrote "more mainland Chinese kids who are better off than SG kids and able to spend more" eerrr.....who is having more money then what they actually need here? The spoilt SG kds who can't spend or the struggling, hardship suffering Chinese Mainlander? Get your facts right.
Just can't stop thinking...how am I suppose to endure all the sufferring and hardship with those truck loads of money...
damn....I wonder who is enjoying life here?
Originally posted by Zecyan88:
Everyone.
Originally posted by JnXn:very often when we talk about people from a country actually it's not a nation-level thing but only personality. why r guys always so eager to relate somebody's behavior to his/her motherland? this is likely to cause bias because stereotyping is always in favor of your in-group. if u see a china mainlander doing good things u even won't know he's from china, while when he behaves badly it'll be ur basic instinct to say china men are all evil.
so try to avoid saying "china ppl blah blah blah" or "singaporeans what what what" if u can. all are individual humans.
if you don't know how to take care of your belonging, country and fellow Singaporean...soon you will be floating on a plank in the middle of Pacific Ocean. :P
Originally posted by JnXn:very often when we talk about people from a country actually it's not a nation-level thing but only personality. why r guys always so eager to relate somebody's behavior to his/her motherland? this is likely to cause bias because stereotyping is always in favor of your in-group. if u see a china mainlander doing good things u even won't know he's from china, while when he behaves badly it'll be ur basic instinct to say china men are all evil.
I'm not sure of the number of Chinese nationals in S'pore as compared to that from India or other countries. However, if you look at the statistics of serious crimes committed in S'pore (usually over money matters and more than often resulting in killings), you will see that the majority of such cases involves people from China.
Yes, we are all human beings but some (and statistics have revealed that most are from China) will do all kinds of evil to attain their greed for money.
Originally posted by Darkknighthuang:I'm not sure of the number of Chinese nationals in S'pore as compared to that from India or other countries. However, if you look at the statistics of serious crimes committed in S'pore (usually over money matters and more than often resulting in killings), you will see that the majority of such cases involves people from China.
Yes, we are all human beings but some (and statistics have revealed that most are from China) will do all kinds of evil to attain their greed for money.
The high profile Foreign Talent .....
completely agreed. TS is a troll la, where got anyone so stupid one experience nia come out with all this sigh GOD FORGIVE ME AMEN crap.
Originally posted by Fatum:you yourself didn't buy, then you come here and kpkb for fark ? ....
lol
Singaporeans donate to President's Star charity.
Other people donate to tissue paper sellers lor. ![]()
Originally posted by kenzoshin:Put it this way lah. This China couple has come a long way from their homeland and endured hardships that you and I may not be able to comprehend. Perhaps that is why they are able to relate better to the less privileged or marginalised people in our society. They have more compassion than SG kids.
china's kids also spoiled, if you r talking about the scholar here, they are pretty much out of concern, they are top kids in china, but not the best, many kids in china also spoiled, smoking, drinking, gambling,
those china students, esp those scholars are not that poor lor.
they are among the best in China (perhaps not academically, but certainly from well-to-do families). because their families are wealthy enough to spam tuition for them back in China, they are then able to qualify for singapore scholarship. have been there for immersion programme before, the parents there simply hire private 1 to 1 home tutors for every subjects, and that certainly isn't cheap.
the ordinary peasant-born prc will never be able to afford coming to singapore, regardless of whether he got scholarship or not.
most of them do get allowance from family, in addition to the $500 allowance so generously given to them by our government.
in addition, they don't have to pay for food and accomodation here in singapore either, since that too is sponsored by the government.
so, these teens have more purchasing power than the avg singaporean teen.
ask yourself, if you are a parent : did you give enough allowance to your children that they are able to buy tissue from any random uncle/aunty they saw?
if you are a student : did your parents give you enough allowance to buy tissue paper whenever you saw one of those tissue-sellers?
Originally posted by deathmaster:those china students, esp those scholars are not that poor lor.
they are among the best in China (perhaps not academically, but certainly from well-to-do families). because their families are wealthy enough to spam tuition for them back in China, they are then able to qualify for singapore scholarship. have been there for immersion programme before, the parents there simply hire private 1 to 1 home tutors for every subjects, and that certainly isn't cheap.
the ordinary peasant-born prc will never be able to afford coming to singapore, regardless of whether he got scholarship or not.
most of them do get allowance from family, in addition to the $500 allowance so generously given to them by our government.
in addition, they don't have to pay for food and accomodation here in singapore either, since that too is sponsored by the government.
so, these teens have more purchasing power than the avg singaporean teen.
ask yourself, if you are a parent : did you give enough allowance to your children that they are able to buy tissue from any random uncle/aunty they saw?
if you are a student : did your parents give you enough allowance to buy tissue paper whenever you saw one of those tissue-sellers?
In my time, even going to eat in fast food outlet has to tink twice... value meal is $5.. pocket monies only $2....
You are right, only the rich can afford to send their child to singapore, they have to pay middleman with heaps of money... If u ask some of the boys, some of them might have just collected a windfall from the stock market where they are very rich now.