Originally posted by deathmaster:those china students, esp those scholars are not that poor lor.
they are among the best in China (perhaps not academically, but certainly from well-to-do families). because their families are wealthy enough to spam tuition for them back in China, they are then able to qualify for singapore scholarship. have been there for immersion programme before, the parents there simply hire private 1 to 1 home tutors for every subjects, and that certainly isn't cheap.
the ordinary peasant-born prc will never be able to afford coming to singapore, regardless of whether he got scholarship or not.
most of them do get allowance from family, in addition to the $500 allowance so generously given to them by our government.
in addition, they don't have to pay for food and accomodation here in singapore either, since that too is sponsored by the government.
so, these teens have more purchasing power than the avg singaporean teen.
ask yourself, if you are a parent : did you give enough allowance to your children that they are able to buy tissue from any random uncle/aunty they saw?
if you are a student : did your parents give you enough allowance to buy tissue paper whenever you saw one of those tissue-sellers?
it's so untrue, the chinese student in the private institution here is from wealthy family, not whose who is in NTU or NUS, they are from average family, if they are not qualified for the scholarship, they cannot afford to study in singapore
Yes, some of you are not comfortable with the 500$ issued by singapore government, but if the local student is qualified for the scholarship, i guarantee you, the local student will be choosen rather than the chinese.
In NTU and NUS, those in the lab pursuiting under graduate and Phd, majority of them are foreigner, and most of the foreigner come from china, without them the NTU and NUS will be short of high education student, so the point is not government give them the allowance for free, it's with condition, and it's win win resolution, some chinese scholar who break the bond is not right, but think they come here without any familiar people around, someone have to try hard to integrate in the society, food and climates
And many student's scholarship are terminated because they are not doing well in the local university acedemically, and there are some portion who have been sent back to china, leaving them with no choice, they have to retake the national entrance exam to admitted in a china university.
Scholarship is everywhere, as long as you do well acedemically, it's not difficult to get it here, or somewhere else, whose who break the bond is small portion, and singapore government here have oversee that problem, they are still benifitting with whose who don't not break the bond,
i think it's the MOE who treat chinese scholar like tissue paper, if they can get advantage of them, which mean the scholar who do well acedemically, then stay, whose, who fail several subject, out.
Originally posted by rokkie:
yes they got allowance, but it's in rmb, if they give them 500 yuan monthly, it does not mean anything ,after divided by 5,become 100 dollar
problem is...they dont carry RMB500x12=RMB6000 back with them after their yearly visit back home...usually its more than that.
generalisation. there are kind sg youths. there are kind cheena youths
Originally posted by Catknight:
But I also saw a lot of singaporeans donate money in charity.
I remenber that singaporeans have donated 600 million dollars last
year.So much money for a country which only has 400 million people.
today i see one PRC dude wearing the same tshirt from monday to wednesday liao.
tmr lecture i see whether he still wear same tshrt not okay? then i come update you all.
we are too proud already, got good and bad
and now instead of kpkb sg females, u now kpkb the couples of sg?
Originally posted by Casin:But I also saw a lot of singaporeans donate money in charity.
I remenber that singaporeans have donated 600 million dollars last
year.So much money for a country which only has 400 million people.
I suppose you meant 4 mil in terms of population.
A majority of these donations come from larger local and foreign organisations. Reason it being it's good PR and added awareness, as well as coporate taxation relief that can work out to be a huge sum.
In fact, in response to the OP, I know several Chinese PRCs that can speak better English than most Singaporeans. They have that sexy American accent as well, most likely because they have learnt from American teaching materials.
Originally posted by asharae:
Sorry,I have made a mistake.It right that 4million not 400million.
I know several Chinese PRCs that can speak better English than most Singaporeans.
You are right.But just a few people can speak fluent english.Most of people can't speak english well,like me.I admire that you singaporeans have chance to study english when you are young.
Originally posted by ghast.:generalisation. there are kind sg youths. there are kind cheena youths
cheena
Please donn't use this word.It is an insult for all chinese.
Originally posted by sinicker:today i see one PRC dude wearing the same tshirt from monday to wednesday liao.
tmr lecture i see whether he still wear same tshrt not okay? then i come update you all.
okay i didnt see him today! his friends were all there tho. maybe no other tshirt then cannot attend class already?? ![]()
Originally posted by deathmaster:
they are among the best in China (perhaps not academically, but certainly from well-to-do families).
This is not ture.The students who are come from wealthy family usually study in British , American ,Australia or New zealand.Just the students whose family not so rich but can afford singapore spending are study in here.
the ordinary peasant-born prc will never be able to afford coming to singapore, regardless of whether he got scholarship or not.
The chinese students who want to study abroad but come from normal family usually have got full scholarship before they left china.Most of these students study at USA.
Originally posted by Casin:cheena
Please donn't use this word.It is an insult for all chinese.
You can call a piece of shit a rose, but it is still a piece of shit.
Likewise, that which you call a rose, by any other name, would smell as sweet.
Its not an insult for all chinese, if you think its an insult, then its an insult. Its just another alternative to using the term 'PRC'. Or, if you like, you can use both, ie "In geylang, when driving, one must be careful as many PRC cheena like to jaywalk dangerously" and so on and so forth.
Originally posted by rokkie:
i think it's the MOE who treat chinese scholar like tissue paper, if they can get advantage of them, which mean the scholar who do well acedemically, then stay, whose, who fail several subject, out.
So tell me which scholarship, you fail several subjects or modules, get to continue enjoying the scholarship? DUH, its not MOE who treat chinese scholar like tissue paper, like hello, the chinese scholar should be more than grateful got free education free money etc, the least he could do is erm, study?!
Originally posted by Catknight:I've had an encounter in downtown fastfood outlet that seems to break all stereotype about rich china teens studying here that they are loud and proud.
It's my teabreak time so decided to have acuppa of coffee..a middle aged uncle came in selling tissue..Sg youths give him a kind of look and waved him off...
Surprisingly a china teen couple bought some tissues from him..what does this show?40 years of nation building and we pride ourselves as developed city state and yet can't spared a dollar or two to help the poor sg uncle...we criticise china kids but are sg kids more altustic towards poorer members of our countrymen..think about it:(
So what if sgkids speak better english than china kids now...in a decade or so they will too be billingual in their own cities maybe even better without the singlish
I usually buy all the tissues from the uncles or aunties and give away all the tissues to my friends.
Not many people can do that, regardless of where they come from, be it sg or china.
So I'm better than those china teens right? Even if you don't say, I also know I'm better. ![]()
Originally posted by gigabyte14:we are too proud already, got good and bad
and now instead of kpkb sg females, u now kpkb the couples of sg?
Now then you realised?
Take a closer look around your fellow sgforumers ok? ![]()
Originally posted by sinicker:okay i didnt see him today! his friends were all there tho. maybe no other tshirt then cannot attend class already??
why didn't u think this guy had bought a lot of tshits of the same color and same design? and today he's busy buying more these tshirts : ]
Originally posted by nightsky87:You can call a piece of shit a rose, but it is still a piece of shit.
Likewise, that which you call a rose, by any other name, would smell as sweet.
Its not an insult for all chinese, if you think its an insult, then its an insult. Its just another alternative to using the term 'PRC'. Or, if you like, you can use both, ie "In geylang, when driving, one must be careful as many PRC cheena like to jaywalk dangerously" and so on and so forth.
OK,I don't want to argue with you.I change the sentence to It's an insult for all china's people.You just a singaporean.
It's nothing relate with you now.Any problem?
Originally posted by Casin:OK,I don't want to argue with you.I change the sentence to It's an insult for all china's people.You just a singaporean.
It's nothing relate with you now.Any problem?
it's smart not to argue. in this senario argument's worth zero.
just demonstrate by action.