Originally posted by lianamaster:I guess that was quite recent..,
The times Ginza Plaza was booming was many many years back liao...
Before the countdown to the new millenium...
recent? tink ginza toh many yrs b4 they "finally" come out with WCP...
Originally posted by aHGer^83:
recent? tink ginza toh many yrs b4 they "finally" come out with WCP...
yea... got a point....
Originally posted by red_amoeba:been there twice and looking at all the mid-high end shops there – I wonder how they will be able to survive. West Coast still primarily a heartland – and you have shops like Sushi-Teh, New York New York, how to survive?
How you expect heartland uncles and aunties to afford eating at there? Furthermore, The Cold Storage there is going to face hard times against Seng Song who goes a mass -market, cheaper road. How many expats you expect to frequent Cold Storage?
And being close to schools like NUS, one can expect to have large patronage of students but some of the outlets are too expensive for normal students. Even if they want, they would patronise them in town.
Maybe Starbucks can survive but other outlets like the fanciful Japanese eating place will find it hard. They should include outlets like Mc Donalds or KFC that can pull in the young crowd.
And one thing, I noticed, the air con in West Coast Mall is bloody cold, electricity bills very cheap meh?
tat area got quite a large population of expats.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Aiyo... the mall just opened leh... Give some confidence man....
Ginza Plaza used to be very hot in the 80s and 90s too...
80s? In the 80s, there is no Ginza Plaza.
Updates
The Coffee Bean opens for its first day of business today.
Fish & Co. looks set to open earliest this weekend or next week.
Opened earlier this week includes Thai Express and BBQ Chicken.
The floor space for Sakae Sushi is entirely covered up today. It is all empty inside, no floor tiles. Seems to open next year.
After the reno, my first n the last time. Except for the dinings, the place sucks!
any pics to upload so far anyone?
Originally posted by tranquilice:
80s? In the 80s, there is no Ginza Plaza.
Then 90s lor... 'cos my family told me one...hehe
Originally posted by lianamaster:
Then 90s lor... 'cos my family told me one...hehe
It was supposed to open in 1992 but the explosion delayed it by a year.
Originally posted by tranquilice:
It was supposed to open in 1992 but the explosion delayed it by a year.
Got it...
All the same old same old neighbourhood shopping mall shops. There's nothing to draw pple there that other places dont already have. Boring.
like not bad
but too small
even new york new york is there
sighs. now it's like all wannabe noshy poshy stuff, it's not even as though the stuff there are really that awesome. if i wanted to buy those high end stuff why shop here, go vivo so much better.
and actually the starbucks stall is like super kong. but the other restruants got alot of people leh.
o_O
i still cant comprehend why....
It all depends on the tastes and likes of people.
I preferred the old Ginza Plaza by a huge mile...
I think the developers had failed to notice that a large portion of the customers Ginza enjoyed were students from the many primary and secondary schools nearby as well as residents who were lazy to walk to the sheng siong...
Stores like Comic Connections, KFC and Mcdonalds not to forget the many Cybercafes (especially Aloha) were a great blessing and even more so during exam periods as the fast food outlets were never crowded and were well supplied with power points. The abundance of well-reputed tuition centres further reinforced the place as a students paradise..
The KFC there deserves special mention as they never stint on portions... the chicken was as large and tasty as 5 years ago.. the burgers had plenty of mayo... <hungry le..>
McDonalds had a childrens play area which doubled as a birthday celebration area..
I could go on as I spent a good 10 years in the area and many fond memories.. T_T..
Will miss you, Ginza...
Originally posted by boy20:Does anyone knows when will West Coast Plaza be opened???
West Coast Plaza was in the past known as Ginza Plaza.
Actually, what I am most concern about is that will they have a free shuttle bus like the one they had during Ginza Plaza time???
I am hoping that they do have a free shuttle bus, just look at how much I could save$$$$$$.
Stupid, you think you are the only one who wants to save $$$?
Obviously they want to save it too, otherwise you'll be the one saving it.![]()
Originally posted by Joshen zx:I preferred the old Ginza Plaza by a huge mile...
I think the developers had failed to notice that a large portion of the customers Ginza enjoyed were students from the many primary and secondary schools nearby as well as residents who were lazy to walk to the sheng siong...
Stores like Comic Connections, KFC and Mcdonalds not to forget the many Cybercafes (especially Aloha) were a great blessing and even more so during exam periods as the fast food outlets were never crowded and were well supplied with power points. The abundance of well-reputed tuition centres further reinforced the place as a students paradise..
The KFC there deserves special mention as they never stint on portions... the chicken was as large and tasty as 5 years ago.. the burgers had plenty of mayo... <hungry le..>
McDonalds had a childrens play area which doubled as a birthday celebration area..
I could go on as I spent a good 10 years in the area and many fond memories.. T_T..
Will miss you, Ginza...
Oh.... those were the days...