Some years back, I bought the straits settlements coin from a ulu coin shop for $100+. some days back when rearranging some stuffs in my drawer, i came across this coin. all along, it was just dumped in my drawer after I bought it.
Then in ebay (random browsing), I just found today that the 50 cents version of it is selling for US$140++ (S$218) -- another link, not the link in the 2nd message.
Hence, the $1 face value coin which I owned should costs in today's price around $400+ min.
Authenticity wise, I checked the websites of numerisatic coins and compare with mine, omg it looks exactly the same!
now i happy like fxck! ![]()
lol cool. i was abt to ask for the pic :D
eh.... 50cts this price does not mean $1 is just x 2 leh
wow i didnt know digimon fans collect coins too ~
PS: there is another auction where the 50 cent is selling like for $140+ but I lost the link.... so I post the link for $1 one.
Originally posted by FireIce:eh.... 50cts this price does not mean $1 is just x 2 leh
then what should be the value of $1 coin?
you are skilled in evaluating coins? pls advice. thanks.
The only reason old things are expensieve is because of it's antique value, not because of it's actual monetary value.
People will not give you double the price just because it's a 1 dollar version and the 50 cents cost 140USD, UNLESS the 1 dollar version is nearly out of market and no one is selling already.
Don't sell la.. keep it, when have sons and daughters can pass down LOL
useless stuff unless u can eat or cum in it ![]()
You sibeh blurz.
The link you posted is for $1 straits settlement coin leh.
i've got 2 straits settlement coins. 50 cts ones. dated 1919 & 1923. both are in really bad shape![]()
donate to museum can have ur name there forever..
donated by so and so..
good for you!
keep for another 50 years!
If you could just put $1 into a long-term investment which returns 8% interest per annum, it will grow into a lump sum of $2199.76 after 100 years. $400 seems to pale in comparison here. ![]()
Originally posted by VagueHart:The only reason old things are expensieve is because of it's antique value, not because of it's actual monetary value.
People will not give you double the price just because it's a 1 dollar version and the 50 cents cost 140USD, UNLESS the 1 dollar version is nearly out of market and no one is selling already.
Don't sell la.. keep it, when have sons and daughters can pass down LOL
I checked ebay, most of the ebayers are selling other later coins, like from 1904 onwards to 1920s.
I only found 1 selling the 1903.
And I also learnt from a history site that the 1903 is the FIRST release/issue!! ![]()
Careful not to bring it out, skali you thirsty you pop your coin into the drink machine...
Originally posted by sand king:Careful not to bring it out, skali you thirsty you pop your coin into the drink machine...
how can that happen when the 1903 coin is much bigger and thicker than the usual $1 coin? And, also it's in the plastic cover, also cannot take out unless I break it.
(measured, it's 3.2cm diameter and 0.3cm thick)
walau, u all got straits settlement coins.
i only got one note, worse still, the note is nearly torn into 2 pieces
Originally posted by digimonfan2008:
how can that happen when the 1903 coin is much bigger and thicker than the usual $1 coin? And, also it's in the plastic cover, also cannot take out unless I break it.
(measured, it's 3.2cm diameter and 0.3cm thick)
oic, they didnt have vending machines in their days...
Originally posted by LatecomerX:If you could just put $1 into a long-term investment which returns 8% interest per annum, it will grow into a lump sum of $2199.76 after 100 years. $400 seems to pale in comparison here.
wah. you so long-life har?
and taking into account of inflation at 4% per annum, ur $2199.76 will not account for much.
Originally posted by deathmaster:
wah. you so long-life har?and taking into account of inflation at 4% per annum, ur $2199.76 will not account for much.
Well, the coin was from 1903. Go figure. ![]()
Originally posted by LatecomerX:Well, the coin was from 1903. Go figure.
are you hinting that the coin is worth $2000++??
anyways, i saw in another ebay page that the 50ct version coin is selling for like $1200++.
but i've no intentions to sell. I want to keep it and pass on to my children.
i got straits settlements stamps...but i dun tink they worth as much than coins! sad
Originally posted by SiMiLaiEh*:i got straits settlements stamps...but i dun tink they worth as much than coins! sad
I got some too. Which year are yours? Any idea what they might be worth? Tks.