Originally posted by cherrycola:
depends on which view you take. From the psychological view, it is the combination of primary colours that make what other colours you see.
if the whole world is blind, do you think that colour will not exist?
colors = light processed by the brain. No brain = no color. Therefore colors are not real.
If you make the whole world blind, trees will still exist. chairs and tables will still exist. cars will still exist. why, cos they're real. not dependent on human perception.
but will colors exist if everyone is blind? no.
So what does this say. colors are part of the mind. just like power rangers, mickey mouse and flying cows
if the whole world is blind, will black stuff radiate more heat than white?
Originally posted by skythewood:if the whole world is blind, do you think that colour will not exist?
Colour wil still exist no matter what. Whether we can see or not is a totally different issue.
It is the same as saying, even if I do not hear of car accidents, it does not mean that they are not happening.
Originally posted by skythewood:if the whole world is blind, will black stuff radiate more heat than white?
if the whole world is blind. BLACK would not exist. but certain properties of the spectrum will have different effects on light. You must realise that the whole idea of BLACK is a human construct. there's no such thing
Colour wil still exist no matter what. Whether we can see or not is a totally different issue.It is the same as saying, even if I do not hear of car accidents, it does not mean that they are not happening.
car accidents are not products of the mind. colors are.
Colour wil still exist no matter what. Whether we can see or not is a totally different issue.It is the same as saying, even if I do not hear of car accidents, it does not mean that they are not happening.
I see. maybe you can debate with hyper on this.
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:
car accidents are not products of the mind. colors are.
Colors are not product, they are manifestations of energy at different wavelenghts. They can be measured by instruments such as a spectrometer.
Having said that, how we percieved that color maybe different from each individual, afterall it is out brain that process that information, so it can be argued that you green might not be my green...
Philosophy is fun, though i am not a philosopher nor have I studied it in great detail, I jus enjoy the process of thinking.
And then ofcourse, you can also think that things outside that is happening, news like car accident.... may be all false, for there might be nothing outside you... You are what u think, everything outside is simply your fantasy....
Originally posted by FireIce:å”仲尼 lah!
if u dunno then i know u is not going to tok about the his kind liao
u like the type tt is when a tree fell in the forest and there is no one to hear it, does it make a sound type isit?
å”å�å°±å”å� la.
anyway i got a question for u all
if a person is born without all 5 of his senses,
does he know he's alive?
Originally posted by whiskers:Colors are not product, they are manifestations of energy at different wavelenghts. They can be measured by instruments such as a spectrometer.
Having said that, how we percieved that color maybe different from each individual, afterall it is out brain that process that information, so it can be argued that you green might not be my green...Philosophy is fun, though i am not a philosopher nor have I studied it in great detail, I jus enjoy the process of thinking.
And then ofcourse, you can also think that things outside that is happening, news like car accident.... may be all false, for there might be nothing outside you... You are what u think, everything outside is simply your fantasy....
"manifestations of energy at different wavelenghts. They can be measured by instruments such as a spectrometer."
Energy has no color. humans give it color because thats what we see. A tree is not a t-r-e-e. its just what we call it.
you might not be versed in philosophy. but i am. the whole idea of color has to do with criticisms of empirical knowledge. ideas such as john locke's theories on primary and secondary properties. colors are human creations, secondary properties that are not 'real'
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:
å”å�å°±å”å� la.anyway i got a question for u all
if a person is born without all 5 of his senses,
does he know he's alive?
cogito ergo sum
- rene descartes
theres your answer =)
cogito ergo sum - heard before ?
- rene descartes
chim.
google liao then i know is what.
so what's ur take?
he dunno?
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:colors = light processed by the brain. No brain = no color. Therefore colors are not real.
If you make the whole world blind, trees will still exist. chairs and tables will still exist. cars will still exist. why, cos they're real. not dependent on human perception.
So what does this say. colors are part of the mind. just like power rangers, mickey mouse and flying cows
HUh!!! no color??/ no spectrum, no rainbow...hello, u better than Newton and Enstein hor. Dun make me fail my physical science leh, me already struggling to get at least a D.
chim.google liao then i know is what.
so what's ur take?
he dunno?
yes he does. the whole idea of the theory is that being able to think proves your existence. Therefore through rationalism alone, we know that we exist
"manifestations of energy at different wavelenghts. They can be measured by instruments such as a spectrometer."
Energy has no color. humans give it color because thats what we see. A tree is not a t-r-e-e. its just what we call it.
you might not be versed in philosophy. but i am. the whole idea of color has to do with criticisms of empirical knowledge. ideas such as john locke's theories on primary and secondary properties. colors are human creations, secondary properties that are not 'real'
huh, this is what buddha said too, he said, the world is not real, nothing, we are living in an illusion,...alamak! be simple better, just eat my rice with peanut soup ok liao.
Originally posted by angel7030:
HUh!!! no color??/ no spectrum, no rainbow...hello, u better than Newton and Enstein hor. Dun make me fail my physical science leh, me already struggling to get at least a D.
sorry mate, im taking a philosophical standpoint. dont confuse with with a scientific one.
and im not better than newton or einstein. im using philo theories. they work with physical theories. different things.
huh, this is what buddha said too, he said, the world is not real, nothing, we are living in an illusion,...alamak! be simple better, just eat my rice with peanut soup ok liao.
yes the illusion is known as simulacra.
you can use the idea of being Singaporean as an example. Is 'Singaporean' real ? Or is it just a state of mind. A belief.
sorry mate, im taking a philosophical standpoint. dont confuse with with a scientific one.
and im not better than newton or einstein. im using philo theories. they work with physical theories. different things.
yo, philosophy hor, i thot can apply it on my science by saying all is not real, damn teacher will give me a hard knock on my head,,..anyway, philosohpical speaking, me is not a mate, but a miss Angel.
yes he does. the whole idea of the theory is that being able to think proves your existence. Therefore through rationalism alone, we know that we exist
but is he able to think?!
we think in words, pictures, sounds etc
but the guy in question cannot receive info of any sort, so how can he think leh?
very interesting leh
maybe we're exposed to those elements that's why our thoughts can nvr be without words and pictures, so maybe that guy has his own way.
but i still doubt it la.
hahaha
yo, philosophy hor, i thot can apply it on my science by saying all is not real, damn teacher will give me a hard knock on my head,,..anyway, philosohpical speaking, me is not a mate, but a miss Angel.
sure miss angel
yes the illusion is known as simulacra.you can use the idea of being Singaporean as an example. Is 'Singaporean' real ? Or is it just a state of mind. A belief.
i think, for people to identify things, we just labels so that all can understand it, i agree that a man is not a man, but for the labelling sake, a man is a man. Education is actually training humans to understand what humans want and need, to standardize things structurally for our own easy use and to create symbolic systems so that we can communicate and be civilise.
but is he able to think?!we think in words, pictures, sounds etc
but the guy in question cannot receive info of any sort, so how can he think leh?
very interesting leh
maybe we're exposed to those elements that's why our thoughts can nvr be without words and pictures, so maybe that guy has his own way.
but i still doubt it la.
hahaha
yup you made a very good point there. alot of our thoughts come from our sense. but thats just the empirical method of knowledge acquisition.
here's an example of how people can think without receiving any outside information.
"I cannot be sleeping and not sleeping at the same time" - law of non-contradiction.
i think, for people to identify things, we just labels so that all can understand it, i agree that a man is not a man, but for the labelling sake, a man is a man. Education is actually training humans to understand what humans want and need, to standardize things structurally for our own easy use and to create symbolic systems so that we can communicate and be civilise.
exactly. just like language. a symbol
yup you made a very good point there. alot of our thoughts come from our sense. but thats just the empirical method of knowledge acquisition.here's an example of how people can think without receiving any outside information.
"I cannot be sleeping and not sleeping at the same time" - law of non-contradiction.
Wow, this is getting headache, me scratchin my head, better get out of here,..if not tonight cannot sleep. There is indeed a fourth dimension.
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:colors = light processed by the brain. No brain = no color. Therefore colors are not real.
People with a brain will know that colors are real.
I can see why you think colors are not real, cos you have no brain? = no color? ![]()
Stop living your life in denial, I hope you're not surfing from Buangkok. ![]()