How much monthly maintenance (for food, transport, utilities, recreation, phone & other minor daily living expenses) would you say, is appropriate & sufficient for an ex wife & 2 young school going kids. Appreciate your feedback on this.
not decided by court?
I don't see why the guy has to pay maintenance for the ex-wife, have hands have legs cannot go work?
Originally posted by de_middle:not decided by court?
Perhaps in some cases.
If both parties can agree on a certain sum, this can be presented thru the lawyers, as part of the terms of settlement, for approval by the court.
Originally posted by Darkknighthuang:Perhaps in some cases.
If both parties can agree on a certain sum, this can be presented thru the lawyers, as part of the terms of settlement, for approval by the court.
it's also dependent on how much they guy's drawing.....if cannot give much also bo pian.
u got divorced?? why u didnt get custody of the kids?
ya normally if divorced, both parent get 1 kid each if there is 2 children ![]()
that one i dun know
dun think i want to know also
lol
Ask the wife to give compensation.
Originally posted by Darkknighthuang:How much monthly maintenance (for food, transport, utilities, recreation, phone & other minor daily living expenses) would you say, is appropriate & sufficient for an ex wife & 2 young school going kids. Appreciate your feedback on this.
I remember a news article some time back...there was a similar case...1 ex wife and 2 kids.I think its was SGD700 or around there...but then again...each case are judged on their own merits...doesnt mean 1 ex wife+2 kids=SGD700 hor..
U pay for ur kids' expenses...fair...but if the wife can work...why are U paying for her upkeep?
from what I know...the maintenance cost of the kids are to be borne by both parents.
TS,
Depends on your income and the kind of expenses that you agree to have for your kids like :- school fees, tuition fees, swimming class, piano class, going to the zoo, etc.
As Xcert had mentioned, the expenses should be borned by both parents. Unless for some reasons your ex-wife can't work.
Anyway you should discuss this with your lawyer. He/she is suppose to advice you on the amount especially if the lawyer is veteran in divorce cases.
Originally posted by dadeadman1337:I don't see why the guy has to pay maintenance for the ex-wife, have hands have legs cannot go work?
Originally posted by yamizi:WOMEN’S CHARTER
(CHAPTER 353)
Power of court to order maintenance
113. The court may order a man to pay maintenance to his wife or former wife —
(a) during the course of any matrimonial proceedings; or
(b) when granting or subsequent to the grant of a judgment of divorce, judicial separation or nullity of marriage.
Then tell the men don work la.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:
Then tell the men don work la.
Then you have to provide to the courts why the men cannot work.
Originally posted by yamizi:
Then you have to provide to the courts why the men cannot work.
Because don wan give maintainence. No cannot work. The women cannot work arr
Originally posted by Beautiful951:
Because don wan give maintainence. No cannot work. The women cannot work arr
Haha if you ever get divorced and use that kind of reason so that to excuse yourself from work, do let me know the outcome =)
Don't choy me la. Choi choi choi. Touch wood. I not married yet.
The martial art of unagi. haha
Originally posted by yamizi:TS,
Depends on your income and the kind of expenses that you agree to have for your kids like :- school fees, tuition fees, swimming class, piano class, going to the zoo, etc.
As Xcert had mentioned, the expenses should be borned by both parents. Unless for some reasons your ex-wife can't work.
Anyway you should discuss this with your lawyer. He/she is suppose to advice you on the amount especially if the lawyer is veteran in divorce cases.
just to add on a bit...how much maintenance is also related to the care and control of the kids...
and to go into that...is like opening a big can of worms....
if U are really interested in looking at the previous judgements...
Its not cheap...Charges for time-based access is S$31.50 for the first hour and S$6.50 for every subsequent hour purchased (prices are subject to Singapore GST)....but ur lawyer fee is already not cheap liao...this amt would be comparatively small.
Thanks for the response, info & ref sites.
Assuming the ex does not work, is it true that the guy must continue provide maintenance for her and his kids, till:-
1. If and when she remarries.
OR
2. The kids reaches a certain age or starts working.
Originally posted by Darkknighthuang:Thanks for the response, info & ref sites.
Assuming the ex does not work, is it true that the guy must continue provide maintenance for her and his kids, till:-
1. If and when she remarries.
OR
2. The kids reaches a certain age or starts working.
To my understanding,
1. Yes.
2. Usually when the child reach 21 years of age.
To my understanding,1. Yes.
2. Usually when the child reach 21 years of age.
Thanks mate.