Picture this: You are on trial for committing murder and, although you are innocent, you are convicted. You are given the death penalty and your life is taken, just like that. It is the end of everything - your family life, your friends, your goals, your future. How can anyone support this? Capital punishment is inhumane and kills both the guilty and innocent. The death penalty promotes murder, contrary to its purpose, and should be outlawed.
The death penalty is immoral and barbaric. It is punishing murderers with murder, and encourages violence. Capital punishment, whether by lethal injection or electrocution, is brutal; it is deliberate manslaughter and first-degree murder. Do you spank a child as punishment for hitting someone? We are taught that two wrongs don’t make a right - more killing is not the solution.
Capital punishment contradicts American morals and values. The Declaration of Independence states that every person is endowed with the inalienable right to life. It is the government’s responsibility to protect its citizens’ lives, but by utilizing the death penalty it takes them away. Also, the Bill of Rights prohibits cruel and unusual punishment. Is murder not cruel? We are hypocrites to fight murder with murder. Capital punishment sends the message that in America, murder is acceptable and even the government will carry it out.
The death penalty does not solve anything and only creates more anguish. Not only must the families of those convicted deal with the criminal charges and trial, they must also cope with the death of a loved one. This is especially difficult for those who are innocent. Studies have shown that capital punishment does not serve as a deterrent for murder, as it was intended. It only puts us in a worse position than when we started.
Many American morals are derived from the Christian faith. The Bible has numerous verses that discourage the use of the death penalty. God has set an example by which we are to live. God will forgive anything, as long as you ask for forgiveness, and entreats you to "forgive those who trespass against us." It also states that we should not seek revenge, which is exactly what we do when we execute someone. No one should kill in the first place, but killing as a means of punishment is just as bad.
One of the worst consequences of capital punishment is the inevitable times when the innocent are killed. Recently, 13 people on death row in Illinois were proven innocent just prior to their execution dates. The great pain they must have endured is incomprehensible. Imagine being murdered by your government for no reason, for doing nothing. It would be worse than the original crime with which they were charged. There is no undo button when you take someone’s life.
Capital punishment has no positive outcomes. Why do we murder to try to prevent murder? We all need to take action to annul the death penalty. There is never justification for taking another’s life.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
any comments you have on this particular issue?
The stand of that passage is that you're innocent. If you're innocent and you're convicted to capital punishment, capital punishment is not the problem, but the law system itself is one, for they fail to deliver justice to the right people.
The moment someone took another persons life without proper reasons, he forfeits his rights to humane reasoning. The passage mentioned the loved ones of those sentenced to capital punishment suffering, have they ever thought of the victim of the killer? What about their family?
Capital punishment works fine. Law abiding citizens will have no reasons to gripe about it.
I'm against capital punishment...i think life sentence is better...
but life imprisonment may be more painful than death itself... imagine you are 21 this year and you are "framed" for murder which you are convicted to spend the next 60 years in jail for something you didn't do... (based on singapore's average life expectation of 80+)
60 years in jail? i'd rather return back to God than suffer like that...
I think they can make those criminals to join the army for life instead of life imprisonment.
Those criminals can be suicide bombers during a war.
life sentence might be more humane,
but prisons can only take so much prisoners leh
wad you going to do if the prison is running out of place?
early release for criminals who commited "lesser crimes"?
i think it also depends alot on the government policies... if a country wants to show mercy, it might also indirectly cause more crimes to be committed...
there is no such thing as "innocent" when u are charge for murder.
define innocent?
u mean the judges just charge a "innocent" person without evidence?
if u kill a life, u lost ur life. as simple as that. im for it.
It is not easy to make an innoncent man guilty, unless you have a really screwed up and corrupt court. In that case, the problem is not with the death penalty but with the Judicial system itself, since any penalty met out would have been unjust.
The Death Penalty should stay for murders. Though a death does not bring the victim back to life, it brings closure to the matter. If a man had any guilt and honor, he should seek death himself, to atone for the life he had taken away.
The Bible also used to stone people a lot for various crimes. Jesus himself faced the death penalty.
The point of the death penalty is to deter. To discourage others who reconsider committing that serious offence.
Schmaltz. that's one complicated issue.
Innocents being convicted the death penalty what could be worse than that?
So to make the death penalty to be fair.....for any innocent victim that had already been sent to death.....their prosecuter must also be sentenced to death for kiling an innocent victim. Ha ha. That is justice isn't it.
So if an already prosecuted person was found to be innocent then convict his prosecuter with a death penalty. If however that new evidences are found that prove that the convict was indeed guilty then prosecute the prosecuter who prosecuted the first prosecuter.
Otherwise an innocent's life means nothing.
The best way to get any message accross is to put everyone in the shoes of those who plight.
Why should the society continue to pay tax to support a couple of killers? Heck if i was sentenced to life w/o a death penalty, i wouldn't care abt who i kill nxt. I could start to murder other prisoners and prison guards. Sacrifice one to save many, be thankful its only hanging as punishment, no more of the torturous death sentences
How about.. Convict Island. =D then can become live streaming . Criminals fight n die.. in a controlled environment. oh yeah. Like animals !
We must not be self-righteous and scream death penalty at criminals but plead for mercy when facing God for our sins like those materialistic pastors.
i think they could send those criminals to intensive rehabilitation instead and make them work under the government or army for a few years before freeing them back to the public if they keep a good record...
Originally posted by parn:I think they can make those criminals to join the army for life instead of life imprisonment.
Those criminals can be suicide bombers during a war.
bomb their own govt/army hor.
Originally posted by dadeadman1337:Why should the society continue to pay tax to support a couple of killers? Heck if i was sentenced to life w/o a death penalty, i wouldn't care abt who i kill nxt. I could start to murder other prisoners and prison guards. Sacrifice one to save many, be thankful its only hanging as punishment, no more of the torturous death sentences
yalor, u know in malaysia and indonesia, the polices are order to fire on gangsterism, robbery and murderers on the spot, even if they surrender, this is to deter peoples from committing such crimes, and also clean up the whole mess. You dun hv to attend court, make massive reports here n there, prison, food, etc etc...just spot and kill and settle it once and for all. Dun hv to waste tax payer money too.
Originally posted by BadzMaro:How about.. Convict Island. =D then can become live streaming . Criminals fight n die.. in a controlled environment. oh yeah. Like animals !
you watch too much movie already rite. whahahahha
Originally posted by schmaltz:Picture this: You are on trial for committing murder and, although you are innocent, you are convicted. You are given the death penalty and your life is taken, just like that. It is the end of everything - your family life, your friends, your goals, your future. How can anyone support this? Capital punishment is inhumane and kills both the guilty and innocent. The death penalty promotes murder, contrary to its purpose, and should be outlawed.
The death penalty is immoral and barbaric. It is punishing murderers with murder, and encourages violence. Capital punishment, whether by lethal injection or electrocution, is brutal; it is deliberate manslaughter and first-degree murder. Do you spank a child as punishment for hitting someone? We are taught that two wrongs don’t make a right - more killing is not the solution.
Capital punishment contradicts American morals and values. The Declaration of Independence states that every person is endowed with the inalienable right to life. It is the government’s responsibility to protect its citizens’ lives, but by utilizing the death penalty it takes them away. Also, the Bill of Rights prohibits cruel and unusual punishment. Is murder not cruel? We are hypocrites to fight murder with murder. Capital punishment sends the message that in America, murder is acceptable and even the government will carry it out.
The death penalty does not solve anything and only creates more anguish. Not only must the families of those convicted deal with the criminal charges and trial, they must also cope with the death of a loved one. This is especially difficult for those who are innocent. Studies have shown that capital punishment does not serve as a deterrent for murder, as it was intended. It only puts us in a worse position than when we started.
Many American morals are derived from the Christian faith. The Bible has numerous verses that discourage the use of the death penalty. God has set an example by which we are to live. God will forgive anything, as long as you ask for forgiveness, and entreats you to "forgive those who trespass against us." It also states that we should not seek revenge, which is exactly what we do when we execute someone. No one should kill in the first place, but killing as a means of punishment is just as bad.
One of the worst consequences of capital punishment is the inevitable times when the innocent are killed. Recently, 13 people on death row in Illinois were proven innocent just prior to their execution dates. The great pain they must have endured is incomprehensible. Imagine being murdered by your government for no reason, for doing nothing. It would be worse than the original crime with which they were charged. There is no undo button when you take someone’s life.
Capital punishment has no positive outcomes. Why do we murder to try to prevent murder? We all need to take action to annul the death penalty. There is never justification for taking another’s life.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I do not agree with ur conclusion that capital punishment has no positive outcomes. If it is the innocent that are killed, then the fault is with the justice/investigation/trial system, not capital punishment itself.
Frankly, I feel ur argument is one-sided and written emotionally, and purposefully to twist the facts. Any sources about your Studies, Bill of Rights, 13 people Death row case?
Say one fine day someone trip a bank robber when he is escaping. Because of that trip, the robber got arrested and jailed for 2 years. When he's released, if you are the someone, would you be 100% unafraid that he'll come after u and ur family members?
Now, let's say u trip a murderer when he is escaping...
Originally posted by schmaltz:Picture this: You are on trial for committing murder and, although you are innocent, you are convicted. You are given the death penalty and your life is taken, just like that. It is the end of everything - your family life, your friends, your goals, your future. How can anyone support this? Capital punishment is inhumane and kills both the guilty and innocent. The death penalty promotes murder, contrary to its purpose, and should be outlawed.
I'd rather die than suffer a lifetime of boredom.
Originally posted by airgrinder:Say one fine day someone trip a bank robber when he is escaping. Because of that trip, the robber got arrested and jailed for 2 years. When he's released, if you are the someone, would you be 100% unafraid that he'll come after u and ur family members?
Now, let's say u trip a murderer when he is escaping...
I will say, hey dude, "You make my day"
Originally posted by DownAndOut:
I'd rather die than suffer a lifetime of boredom.
yalor, no wonder many commited suicide in jail
Capital punishment is not used to punish the offender. It is used to REMOVE THE PERSON from the community.
If we abolish capital punishment... I forsee a few problems...
(1) We will have an overcrowding in the prison...
(2) This mentality will pop-up... I'll murder this guy and I'll get free lodging and food for the rest of my life... I got nothing to lose anyway...
Capital Punishment is one of the ultimate detterance to commiting Capital crimes...
Then picture this... I build a bomb and blow it up in Orchard road killing 200++ lives and the worst I get is simply life imprisonment... since Capital Punishment was abolished...
Originally posted by MohamedF:If we abolish capital punishment... I forsee a few problems...
(1) We will have an overcrowding in the prison...
(2) This mentality will pop-up... I'll murder this guy and I'll get free lodging and food for the rest of my life... I got nothing to lose anyway...
Capital Punishment is one of the ultimate detterance to commiting Capital crimes...
Then picture this... I build a bomb and blow it up in Orchard road killing 200++ lives and the worst I get is simply life imprisonment... since Capital Punishment was abolished...
hmm...i see your point...