I was walking at the carpark next to the Buddha Relic Temple on my way home from work when I was approached by this dirty looking white van. At first I thought they wanted to ask for directions but the driver, who was Ah Beng looking with silly dyed hair told me about some 'high end' speakers that are going for $4000! Siao, I thought, and even though I told them that I was not interested, they were very persistent and even had the cheek to tell me that they were not asking me to buy, then in that case what the hell do they actually want? They said that some dude bought one set earlier, but i said no. In fact, my computer speakers costs less than 100 bucks, let alone forking out $4000. Wait, they are not computer speakers right? Ok whatever.
I've read in the internet before about how these people tried to con others into buying speakers of inferior quality at ripped off prices and as the more I tried to reject them, the more frustrated they get and the driver actually wanted to step out of the vehicle to show me his goods. This time I told him I'm meeting a friend and I'm in a hurry, and his face totally changed and waved me off. Shit, should have taken a picture of the van.
Browsed through various forums and realised that until recently, they have been on a hiatus, but I could be wrong though. So spread the word around, yes? These stoopid fuckers deserves to get shot one of these days.
With $4000 dollars i will rather buy a set of EV speakers, Behringer amps and eq. $4k can buy professional speakers liao lea
can this be in my forum instead..![]()
4k i can backpack for 2 months
This might be a variation of the "electronics parts" scam. And the Ah Beng here is inexperienced.
In the electronics parts scam, the delivery guy, would stop an aunty, and ask for directions, info etc, and strike up a conversation. Then he would say that he cannot deliver the electronic parts and collect the money COD. He would show the parts to the aunty, and say that the wholesale price is one third that of the retail price. He could sell the whole carton to the auntie at a further discount, and she make a good profit. He just want to collect the money and be on his way. Then a passerby would come along, and say that those parts are in demand and short supply and very expensive, if he had the money he would not hesitate to buy them. They would be very persuasive, and soon the aunty would be on they way to the ATM or bank to withdraw a few thousand dollars and buy a carton of useless electronic parts.
LOL I've encountered the scam mancha is talking about. The bugger tried to persuade me to take some speakers from him, claiming that he couldn't contact the person who ordered them.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:LOL I've encountered the scam mancha is talking about. The bugger tried to persuade me to take some speakers from him, claiming that he couldn't contact the person who ordered them.
And that's a coincidence, KB.
I got that once too. How did you react?
$4000? I thought such scammers usually sell for a few hundred bucks only.
There is another scam going around HDB flats. Some ah bengs are knocking on doors saying they are fm town council to and that they are authorized to change your gates for a fee. Go fuck spider man.
Originally posted by Detached:
And that's a coincidence, KB.I got that once too. How did you react?
This took place in the carpark below my flat so I told him that I was going out and no one's home.
Yeah.. the same incident happened to my friend, in the carpark at Sim Lim Square. But somehow he managed to escape them. They were quite aggressive, and really wanted him to buy it, telling all crap stories and adding even sentiments to it.. hehehe..
Whoa.. First time i heard this. Better be careful.. >_<"