Originally posted by TehJarVu:Chinese dunno Mandarin, can only speak English is a not called a snob
is called 忘祖忘宗, low competency, a monolingual persononly top students take Eng and Chi as first language
nvr mind
ä¸�ç”¨æ•™ä½ å¤ªå¤š
世界上多一点笨的人也好
我们�用太辛苦
Gimme a Chinese who can be fluent in English and his/her dialect then I'll say that they're true to their roots. Mandarin's for convenience sake only.
Originally posted by gunner77:its good to learn alot of language coz language is very useful
no matter where u go, u can apply it.
i would think that learning french if you are not going to france is not very useful.
only if you go to france, than you can apply it.
Originally posted by gunner77:its good to learn alot of language coz language is very useful
no matter where u go, u can apply it.
Yes, but there will always be people who insist that by virtue of your skin, you should be able to speak a language.
That is not something that should be encouraged. Not everyone is linguistically inclined.
Originally posted by LazerLordz:Gimme a Chinese who can be fluent in English and his/her dialect then I'll say that they're true to their roots. Mandarin's for convenience sake only.
ello, im here.
Originally posted by FireIce:ello, im here.
im here too
Originally posted by TehJarVu:im here too
Originally posted by skythewood:i would think that learning french if you are not going to france is not very useful.
only if you go to france, than you can apply it.
why not?
maybe one day got french tourist visit singapore u are able to communicate?
Originally posted by LazerLordz:Gimme a Chinese who can be fluent in English and his/her dialect then I'll say that they're true to their roots. Mandarin's for convenience sake only.
yeah im here
btw i know eng, chi (both A1), fluent in hokkien, cantonese and i know Japanese and Vietnamese. i also happn to have a PhD.
Originally posted by TehJarVu:yeah im here
btw i know eng, chi (both A1), fluent in hokkien, cantonese and i know Japanese and Vietnamese. i also happn to have a PhD.
woow...PhD in what field?
Originally posted by gunner77:
why not?maybe one day got french tourist visit singapore u are able to communicate?
and maybe one day, a french tourist didn't talk to you.
the french can speak english, especially the traveling kind. they just refuse to do it when they are in france.
for the french tourist who can't speak english, i hope he has super good luck and meet someone who just happens to know french.
Originally posted by TehJarVu:yeah im here
That's great.
You see, there are people who might not value knowledge of languages. Yet, these could be the same people who are pretty chauvinistic about expecting all Chinese-looking people to know Mandarin without knowing the culturally specific background of each individual person, who could be either Peranakan, Tionghoa or ABC.
Originally posted by rainee:Some can sound utterly snobbish but come out sounding stupid instead.
"
You guys should do what my grandmother does. when someone starts speaking to her in mandarin in a shop, she loudly declares, "oh, don't you have anyone here who's educated enough to serve me?"
i refuse to speak to service staff in mandarin, or anyone who assumes that my ethnicity predicates a natural ability for me to speak mandarin, and i will tell them off if they decide to make an issue of it, which involves speaking to their management or writing in to the proper people in charge who many not know what goes on in their various outlets.
we aren't in the stone-ages anymore, and while i think its acceptable to lower standards when in a place like a hawker center, it is not acceptable anywhere else and lowers the standard of the place immediately.
yes, this makes me a snob, but i really don't care. its who i am. my family raised me to believe that mandarin was for commoners, and that educated singaporeans spoke good english, grammatically, and with proper pronunciation and intonation."From the facebook thread.
Agreed, this facebook threadstarter is not a snob la, the writer is just some loser trying very hard to be snobbish. If the writer's English is so impeccable, then you wouldnt see elementary grammatical errors glaring right into your eyes in the last sentence. If the writer wants to rant about good English, the writer should take in account of proper punctuation too! Which, oh, is so sorely lacking in the writer's tirade.
So the writer must be someone of "low standards"!
I can't believe there are such people out there who, unreservedly, make such flippant comments without a dab of embarrassment. Whichever the case, we oughn't bother because I am pretty certain such obstinate sentiments yield no fruits in the future, where Chinese takes precedence. So it will be a hard fall for the writer! ![]()
To add, it sounds more like a whimsy bitch who is trying too hard to be an Ang Moh. :)
Originally posted by LazerLordz:That's great.
You see, there are people who might not value knowledge of languages. Yet, these could be the same people who are pretty chauvinistic about expecting all Chinese-looking people to know Mandarin without knowing the culturally specific background of each individual person, who could be either Peranakan, Tionghoa or ABC.
Originally posted by FireIce:master ur own MT and english first before u go dabble in other languages
yeah.. exactly
no point learning french, german, spanish, japanese, korean, whatever when one could not even converse well in english or mandarin.
my english and mandarin are pretty good, so im learnin spanish atm. But im also learnin a few new words/vocab (eng or mandarin) every now and then because I believe language is never-ending.
I got some friend, cantonese but can only speak hokkien dialect and some hokkien friend but can only speak cantonese.. Funny,right??? LOL..
Originally posted by Ed11790:i was just wondering…...is it bad if u dont speak the languages ur parents speak?...i mean ur origin language…..the problem is that im a mix of malaysian and korean…....when i tell people that im malaysian and they will ask me if i know cantonese or malaysian and i will say no…..............then if i say im also korean then they will ask if i speak korean and ill say no…..and people find that funny….
_...........i wish i was like my mom cause she can speak mandarin,korean,english,malaysian,fu zhou,and some cantonese…...and all i can speak is chinese and english ….....i think im so stupid for not knowing how to speak the language of my parents….........what do u guys think?is that a bad thing?
There's no good or bad I guess. I think knowing to speak English and Mandarin is pretty much sufficient in Singapore. I think it really depends in where your living in. No point knowing korean but then you never get the chance to use it right?
My mom is Indo but then I know little of bahasa indonesia. I think it's ok since I'm livin in SG and I don't really use it much, at most is to speak to some malay friends thats it so yeah. To me, we should learn a language that is useful, and not because it sounds 'cool' or anything along the lines. However, it's always good to know an additional language cuz you'd never know it could be put to good use.
Perhaps for your case you could start to learn cantonese? I find it pretty useful in here. (I don't know Cantonese)
精通 and 兼通 is not the same
Originally posted by skythewood:
wow, that's a very diverse set of people. you listed. don't think the majority of people can learn all those languages. most people will just fall back on the majority and stereotypes since they can't cater to everyone. in singapore, the stereotypes will be chinese looking is chinese, and speaks mandarin, malay looking is malay and speaks malay, indian looking is indian and speaks tamil. if you see a chinese looking guy, 9 out of ten times he is a chinese, and not a ABC, peranakan or whatever.
I'm speaking from the pov of a Peranakan. Sometimes, it just gets tiring when people ask you for all sorts of lame reasons.
But you have a point about the whole 9 out of 10 bit. But I'd give it a 7 out of 10.
Great mix.
Did you come out correctly ( very chio or yan dao ).
Or did u come out wrongly ( super fugly )?
Originally posted by rainee:Some can sound utterly snobbish but come out sounding stupid instead.
"
You guys should do what my grandmother does. when someone starts speaking to her in mandarin in a shop, she loudly declares, "oh, don't you have anyone here who's educated enough to serve me?"
i refuse to speak to service staff in mandarin, or anyone who assumes that my ethnicity predicates a natural ability for me to speak mandarin, and i will tell them off if they decide to make an issue of it, which involves speaking to their management or writing in to the proper people in charge who many not know what goes on in their various outlets.
we aren't in the stone-ages anymore, and while i think its acceptable to lower standards when in a place like a hawker center, it is not acceptable anywhere else and lowers the standard of the place immediately.
yes, this makes me a snob, but i really don't care. its who i am. my family raised me to believe that mandarin was for commoners, and that educated singaporeans spoke good english, grammatically, and with proper pronunciation and intonation."From the facebook thread.
=================
i am glad she is not my grandmother.
Originally posted by skythewood:and maybe one day, a french tourist didn't talk to you.
the french can speak english, especially the traveling kind. they just refuse to do it when they are in france.
for the french tourist who can't speak english, i hope he has super good luck and meet someone who just happens to know french.
Yep, I agree in general. Learning French may be fairly useless unless you plan to travel to French-speaking countries.
However, French is not only used in France. A little French can get you by with the older folk in Vietnam and Laos, and they speak French in many African countries. It can also help you out in Belgium, Switzerland, and parts of Canada. A few other European countries would be able to understand some French as well.
And French is one of the 3 main languages of the UN, so it helps if people want to work there or its subsidiaries like the WHO. Although personally I would choose Spanish.
Originally posted by Karma88:Great mix.
Did you come out correctly ( very chio or yan dao ).
Or did u come out wrongly ( super fugly )?
Am not so sure if that's much of a mix. Both parents are pretty much oriental mah.
speak singlish, the most powerful language in ..... singapore.
"leh, lah, lor, de, mah, bah, liao...."
the rest are just secondary. lol
"
Originally posted by First Five-Eights:Yep, I agree in general. Learning French may be fairly useless unless you plan to travel to French-speaking countries.
However, French is not only used in France. A little French can get you by with the older folk in Vietnam and Laos, and they speak French in many African countries. It can also help you out in Belgium, Switzerland, and parts of Canada. A few other European countries would be able to understand some French as well.
And French is one of the 3 main languages of the UN, so it helps if people want to work there or its subsidiaries like the WHO. Although personally I would choose Spanish.
ya, that i agree.
french is the language of international law. you need to have a firm grasp of french if you ever intend to work in the statutory boards of the UN.