Date: Monday, September 15, 2008, 8:36 AM
This happened in Singapore ... BEWARE: TRUE STORY
Since all of us have ATM card(s), I would like to share this important news.
My friend saw a man at Novena MRT ATM trying to get all the receipts out of the ATM bin.
Please read the following message from a friend of mine, it's true.
Please be careful, it's not a joke.......
Be careful when u draw cash from ATM with receipt which complete with your account number.
Never, never throw the receipt in the public bin even if u must tear into small pieces before throwing it away.
Today, just got a call from my sister that she had lost all her cash from her account.
She threw the receipt into the bin provided at ATM recently. ?Luckily, she only has $633/= in her account.
Not
much of suspicious when she was left with $11/- because she thought it
was her petrol GIRO payment, however, that's not true.
She only
got to know it when the petrol company, Mobil cut-off the petrol card's
transaction when she realized something is wrong.
After checking
with the bank, she was told that now there is this syndicate who will
pick up the ATM receipt & with their IT expert, they are able to
draw out your money.
The
bank will not be able to trace where these people had drawn the money
& how they do it, don't ask me, even the bank can't answer it.
They can only advise you to report the case to the police for investigation. ?My sister is the third victim in this month
DON'T THROW YOUR ATM RECEIPT AWAY...
SEND THIS TO All YOU KNOW
?Jeffry Low?
till date, I still see many transaction receipts above the atm machine & on the floor..
some pple must really learn the lesson the hard way..
singapore no more Mobil
Thank goodness, I make it a practice to dispose my receipts at home.
last saw this email like years ago ![]()
still found it quite impossible for such a thing to happen. if it really did, why isn't it on the papers warning the public to be more careful with the atm receipt?
furthermore how are the hackers going to gain access to your bank money when all they have is your bank account number? they do not even have your passbook nor your atm card and they're able to withdraw everything via the internet? if they're able to do this kinda feat, gaining access to your bank account number would be an even easier feat don't you think so?
i should foward an email saying that should you visit some porno website your comp would crash after turning it off. because some IT experts would track your PC down and hack into the system causing it to crash.
Another classic chain letter with the intention to induce fear. With the existing security solution in place, do you think honestly it is really possible for people to withdraw $$$ from other account by just having the account details?
Think about that...
with technology ever changing, dun be suprised that the impossible may just become the possible..
It is never to our disadvantage to be cautious.
even if they are able to do that it will be at the bank's expense.
Originally posted by dragg:even if they are able to do that it will be at the bank's expense.
and we will start protesting and DBS might just start another retrenchment scheme ![]()
now then u know thats like so long ago
never request for receipt before....
just see onscreen the balance good enough ma..
fake story.
fake chain mail from n years ago.
show me a news report on this stuff to debunk me.
TRUE STORY: i saw the guy and gave him my receipt and told him hack my acct la humji kia.. end up 3yrs later.. my acct still not touched.. sian..
Originally posted by randychan83:Another classic chain letter with the intention to induce fear. With the existing security solution in place, do you think honestly it is really possible for people to withdraw $$$ from other account by just having the account details?
Think about that...
x2.
Just having the account number is hardly enough. I fail to see how any monkey can hack into my banking account just because he has my account number. If he has my PIN as well, then I would say that it's a security risk.
That said, it is still good to exercise reasonable caution. When it comes to things like photocopies of ICs or banking statements, the best idea is to shred them before disposal. There's no harm tearing up your banking receipts before discarding them.
Originally posted by PassionInAG:Date: Monday, September 15, 2008, 8:36 AM
This happened in Singapore ... BEWARE: TRUE STORY
Since all of us have ATM card(s), I would like to share this important news.
My friend saw a man at Novena MRT ATM trying to get all the receipts out of the ATM bin.
Please read the following message from a friend of mine, it's true.
Please be careful, it's not a joke.......
Be careful when u draw cash from ATM with receipt which complete with your account number.
Never, never throw the receipt in the public bin even if u must tear into small pieces before throwing it away.
Today, just got a call from my sister that she had lost all her cash from her account.
She threw the receipt into the bin provided at ATM recently. ?Luckily, she only has $633/= in her account.
Not much of suspicious when she was left with $11/- because she thought it was her petrol GIRO payment, however, that's not true.
She only got to know it when the petrol company, Mobil cut-off the petrol card's transaction when she realized something is wrong.
After checking with the bank, she was told that now there is this syndicate who will pick up the ATM receipt & with their IT expert, they are able to draw out your money.
The bank will not be able to trace where these people had drawn the money & how they do it, don't ask me, even the bank can't answer it.
They can only advise you to report the case to the police for investigation. ?My sister is the third victim in this month
DON'T THROW YOUR ATM RECEIPT AWAY...
SEND THIS TO All YOU KNOW
?Jeffry Low?
your fren probably spent her money while sleepwalking. Or she simply forgot where she spent it on.
i always choose no want receipt.
I doubt with the ATM receipt you are able to withdraw money from the specific account.
Anyway, I don't anyhow throw my ATM receipt, not cos I scare but I don't want to be caught littering.
Take receipt for what lor.
Waste paper.
siao then my Mass Orders (in HWZ EDMW) and online sprees ho say liao. they got ask for moi acc lumber in case got refunds ... ...
anyway take receipt for wad, make my wallet thick when it is thin as it has no money inside ;(.
real bor... I always use the receipts to pick my dog's poo poo...
It says a lot about you if you believe chain mails.
i dun take receipts.. i see alot of ppl just see and throw it away. isn't that a waste of paper?