How often is the training n for how long? What do u do each time?
Training for guys n girls r different is it?
Can tell us more about it? Is it very physically demanding?
yes. it is physically demanding..
expect more than 300 push up per training session.
for me... remember back in school days... 1356 train train train... near competition... 123456 usually last for 4 weeks...
Physically demanding... SIBEI Demanding...
-Run >2.4km before going into waters...
-Push up 100x
-Get to water, row for 5km...
At the end of the day.... SIBEI SHIOK!
This kind of sport not for ah bui... unless you are determine!!! ........................................... that the boat won't sink... lol...
Originally posted by Black Kettle:How often is the training n for how long? What do u do each time?
Training for guys n girls r different is it?
Can tell us more about it? Is it very physically demanding? <!-- / message -->
Yes...
It was pretty much of a hell....
Circuit training plus running 5km on weekdays.....But i got used to it....
Water training plus running on weekends and rowing practice too....
However, I couldn't commit in the long run due to clashes with my school timetable 'cos everday got training....very stressed...Haha
waaa train so many times per week? then arm muscles wont ache ah from all that rowing??
its insane... lol
Yea it's very demanding. Unless you are very disciplined and manage your time properly, chances are that your results will slip becasue you will be really shagged after your training especially at the beginning and during competition season.I know this because I have of a couple of schoolmates who are so into their CCA that they flopped their exams and had to retake/retain at the end othe year
But in the end, it's still up to you.
Originally posted by Black Kettle:waaa train so many times per week? then arm muscles wont ache ah from all that rowing??
its insane... lol
It sounds insane but I like it. Imagine 20-odd rowing together on a boat... Though sounds lame but it's adrenaline pumping action bro...
Fwah, dragonboat is damn hiong.
The way they attack those weights... damn scary. Most of them become damn buff after a while. But as usual, they grades drop.
2 Hyphotheses.
1. Bad time management, and training requirements of Dragonboat and canoeing causes them to slip in grades.
2. Bigger muscles, less brains. Nutrients (proteins etc) normally meant for brain development gets sapped to replenish and repair torn or worn out muscles. Brain's processing capacity reduces.
I don't know which one is true, but I've rarely seen dragonboat rowers or canoeists that score straight A's. Other sports yes, but not these two.
I'm in dragonboat and I can say that what matters is which u prioritize
Studies or Dragonboat first
As for delays in brain development because you're involved in a sport that involves weight lifting- protein shakes help to cancel that out.
Originally posted by 2cansam:I'm in dragonboat and I can say that what matters is which u prioritize
Studies or Dragonboat first
As for delays in brain development because you're involved in a sport that involves weight lifting- protein shakes help to cancel that out.
care to share about ur training? how often do u train per week n what do u normally do?
My dragonboat seniors also sacrificed the studies for this sport...
I mean it's not really worth it...Looking at the wide picture...at the end of the day...
If you have good results...you have higher chance of employability, good jobs with stable incomes awaits you...can support yourself and family in the future...
If you are good only in DB and nothing else, is it good for your resume? At most they say you are very sociable, can get along with peers easily etc...
I feel Singapore is a meritocratic country and everything involves good grades no matter where you go...so as far as possible, achieve a balance...
the 肌肉男 club!!!
Originally posted by Shotgun:The way they attack those weights... damn scary. Most of them become damn buff after a while. But as usual, they grades drop.
2 Hyphotheses.
1. Bad time management, and training requirements of Dragonboat and canoeing causes them to slip in grades.
2. Bigger muscles, less brains. Nutrients (proteins etc) normally meant for brain development gets sapped to replenish and repair torn or worn out muscles. Brain's processing capacity reduces.
I don't know which one is true, but I've rarely seen dragonboat rowers or canoeists that score straight A's. Other sports yes, but not these two.
Num 2 hor... not true hor
Num 1 is more likely
One thing I noticed about dragonboat guys... After they are gone from the team/school, they still weight train. However, they train mostly the upper body, and less of the lower body. No idea why...
Originally posted by eagle:One thing I noticed about dragonboat guys... After they are gone from the team/school, they still weight train. However, they train mostly the upper body, and less of the lower body. No idea why...
Train the upper body so hands got more strength to train lower body...
I think after intense physical training while your muscle recovers you'll feel too tired and lethargic to study and so your grades start to die
Originally posted by eagle:One thing I noticed about dragonboat guys... After they are gone from the team/school, they still weight train. However, they train mostly the upper body, and less of the lower body. No idea why...
For outer appearance. Training Upper body shows result quicker than lower body.
Because when we paddle...we use our abdomen to move our paddles... We dun use much of hands because paddling with just our hands will tire out easily.... Afterall we sit when we paddle so not much of lower body movement.....More of the upper abdomen...Hence we train with medicine balls to build up strength at our obliques...so we can flex more easily.
this is a high profile cca.
if you join.you will be popular iin school.
Originally posted by knightlll:
For outer appearance. Training Upper body shows result quicker than lower body.
Originally posted by lianamaster:
Because when we paddle...we use our abdomen to move our paddles... We dun use much of hands because paddling with just our hands will tire out easily.... Afterall we sit when we paddle so not much of lower body movement.....More of the upper abdomen...Hence we train with medicine balls to build up strength at our obliques...so we can flex more easily.
Ya.... No offence, but in the end, what I see is a bulk of mass on top of skinny legs.... In bodybuilding magazines, such people are termed as having chicken legs; upper torso big but lower torso small.
In addition, I see this as having a body of imbalances. Not good in my opinion.
Originally posted by eagle:
Ya.... No offence, but in the end, what I see is a bulk of mass on top of skinny legs.... In bodybuilding magazines, such people are termed as having chicken legs; upper torso big but lower torso small.
In addition, I see this as having a body of imbalances. Not good in my opinion.
I do take offence at that. "Chicken legs" or otherwise, true sportsmen are not as concerned about their appearance as their abilities. Moreover why would canoeists bother about what bodybuilders think?
However I will concede to you that the lower body must be trained to balance the upper body. This is what many canoeing and dragonboat teams neglect.
Originally posted by crimson soldier:
I do take offence at that. "Chicken legs" or otherwise, true sportsmen are not as concerned about their appearance as their abilities. Moreover why would canoeists bother about what bodybuilders think?
However I will concede to you that the lower body must be trained to balance the upper body. This is what many canoeing and dragonboat teams neglect.
Maybe I wasn't clear earlier... but dragon boaters are still ok when they are in the CCA.
I saw them do runs and sprints to train up their cardiovascular systems, so their legs are still trained in a way. Overall was still ok.
It's after they quit the CCA, and continued their own training themselves, that they neglect lower body training. That's where such imbalances come in. Maybe not all neglect, but most do...
On the other hand, basketball, soccer and rugby players do train themselves well overall in the weights room while in CCA on top of sprints and runs.
Seriously , is dragon-boating fun ? I prefer sports whereby you can score , need to be physically fit & there are strategies involved in the game.