been in sydney for a year and only had two racially motivated attacks; and in both instances they were done by kids under 18...
once i was with my indo-chinese friends and this beat up car loaded with kids drove past and the girl stuck her head outta the window and yelled something at us...
another time i was walking to school by myself and there was a bunch of kids walking towards me in my direction. then as i was passing the group, one of the boys stepped into my path and rammed his shoulder into mine...
My condolences.....
I had an experience...although I am not sure what was the motive....
I was riding in a car with my relative, a distant uncle, somewhere in Australia, I cannot remember now, I think Sydney or nearby...it was a red light stop......suddenly a group of young males in a car next to us, threw their drinks and made obscene gestures and yelled...and then sped away when the light turned green and the cars started moving.
I was abit shocked but my uncle didnt seem to react. Maybe it was common or a kind of road culture there..? I mean just from this thread there are several others victims of this road rage. Such thing would never happen in Singapore.
Originally posted by Ed11790:ya when i was in junior high school…..........black people always pick on us chinese group…..and picking fights with us after school for no reason…..
Black ppl picking fights with Chinese? They watch too much Bruce Lee movies already.
Originally posted by saline:i was called “little sushi”, “Chinaman” in Australia.
Next time, call them convict descendents (of course ONLY to those who make racist remarks lah).
Slightly fair skinned Indian here. Never experienced any racism in Europe (France & Belgium) or anywhere else. If I do experience any, I will make sure I use my mauy thai skills. haha... =D
Here's my sister's story:
When she was with a baby strapped to her back and buying ice cream at Hawaii.
The moment the service staff finish serving a obvious Chinawoman who didnt leave any tips and take about a full container of napkins and collecting her ice cream.
My sister was ignored for a long time, kept standing at the counter during her turn and the staff pretends they are busy or never sees her. Only when no choice, when other caucasian people coming into the shop to buy ice cream and was very polite to indicate that my sister was there first. Then the staff reluctanty start to serve my sister.
Another was a incident she sees at a theme park, lets imagine it Disneyland.
A group of PRCs sat at the cafe, ordered stuffs and then proceed to remove all the napkins from the container at the ordering counter. Lady server was so angry she shouted at the group of people to take only what they need! Not all of it!
And of course, they never did cleared their table and left the mess to be cleaned up by the cafe staff.
You guys really need to stop being so paranoid. Yes, a bunch of kids yelled and made obscene gestures directed at you can't possibly be because they're rowdy teens, it has to be racism, no other explanation. Just because you're Asian doesn't mean that whenever somebody mistreats you it's because of that reason. Seriously, annoying douchebags do that to everyone regardless of ethnicity, especially the younger ones trying to look 'cool' and 'tough' in front of their equally retarded friends.
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Next time, call them convict descendents (of course ONLY to those who make racist remarks lah).
Yes, because fighting racism with more racism is always the right way to go.
Originally posted by elindra:The discrimination I faced before was by this one University lecturer who gave all the Asian students a really lousy grade or failed them.
Of coz we banded together and lodged a complain but apart from that nothing much really.
oh, I can identify with that .....
such things are the most vicious and most difficult to fight against, cos it's something hard to prove, especially when the course has a subjective component ....
even in the work place too .... now you know why I spat the dummy and came back ...
i have always wonder how the eastern ang mohs(those from russia, eastern europe and Germany) views us asians. Are they as racists as those in the west?
Some are racists, in their own way, not the kind we are familar with.
Eg.
Work in a german company. You will never see a asian ascending to VP level or Senior Management Level.
Same with some American Companies. Its fairly subtle so you wont actually see that they leave only angmohs as senior management. Or that the local engineers that are doing great things for the company, are receiving pay package then a new greenhorn angmoh in the same post.
And they never allow the angmohs to be the subordinate. Give a excuse to say they are there to learn.
Russia is closed to China, and their living standards not as good as China people, so they have some respect for Asians.
my friend was outstation in australia.
some young punks yelled, "go back to your country, you chink!!!" or something to that effect.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Here's my sister's story:
When she was with a baby strapped to her back and buying ice cream at Hawaii.
The moment the service staff finish serving a obvious Chinawoman who didnt leave any tips and take about a full container of napkins and collecting her ice cream.
My sister was ignored for a long time, kept standing at the counter during her turn and the staff pretends they are busy or never sees her. Only when no choice, when other caucasian people coming into the shop to buy ice cream and was very polite to indicate that my sister was there first. Then the staff reluctanty start to serve my sister.
Another was a incident she sees at a theme park, lets imagine it Disneyland.
A group of PRCs sat at the cafe, ordered stuffs and then proceed to remove all the napkins from the container at the ordering counter. Lady server was so angry she shouted at the group of people to take only what they need! Not all of it!
And of course, they never did cleared their table and left the mess to be cleaned up by the cafe staff.
Yes , a tip will make a differences .
I was in france and the cab driver gave a snobbish attitude. When I reach the hotel , I gave a big tip and the attitude changed completely . He asked me very politely if he can send me back or any other things I need.
here is one from me:
i've been told by chinese-singaporeans that i cannot be Chinese because i hold a Canadian passport. that was in sec 4.
the obscene gestures etc, i'm all too familiar with. this one was just.............
Originally posted by udontknowme:here is one from me:
i've been told by chinese-singaporeans that i cannot be Chinese because i hold a Canadian passport. that was in sec 4.the obscene gestures etc, i'm all too familiar with. this one was just.............
well udonie .... the ironic thing is that I've encountered Singaporeans who pretend NOT to be Singaporeans both here in Singapore, and overseas too .... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:well udonie .... the ironic thing is that I've encountered Singaporeans who pretend NOT to be Singaporeans both here in Singapore, and overseas too ....
eh?!
then they pretend to be who?!
americans?! ![]()
and how do they do it?!
go round telling people?
Cough....plenty who want to pretend otherwise.
Got plenty of Indian fellas, came from India, pretending to be angmohs.
One pretended to be a caucasian american doing his NS in Singapore because he got Singapore parents. Actual fact, his family is from India PR in Singapore. He doing National Service so can become Singaporean, then he wants to go US to study.
Another one I encountered is a young teenage boy in UK. He keep insisting he is from the United Kingdom and gave us a impression that he is English. Actual fact his parents are from Sri Lanka. And yes, he is born in UK so that made him English?
Anyway, I acknowledge myself as Singaporean Chinese, in japan speak its "Singaporu Chu kok ku Jin". Direct translation is Singapore China person.
Wah lau eh - why all so tai ji liao liao one? ![]()
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:
eh?!then they pretend to be who?!
americans?!
and how do they do it?!
go round telling people?
one local example ...
http://sgforums.com/forums/1769/topics/324825
it's amazing the number of young people here who speaks with a terrible, confused, quasi american slang though the furthest and longest they might have been overseas might have been that 7 days vacation in perth ...
speaking of overseas examples, there's this fellow I met in pluto ... right from the start, at the dinner party, I thought there was something odd about the fellow, seemed cold, hostile even, and he spoke with that extremely affected, exaggerated accent some asians living in ang moh countries use on their own kind whom they thought were FOBs .....
twas only later I realized, when someone else told me about it, that the chap was originally from Singapore too ...
I guess he might have been afraid of being found out about whatever bullshit he's been telling other people about Singapore ...
I will always remember this story of this Singapore Backpacker.
She was in some hostel at some angmoh country.
Two angmoh girls was asking her where she is from. They didnt understand Singapore, so Singapore girl try to suggest that Singapore is south of Thailand and Malaysia.
Two angmoh girls then gives her knowing looks.
Much later Singapore girl realised that the two angmoh girls have associated Thailand with prostitutions and thus regard Singapore as part of Thailand's....
I speak with angmoh twang!
Ok.....in Seattle, fren was pointing out that I use Singlish speak and I can never be mistaken for American. (Errr....do I really want to be American? Why didnt anyone consider that I am happy as a tourist?)
However, I kinda remember its because of the time spent with someone else at Sandiego that I managed to be able to speak Singlish in Angmoh land.