Hi all
I am going to change my spec soon. The current one has been used for 2 years already.
So any advise where should I go to check my eyesight, I heard that the checkup at those optical shops are quite lousy. An article on newspaper also mentioned that before.
So anyone have any experience going to any checkup in hospital or by optical expert.
I have done one in China hospital, need to put 2 different kind of don't know what liquid to my eye one after another, kind of complicated. haha.
Don't know is it costly to do the samething here.
Last time I needed to make specs, I went to the optician, you know the many many you can find at neighbourhood areas that makes specs as expensive as you want.![]()
u can go register at singapore eye centre to check eyesight
the appt date will be about 1 year later
u got to wait approx 2 hours before ur number is called
then u probably have to wait for another hour at some other room
if nothing major, u just need to wait for another 15 mins to make payment and next appt date
all these will cost about $70+........................................................ nia.
70 bucks!
I could get 3 cheap pairs of specs made and have change left for 2 extra value meals.
And get my eyes checked as well, 3 times. 4 times without the 2 extra value meals.![]()
wat to do.. optical shops are lousy.
Well, I think if you pay peanuts, you should expect monkeys.![]()
Are your eyes that special that ordinary optical shops cant do?
will the ordinary neighbourhood shops show unhappiness if i only go for eyes check but do not buy the specs from them??? i just need the results as i am intending to get my specs from another country...or will it be ok if i just get the lenses from them with my own frame??
i think u can just pay for the check oni
shd be $10 or $15
definitely not infront of the wok cooking the char kway teow. ![]()
Originally posted by Display Name:Hi all
I am going to change my spec soon. The current one has been used for 2 years already.
So any advise where should I go to check my eyesight, I heard that the checkup at those optical shops are quite lousy. An article on newspaper also mentioned that before.
So anyone have any experience going to any checkup in hospital or by optical expert.
I have done one in China hospital, need to put 2 different kind of don't know what liquid to my eye one after another, kind of complicated. haha.
Don't know is it costly to do the samething here.
depending on which shop you go to there may be a big difference in standards. there are optical shops which can provide better eyechecks than hospitals others i've seen or heard about don't even know what they're doing.
if its the same article i'm thinking about the results showed unschooled opticians to do even better than highly educated optometrist.
depending on the area usually they like your face the shop might not charge you if not will charge 10-30++ depending on who's checking. optom usually charge 30. just ask nicely. if making glasses usually don't charge.
you can also choose to go to an eye clinic to pay the amount stated by fireice. then most probably unless you're a big fuck you'll get either an optom or a nurse to test for you. judging by the fact you're posting here i think you can only expect that liao. unlikely the doctor come out to test for you.
if its just eyesight something must be wrong if you need eyedrops before an eyetest.
by right the procedues for the eyetest should be the same no matter where you go unless your eyes so special, as a person who wear glasses you comfirm can feel it if the tester trying to be funny.
Originally posted by knock-knock:will the ordinary neighbourhood shops show unhappiness if i only go for eyes check but do not buy the specs from them??? i just need the results as i am intending to get my specs from another country...or will it be ok if i just get the lenses from them with my own frame??
depends on the shop right? some ok some not. if you buying from them they ok free check not a problem.
if paying for check no reason for them to be angry also.
if you brought glasses before usually previous shop willing to provide free check to ex-customers. most shops i know will keep records.
yes its ok if you want to buy frame or lenses only. but own frame at own risks if broken.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:depends on the shop right? some ok some not. if you buying from them they ok free check not a problem.
if paying for check no reason for them to be angry also.
if you brought glasses before usually previous shop willing to provide free check to ex-customers. most shops i know will keep records.
yes its ok if you want to buy frame or lenses only. but own frame at own risks if broken.
thanks for reply. but i dunno of any shops who provide eye checking services with a result slip or something like that.
and is it worth it buying the lenses only?? cause usually when buying with both frames and lenses will much cheaper. if buy lenses only will be not much cheaper right?
Originally posted by knock-knock:thanks for reply. but i dunno of any shops who provide eye checking services with a result slip or something like that.
and is it worth it buying the lenses only?? cause usually when buying with both frames and lenses will much cheaper. if buy lenses only will be not much cheaper right?
can just ask, should be don't mind writing down for you if you're their customer unless you go in want free eyecheck to go other place to do. but still depends on the shop lah, most i see before quite ok if you want the degree. but you're talking about the manual check right?
eh? price wise hard to say leh, if you're talking about neighbourhood area it depends on how thick your skin is and your bargaining skills haha.
one of my friends told me he got his glasses(1.67index, his degree quite high) in boon lay for only $60++ . he told me he just go in and straight away say, "i want the cheapest" after that bargain all the way until the uncle give up.
my mom got her bi focals for only 28 in ang mo kio after saying the same thing haha
but if you're looking at lenses alone whats your degree? what type of lenses do you need?
Originally posted by FireIce:i think u can just pay for the check oni
shd be $10 or $15
but then still need to wait for 1 year???
SNEC, they throughly check your eyes and presecribe the correct degrees and the right spectacles shop to go to.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:can just ask, should be don't mind writing down for you if you're their customer unless you go in want free eyecheck to go other place to do. but still depends on the shop lah, most i see before quite ok if you want the degree. but you're talking about the manual check right?
eh? price wise hard to say leh, if you're talking about neighbourhood area it depends on how thick your skin is and your bargaining skills haha.
one of my friends told me he got his glasses(1.67index, his degree quite high) in boon lay for only $60++ . he told me he just go in and straight away say, "i want the cheapest" after that bargain all the way until the uncle give up.
my mom got her bi focals for only 28 in ang mo kio after saying the same thing haha
but if you're looking at lenses alone whats your degree? what type of lenses do you need?
actually i dun mind paying around 10 bucks for the eyecheck, but i think that most shops will still be unhappy if u just go for eyecheck and not buying anything from them. and yup, i do need the degree and other factors for making specs such as astigmatism, etc.
$60 is the whole set or just the lenses only???
bring my friend christopher tan as well please.
Originally posted by knock-knock:
actually i dun mind paying around 10 bucks for the eyecheck, but i think that most shops will still be unhappy if u just go for eyecheck and not buying anything from them. and yup, i do need the degree and other factors for making specs such as astigmatism, etc.
$60 is the whole set or just the lenses only???
it depends on the shop or should i say the mood of the people in the shop. there are shops which are willing to do free tests and give the prescription.if you're willing to pay for the eyecheck i believe you're entitled to the prescription. just ask before doing anything. if shop not busy you pay 15-20 bucks for test also is business to them, not reason to turn you down. but make sure you go for manual test not they use computer zap 2 time charge you 20 bucks.
haha and one sneaky way i've seen before was to go in and ask random questions about your eyes then once friendly liao you start saying your eyes uncomfortable wonder if got any problem, if the guy nice maybe offer to check for you and after that ask if can keep the prescription.
he told me 60 for the whole set, i thought the price was superb. i see the same stuff(lens only) going for 100-200++ in jurong point
but the uncle told him all is MIC one so can do the price.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:it depends on the shop or should i say the mood of the people in the shop. there are shops which are willing to do free tests and give the prescription.if you're willing to pay for the eyecheck i believe you're entitled to the prescription. just ask before doing anything. if shop not busy you pay 15-20 bucks for test also is business to them, not reason to turn you down. but make sure you go for manual test not they use computer zap 2 time charge you 20 bucks.
haha and one sneaky way i've seen before was to go in and ask random questions about your eyes then once friendly liao you start saying your eyes uncomfortable wonder if got any problem, if the guy nice maybe offer to check for you and after that ask if can keep the prescription.
he told me 60 for the whole set, i thought the price was superb. i see the same stuff(lens only) going for 100-200++ in jurong point
but the uncle told him all is MIC one so can do the price.
oh ok. thanks alot for ur reply man. i'll try to ask. but then does all shops give prescription?? so far i went to about 5 shops and none of them will give the prescription slip. btw, wats MIC?? lol.
Originally posted by knock-knock:oh ok. thanks alot for ur reply man. i'll try to ask. but then does all shops give prescription?? so far i went to about 5 shops and none of them will give the prescription slip. btw, wats MIC?? lol.
made in china.
prescription wise if you're going to make lens liao then just buy lens and test there lor after that get them to write down prescription .
5 shops? which place you live?
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:made in china.
prescription wise if you're going to make lens liao then just buy lens and test there lor after that get them to write down prescription .
5 shops? which place you live?
oh. hope i meet some good store owners then. lol. i stay in the north btw.
Originally posted by knock-knock:
oh. hope i meet some good store owners then. lol. i stay in the north btw.
just talk to them like they own the whole street lor haha