Just got my new passport after ten years using the previous one. Things are so different now.
1. Sent them my nice nice coloured photo. When I collected, it became black and white.
2. My passport number no longer same as my NRIC nbr. Like that how to remember?
3. Have to renew every five years wor. Five years very fast one leh. Wait I forget to renew and am going for holiday. How?
4. Have to be very careful with the new passport cuz it contains a chip and atenna embedded in the data page (they call it Biopass). Hence have to treat with due care like any portable electronic device ie by ensuring that it does not become wet, bent or mutilated.
uhh.. been like that for a couple of years already..
the 5 years is to follow the ICAO standard... so did the rest of the stuff...
still, at $70 or $80 depending on how you applied for your passport, it's one of the cheapest in the world and probably the fastest waiting time ![]()
yeah, but i dun like tt they dun do the 64 pg anymore....
I rmb when i went to collect my passort. The staff .. "eh, where ur passport, lemme find?" 5 mins later, realised tt it was on the table all along give me the paiseh look ...
Yes, the only complaint is the long chain of passort number ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:uhh.. been like that for a couple of years already..
the 5 years is to follow the ICAO standard... so did the rest of the stuff...
still, at $70 or $80 depending on how you applied for your passport, it's one of the cheapest in the world and probably the fastest waiting time
ya, actually very convenient. I did it over the internet. Collected it within a week or so.
So easy meh, just have to send them a passport photo, and money? No strings attached?![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:So easy meh, just have to send them a passport photo, and money? No strings attached?
No, just have to wait 3-5 working days for them to send you a letter, informing you that your passport is ready for collection ![]()
hAHA... my passport nos. damn nice
E0888XX8E
like dat i cannot rmbr, will die man XD
Are you sure you want to put it up for all to see?
My condolences....
You better erase or edit it.
If I were u, I would have erased that. These kind of things are not supposed to be posted online.
Yah, I rather you post your own IC number.![]()
theres an antenna inside. Cham...can be tracked any where you go.
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Just got my new passport after ten years using the previous one. Things are so different now.
1. Sent them my nice nice coloured photo. When I collected, it became black and white.
2. My passport number no longer same as my NRIC nbr. Like that how to remember?
3. Have to renew every five years wor. Five years very fast one leh. Wait I forget to renew and am going for holiday. How?
4. Have to be very careful with the new passport cuz it contains a chip and atenna embedded in the data page (they call it Biopass). Hence have to treat with due care like any portable electronic device ie by ensuring that it does not become wet, bent or mutilated.
Why would you want to remember your passport number? Is there the need to remember it?
I just collected my new passport not long ago, when the staff handed over the new passport for me to sign, the biopass page was already slightly bended, and that makes the whole passport slightly bended as well.
One more thing to add, ICA doesn't encourage people to pay the passport fee by cash. Look at the application form, it mentions all sort of payment methods but does not mention the cash payment. That time I gave the female staff two $50 notes, she asked me: "You don't have cashcard", I replied no, she still can asked me: "Then you don't have $70 exactly?" (If I have $70, I would have give you already right!) Can see that she was not happy when I paid in cash. When everything was done, she placed the passport and other stuffs on the counter then straightaway press the next number. Very poor service attitude.
Five years validity, but must renew after four and a half years.
Is there any difference between a guy and a girl when doing the passport ? ... Because guy got still need to fullfill reservist ....
Originally posted by Ice Dive:Is there any difference between a guy and a girl when doing the passport ? ... Because guy got still need to fullfill reservist ....
got lah... when u apply for passport b4 enlistment....
www.ns.sg the pre-enlist section there...
i've recently changed mine...its a hassle but hopefully coming back home the next time would be easier coz of the biopass scan
you will like it when travelling through US. Makes life easy for everyone
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Are you sure you want to put it up for all to see?
i oni put what's dere for u to see, nice nos.
rest... go guess lor...
oni passport nos. no (my) full name + NRIC + DOB + DOE + thumbprint,
i scared urgh... ...
ROFL...
but one sad thing... ...
5 yr l8r dis passport nos. gonna change ... sobb....
My colleague said she just changed new NRIC. She said when turns 30 years old, muz renew IC. Got such regulation ah?
Anyway, she said very fast. On the same day she got it.
TQ to USA and the terrorists
why cannot use ic number as passport number?
Originally posted by Honeybunz:My colleague said she just changed new NRIC. She said when turns 30 years old, muz renew IC. Got such regulation ah?
Got. It's on ICA website. But ICA doesn't state why need to change at 30 years old.