or is it just me
the winds are pretty strong over the past few days..
monsoon season hence the wind...
good ma..
i love it..
y no snow?
Originally posted by QX179R:the winds are pretty strong over the past few days.
x2
Originally posted by Cool-gal:good ma..
i love it..
y no snow?
ya, at least its cooling even if the weather is hot..
i'm enjoying every min of the wind while it lasts..
winter coming
no wonder when i was cycling to work northwards nowadays very hard to cycle i was cycling against wind direction...suay me..
but returning from work quite easy ![]()
was walking to the mrt stn yesterday evening, can feel I'm walking against the wind as well..
the invisible force..
The wind was so cold when I was walking home earlier.
omg the winds are extremely scary for the past week, so hard to walk around loh
Is it equinox or solitice?
Uncommon strong winds in Singapore
SINGAPORE: One person said it
has become so difficult to play tennis, while another is putting off
plans to go on a picnic. Singapore Polytechnic has even decided, for
safety reasons, to take down two banners after one was blown away.
Some feathers have certainly been ruffled by the winds in Singapore
this week. In a country where the average wind speed is around 15 to 20
kilometres per hour, it has reached the time of the year when that
figure goes up to 30 to 40 kmh.
Yesterday and on Wednesday, when this newspaper checked the National
Environment Agency’s website, which lists a range of forecasts such as
fair, cloudy and rain, there was only one outlook for all five
districts and 45 town areas — windy.
And while strong winds are not uncommon when there are thunderstorms,
it has been "generally fair" with rainfall "below average across the
whole island", noted the NEA on its website.
That has been good news for event coordinator Michelle Ting, 19, who
told TODAY: "I think it’s awesome. I don’t mind going out more even
though it’s sunny, as it’s not so hot." Others, though, who prefer the
sunnier side of Singapore have lamented that it’s as cold outdoors as
it is in their offices.
Temperatures have dropped to lows of 24 degrees Celsius and will stay that way, according to the NEA’s latest three—day outlook.
In its fortnightly outlook, which it posted yesterday, the NEA said:
"Moderate North—east Monsoon conditions should continue to prevail with
Singapore experiencing occasionally windy conditions."
During this period, showers with thunder in the afternoon can be
expected on four to five days, while stronger north—east winds may
bring moderate to occasionally heavy rain on two to three days.
The agency told TODAY that between December to March, stronger winds
over the South China Sea and parts of the region are caused when
"occasional surges of cold air" head this way from northern China.
"The impact of the high pressure system is windy conditions across the
island as we have been having the past couple of days," said the NEA.
In Thailand, the cold snap has been severe and news reports on
Wednesday said temperatures have fallen to 2 degrees Celsius in the
north, killing five people and prompting the authorities to declare an
emergency zone across half the country.
In Singapore, some say they are falling ill. "As it is sometimes hot and sometimes cold, I had a sore throat and my daughter had high fever," said housewife Maimunah A Hamid, 56.
But for the most part, the weather has been a light—hearted topic of
discussion. Operations assistant Haslinda Md Yasin, 33, said she is
pleased that the wind is drying her laundry faster than usual.
Marketing executive Jasmine Yuan, meanwhile, told TODAY: "The winds are
crazy. We were walking for a bit outdoors and our hair is being messed
up... Until the winds improve, I’ll not do my hair." — TODAY/fa
its been pretty windy, colddddddddddddddddddd
nice wad windy leh
yup...almost my whole class kena fever and cough...
so sad la...
what are the chances it'll still be like this in May/June/July?????!!!
y complain?
such a nice weather...
ur classmates so weak..
take more fruits la..
Originally posted by sexy girls:
Marketing executive Jasmine Yuan, meanwhile, told TODAY: "The winds are crazy. We were walking for a bit outdoors and our hair is being messed up... Until the winds improve, I’ll not do my hair." — TODAY/fa
stupid, thats all she cares about?
lol.. she vain lor
Originally posted by Cool-gal:y complain?
such a nice weather...
ur classmates so weak..
take more fruits la..
its easy to say that lo...
every creature on earth are sure get affected if their environment keeps on changing every few hours or so...
It's still not as cold as back in the 70's and 80's. Back then, the Dec months evening, sometimes the temperature drops to low 20's and have to wear fleece clothing. Nowadays, the temperature rarely drops below 25.