Just curious, but for those who know, what do you need to be a teacher in kindergarten?
need to go poly and take up some diploma course in childcare education or something?
also, what does the course teaches?
recently, i started to discover myself and that i actually like little kids so much! those under 5 yrs old, or even 3 - 4 years old, are so cute! everytime when i see them, i suddendly forget all my worries and troubles etc, not to mention playing with them.
i can spend 1 whole week doing nothing but playing with them!
but then, for a guy to become a kindergarten teacher is very weird, because people tend to think that:
1) you're a paedophile (seriously, those **** paedophiles have given people like me a bad name and people now are wary of guys who likes kids)
2) you've no backbone, no ambition, a loser in life etc.
anyway, i'm already 25 yrs old liao, now working in office type of corporate life and i dread it. And 25 yrs old go to poly and study childcare with mainly 16 - 18 yr old girls is the weirdest **** in the world.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:Just curious, but for those who know, what do you need to be a teacher in kindergarten?
need to go poly and take up some diploma course in childcare education or something?
recently, i started to discover myself and that i actually like little kids so much! those under 5 yrs old, or even 3 - 4 years old, are so cute! everytime when i see them, i suddendly forget all my worries and troubles etc, not to mention playing with them.
but then, for a guy to become a kindergarten teacher is very weird, because people tend to think that:
1) you're a paedophile (seriously, those **** paedophiles have given people like me a bad name and people now are wary of guys who likes kids)
anyway, i'm already 25 yrs old liao, now working in office type of corporate life and i dread it. And 25 yrs old go to poly and study childcare with mainly 16 - 18 yr old girls is the weirdest **** in the world.
The fastest/easiest/least stressful way to go into kindergarten teaching is just to take up a CPT (Certificate, preschool teaching) with any private school. As for what you will learn, let me just copy-and-paste. Is up to your own interests and passion if you want to take this route, as long as you have a clear conscience don't need to worry unduly about what others think.
http://www.modern-montessori.com/tt_c_cpt.htm
salary in kindergarden is the lower end across the whole education sector... as reported in the newspaper...
more info, go here: www.wda.gov.sg
http://app2.wda.gov.sg/web/Contents/Contents.aspx?ContId=718
http://app2.wda.gov.sg/web/Contents/Contents.aspx?ContId=717
thanks all! but for kindergarten teaching, what's the salary like? got anywhere near S$1550? Or maybe in the S$1700 range?
although the career seems good, but reality is almost important mah. :-D
bt u're a pervert leh...
kitty no happy dun send ur child to his centre lor
i think u shd not even think about this...................
Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:kitty no happy dun send ur child to his centre lor
me hv to protect all kids!
I wanted to but manage to find out that the pay is very very low
Originally posted by Nikar 3:thanks all! but for kindergarten teaching, what's the salary like? got anywhere near S$1550? Or maybe in the S$1700 range?
although the career seems good, but reality is almost important mah. :-D
No, not even $1500
Originally posted by Fantagf:No, not even $1500
Yes. That would depend on the scale of the centre and how many kids there is. If you go to neighbourhood small set ups, expect only about plus minus 1.2k, but that's because you will probably be working only half days, and will be expected to take care of the kids (vomit, pee, tantrums, ear splitting tempers) more than actually teaching.
However, if you do get a position at one of the bigger franchised preschool education centres, your salary will be adjusted accordingly to your qualifications, 1.8k upwards if you're lucky, but do remember that such centres have reputations, syallabuses to follow and certain teaching 'styles' you have to adhere to. Do note that competition for such places are inevitably fiercer.
ya ya ya
dun 误人å�弟
Originally posted by FireIce:ya ya ya
dun 误人å�弟
thanks all.....hmmm......salary a bit low leh....S$1.2k not even enough to survive.
but this career, considering that it's only half-day or so, is good in future if i have a high-paying job.
definitely good.
work yourself up and become principal...
then open your own kindergarten franchise!
good business!
...but you must make sure you dont quit on the first day and go back home after lunch without telling anybody ![]()
yee, yucks, somebody still bearing grudge, so damn ugly character
Originally posted by nightsky87:Yes. That would depend on the scale of the centre and how many kids there is. If you go to neighbourhood small set ups, expect only about plus minus 1.2k, but that's because you will probably be working only half days, and will be expected to take care of the kids (vomit, pee, tantrums, ear splitting tempers) more than actually teaching.
However, if you do get a position at one of the bigger franchised preschool education centres, your salary will be adjusted accordingly to your qualifications, 1.8k upwards if you're lucky, but do remember that such centres have reputations, syallabuses to follow and certain teaching 'styles' you have to adhere to. Do note that competition for such places are inevitably fiercer.
I have enquired a few and those are full time positions and paying below $1500. Did not go to those franchised preschools.
it's not a half day work...
the rest of the time u need to prepare lessons, do craftwork (like making 3D flowers, draw elephants and make a life-size letter "G" that kinda thing) and attend to parents complaints
Originally posted by Fantagf:I have enquired a few and those are full time positions and paying below $1500. Did not go to those franchised preschools.
Yep, 1.5k, your take home pay is 1.2k about there mah. But FI is right, classroom prep takes up a lot of time. And being a preschool teacher requires one to be extremely patient and tolerant. Helps to be good at Arts and Crafts as well.
Does TS still wants to be a preschool teacher? the kids won't be cute and cuddly ALL THE TIME, well, most of the time they will be trying to test the limits of your patience, you will be their maid and servant more than being their playmate. If the "cuteness" is the only motivating factor, I think you may like to seriously reconsider your career change.
By the way, you're not allowed to get angry/lose your temper at them hor.
Originally posted by nightsky87:Yep, 1.5k, your take home pay is 1.2k about there mah. But FI is right, classroom prep takes up a lot of time. And being a preschool teacher requires one to be extremely patient and tolerant. Helps to be good at Arts and Crafts as well.
Does TS still wants to be a preschool teacher? the kids won't be cute and cuddly ALL THE TIME, well, most of the time they will be trying to test the limits of your patience, you will be their maid and servant more than being their playmate. If the "cuteness" is the only motivating factor, I think you may like to seriously reconsider your career change.
By the way, you're not allowed to get angry/lose your temper at them hor.
It is a tough job, it is full day and sometimes may have to come back or stay overtime to wash toys, attend meeting.
I have seen how the teachers work in the neighbourhood preschools.
thanks! btw, what about those err.....babysitter jobs?
like their parents need to work, then they bring the kids to my house and i take care of the kid. then, when the parent come home from work, she comes to my house to bring back the kid, and next day, she drops her kid at my home again etc.
last time, my aunt used to do such jobs, but must have connections leh.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:Just curious, but for those who know, what do you need to be a teacher in kindergarten?
You only need a diploma, maybe lesser, and a definite passion for kids.
Sure they're cute, till they start pissing and pooping all over the damn place.
You spend 52 weeks a year playing with them, then see if you still dread it.
Little kids are always cute, coz if they aren't, they won't be called cute little kids.![]()
Don't consider the certificate. Go to RTRC-Asia and take up a diploma in ECH. Diploma holders can now get a starting pay of $1600 - $1800. Btw, for ECH teachers now, you need at least a B4 in english o levels before you're qualified to be one.
P.S. RTRC-Asia isn't a poly. more of like private thing. So you don't have to worry about meeting teenage girls. My lecturers say there are middle aged people attending the diploma course as well.
P.P.S: There are guys in my course! 4 guys. Don't worry too much. Lol.
thanks, but the course expensive? duration how long? u also in RTRC-Asia now?
Originally posted by Nikar 3:thanks! btw, what about those err.....babysitter jobs?
like their parents need to work, then they bring the kids to my house and i take care of the kid. then, when the parent come home from work, she comes to my house to bring back the kid, and next day, she drops her kid at my home again etc.
last time, my aunt used to do such jobs, but must have connections leh.
got connection here in sgf
ask youyayu