Pardon me if this is common knowledge but I just can't find any info here or in other forums:
Is it common or even required by regulation that household electrical wiring have 3 wires including the neutral wire? My electrician is telling me no and that he will need to charge me more to install the neutral wire.
Any advise?
Some house hold products need not have the neutral wire, some products need.
So have to see wad product it is?
Huge household products tht consume alot of electricity like washing machine, refridgerator or the fan, needs the neutral wire.
Live + Neutral + Earth
ur electrical appliance won't work with only a Live or a Neutral but not Earth....
and by the way... get rid of that contractor ![]()
Originally posted by BeRt^.^:and by the way... get rid of that contractor
Hire u ah? Hahah.
Every single circuit must have a neutral wire to return the supply to the main, without neutral the circuit will not be complete, thus ur light or appliances will not function.
A live and neutral is a MUST to complete a circuit. The green/yellow cable can be excluded but at ur own risk.
I advise u to report the electrician to police.
Or u can try Energy Market Authority or Singapore Power. CAll their customer hotline.
cannot.... my schedule very tight ![]()
Originally posted by BeRt^.^:Live + Neutral + Earth
ur electrical appliance won't work with only a Live or a Neutral but not Earth....
The neutral wire for an added safety to the appliance??
Originally posted by Thongboy:Every single circuit must have a neutral wire to return the supply to the main, without neutral the circuit will not be complete, thus ur light or appliances will not function.
A live and neutral is a MUST to complete a circuit. The green/yellow cable can be excluded but at ur own risk.
I advise u to report the electrician to police.
Or u can try Energy Market Authority or Singapore Power. CAll their customer hotline.
Neutral and earth is diff thing leh.
Originally posted by BeRt^.^:cannot.... my schedule very tight
Wah lau, why so busy, no come out. I was near ur area on many occasions.
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:
The neutral wire for an added safety to the appliance??
Earth....
Neutral is for the live to return.... dunno how to explain coz me pass practical but not theory ![]()
and if ur neutral is loose.... then the voltage will become 430 ![]()
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:
Neutral and earth is diff thing leh.
yah... but when using a generator.... neutral can still be used as earth ![]()
To ans directly,
The electrician must provide at least a live and neutral to make the light function at NO EXTRA cost.
U can ask him for his register no. and check out with EMA or PEB, report him if he is not a qualified electrician.
Originally posted by BeRt^.^:Earth....
Neutral is for the live to return.... dunno how to explain coz me pass practical but not theory
and if ur neutral is loose.... then the voltage will become 430
Normal transformer voltage is like 240 volts?
LOOL.
Oh yea, u are right.
the part where Oh yea, u are right. maciam u dun belive me ![]()
-.-" I believe u la.
U are working as this wor, how can i not believe u? ![]()
some appliances don't need the additional topmost pin what...
Originally posted by wonderamazement:some appliances don't need the additional topmost pin what...
Originally posted by BeRt^.^:Live + Neutral + Earth
Earth wire is not necessary for the appliance to work.
It is there as a safety feature.
Originally posted by unclebutcher:
thats for low current appliances or the double insulated one... the one with the square within the square o level physics :D:D
Chapter: Practical Electricity -.-"
I also dunno leh... Me little practical experience ![]()
Don't think I measured any voltage from the mains before ![]()
Originally posted by alas:Is it common or even required by regulation that household electrical wiring have 3 wires including the neutral wire? My electrician is telling me no and that he will need to charge me more to install the neutral wire.
2 wire is as other hv said.. live & neutral.. also mean + - positive/ negative in easy way..is must die die connect this two in order to let electricity to go "into" the applicance then " go back" into the socket..if not the applicance will not "ON" unless that electrician use other colours to use for live/neatural lah..
the 3 wire is mostly total green or wid a streak of yellow line...that is EARTHED.. meaning if short circuit,overloading> your DB switch will trip(off electricity) thus preventing more worst situation..
Normal plug use 13amp, some 15amp..then wire come into play, 1.5mm/2.5mm/3.5mm>
Again, i agree wid what other say, ask the current electrician to F off..get a better electrician.
EDITED:
From socket measure is still 240v bah..just that the 430v is from the sub generator..(not very sure-but think so, cos if 430v go in home applicance will up lorry de..)