hi , im renting a room in river valley road and theres this landlord that is very very unreasonable .
the rent is 1000$ per month + another 1000$ for deposit and there is NO AIRCON or FAN included (the room is at 3rd floor and its very stuff , hot and also mosquitos all around)
theres basic furnitures like bed , sofa and a table and also a wardrobe.
im also checking if the room is a MASTER BED ROOM because it has a private bathroom / toilet.
the room size is quite ok .
ok this is where it goes crazy for me , i found out that the aircon can be switched on WITHOUT the remote controller which he took away from the room .
then i turned it on for the past 2 weeks and now its found out by him .
now he put this paper notice outside my room door saying '' EVERY TIME I CATCH YOU USING THE AIRCON I WILL DEDUCT 300$ FROM UR DEPOSIT ''
then also he said if anything is missing he will deduct from my deposit also . (completely UNFAIR TO ME)
theres also 8 people living in the house and other rooms btw .
he now is using the deposit to PRESSURE ME!
everytime i do something he dislikes or whatsoever he say he will deduct deduct deduct from my deposit . (WOW I AM BEING BULLIED?!)
now the bad thing is , he didnt give me a reciept and i also didnt ask from him(very very big mistake i know) when i gave him the 1000$ deposit , he could just simply say i didnt give him any deposit if i wanna call the police incase he dosent want to return my deposit..
what should i do now? hes gonna suck away all my deposit !!
im from malaysia coming to sg to work ... poor me getting bullied by singaporeans
Edited.
Originally posted by Screwed !:now the bad thing is , he didnt give me a reciept and i also didnt ask from him(very very big mistake i know) when i gave him the 1000$ deposit
Hello, otak taroh mana? Beli barang mesti ada resit lah! Itu pun tak tau... Cilaka lu...
look at tenacy agreement.
move house lah... or balik kampung to malaysia...
"im from malaysia coming to sg to work ... poor me getting bullied by singaporeans"
Hi whiny bastard. Go back to your fucking country. We don't need pussies like you. Getting scammed is one thing, typing like that is another. Apparently from what i see, you are a whiny ass deserving on being bullied. And i wonder why the other 8 did not get bullied.
And he said NO aircon. And u still went to on it. U were already going back on the agreement. Who cares if he deducts 300 from your deposit.
I bet the TS would receive much more sympathy if he did not reveal his nationality.
I'm a landlord myself, even I don't resort to such crappy tactics
1stly - do you pay electricity?
If you do, simple - since you don't have a receipt or written proof of $1000 on the tenancy agreement. Just use the aircon anyway, let him deduct if you know he's not going to return your $1000. Deduct until that deposit is $0. doesn't matter, at least you get to enjoy the aircon. There are other ways, you can buy the portable aircon (quite expensive, but can work).
Or you can buy a fridge, leave it open, put some coils into it coming out wrapped around a fan, and you have a home made aircon.
$1000 for a room with attached bathroom/toilet.
Do you pay pro-rata the utilities bills, i.e. water, electricity, waste disposal, sanitary appliances charge ($3 per commode per month)?
You are already getting a reasonable deal. You want more? Its you that is unreasonable. Now he regrets renting the room out to you. Don't know what you will do to sabo him.
learn from it... tat's all.. wait till u finish ur contract, then go find new place... N dun repeat ur bloody mistake again...