would u just shuddup?
Originally posted by teraexa:Attempting to link disparate events together is... ok fine you win because I can't win in this argument cos its basis is non-existent in the first place!
What has the merlion getting struck by lightning has anything to do with LKY?
In your attempt to discredit and run down LKY, you inadvertently placed him in a greater importance by attributing every little occurrence, no matter how insignificant, to him.
Now, are you giving him too much credit then?
Learn to look past the LKY era. Look at the post-LKY era instead.
Harping on the "ass-licking dogs of the senile dictator" is not exactly looking forward to the post-LKY era.
You didn't even commit the mistake of Post Hoc. You instantly went for Non Sequitur.
Either way, both are fallacious and giving him too much credit.
Instead of ranting and ranting and ranting, why not join a serious opposition party and run for politics? Labelling anyone that doesn't agree with you is akin to alienating your future supporters. Your bigotry is no better than that of the current regime.
To progress you need to look forward. Too bad, your mind and head is constantly stuck in reverse gear.
P.S. Mod I foresee this becoming a Speaker's Corner topic. Can move it there?
teraexa, you can forget about reading anything or everything in this thread. Because whatever you read here, be it jokes, political, chit-chat etc, you'll only perceive it as a political topic.
Why don't you just get your ass to speakers corner?
Can you see the last part of my thread, "Just something to discuss about..." I put it up just for forumers to discuss about these coincidences and not to pin-point who is right or wrong or whatever forward/reverse gear that you mentioned.
If pointing out people's mistakes (on this discussion) makes you "famous" here, well, go ahead and do it. And please, do it at a right place.
"why not join a serious opposition party and run for politics...", i take it that you wanted to start this as a political topic. Do it at the right place if you're clever enough. And if you really know what i mean.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
...gentle reminder, this is about lightning striking the Merlion and whether or not the lightning strike means anything.... please do not talk abut Dr Chee unless you can somehow link Dr Chee to the lightning strike on the Merlion...
Somehow, i find it really strange. Of all the tall buildings, why don't the lightning strike the buildings but must strike merlion? And my science taught me that lightning strikes at the highest point?
Nearby the merlion is the esplanade bridge, one fullerton etc. Even esplanade bridge got lightning conductors right? Why must merlion?
Hmm....
yah loh yah loh
why ah?
later i go ask the lightning ok?
Originally posted by FireIce:yah loh yah loh
why ah?
later i go ask the lightning ok?
pls go ask and then come up with an explanation here.
Thanks!
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
hahaha... everything in this universe is related... you are part of the stars that you see in the sky...
You cannot see yourself in this picture, but you can be sure that you are a part of it, you make up a part of it.
still, you should admire the creator ah. =) or at least ponder about the possibility of one
Nearby the merlion is the esplanade bridge, one fullerton etc. Even esplanade bridge got lightning conductors right? Why must merlion?
I wonder too with all the lighting arresters nearby
maybe that merlion is too pretty and attractive and lighting was too horny to refuse
yes. lightning is horny.
best explanation so far.
maybe the merlion got static electricity build up , and thus the lightning will have tendacy to strike it instead of other buildings...
Contractors engaged to repair Merlion
SINGAPORE : Contractors have been engaged to repair the Singapore Merlion after it was struck by lightning on Saturday.
For now, the public is not allowed access to the 36-year-old tourism icon at the mouth of the Singapore River.
Temporary barricades have been erected for safety reasons.
Despite this, tourists and locals are still eagerly snapping pictures from afar.
When Channel NewsAsia last visited the structure on Sunday, water was still flowing from sculpture's mouth.
Debris from parts of the statue's head that fell off after lightning struck were cleared on Saturday night.
No one was injured.
The Singapore Tourism Board said it is waiting for a full assessment
from contractors before deciding when to allow public access to the
statue, and whether to erect a lightning conductor to prevent a repeat
incident. - CNA/ms
Originally posted by seyKai:Nearby the merlion is the esplanade bridge, one fullerton etc. Even esplanade bridge got lightning conductors right? Why must merlion?
I wonder too with all the lighting arresters nearby
maybe that merlion is too pretty and attractive and lighting was too horny to refuse
lol...
maybe PSLE this year will have this qn.
"why lightning strike merlion?"
question must change - why must it be merlion & not sealion or lion..
Originally posted by FireIce:maybe PSLE this year will have this qn.
"why lightning strike merlion?"
answer: lighting was horny
Originally posted by seyKai:
answer: lighting was horny
Another honest mistake for STB.
Maybe it is time to replace the old merlion with a new one.
The new patch may not be able to stay for long and it will leave a ugly scar on the scalp of the merlion.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Another honest mistake for STB.
The new patch may not be able to stay for long and it will leave a ugly scar on the scalp of the merlion.
and a new design maybe
rugged look then more cool mah.....
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Another honest mistake for STB.
STB mistake? well, i would think that it is good publicity, since no one was injured... but who would think of this as a mistake? more like a freak event of nature...
Mistake? An honest mistake, and move on?
Come on. Two symbols are involved here.
It could well mean, a message from you know who.
Singapore, you better wake up your bloody idea. Upgrade your skills.
Singapore, more knocks are comming your way. Don't play play.
Singapore, what goes around, comes around. So spend your GST credits.
Ermm, the last one don't fit.
But the gist is there must be a message in that lightning strike.
Originally posted by Hawk Eye:
teraexa, you can forget about reading anything or everything in this thread. Because whatever you read here, be it jokes, political, chit-chat etc, you'll only perceive it as a political topic.
Why don't you just get your ass to speakers corner?
Can you see the last part of my thread, "Just something to discuss about..." I put it up just for forumers to discuss about these coincidences and not to pin-point who is right or wrong or whatever forward/reverse gear that you mentioned.
If pointing out people's mistakes (on this discussion) makes you "famous" here, well, go ahead and do it. And please, do it at a right place.
"why not join a serious opposition party and run for politics...", i take it that you wanted to start this as a political topic. Do it at the right place if you're clever enough. And if you really know what i mean.
well i am not trying to be political here.
in fact, let me be blunt, i am just pure anti-AndrewPKYap. I have no qualms about admitting that. it's just so unfortunate that bashing him requires me to go a bit political.
what do i do it for? it's not because i want to be "famous". the reason is very simple, i "buay song" AndrewPKYap. fame has nothing to do with it.
hope that doesn't offend you.
lightning strike is just lightning strike loh
why have to think so much?
anyone losing sleep over this?
not me..
Go sleep lah, we wan chit chat.
lighting gave a warning - dun play play singapore - i will rape you again