anyway.. last time my professor says i might not pass my FYP, which means that i may need to retake.. another extra semster...
i was worried... but i also tell myself dun care.. even if fail alos must accept...my life should not depend on some stupid FYP project... and also shall not depend on whether i get degree or not...
at the end of the day... its the EQ is more important in life.. technical knowledge is not so important..
dun believe stabbing is frequent???
LOOk at my post.. http://www.sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/348624
titled slashing incident of pest controller in singapore
The news is around 20 feb.... which is 12 days ago only..
the new paper even put it on the front page... however... did such news make it to channel newsasia on TV and generate so much response from media and public??the answer is no because that one .. it is pest controller... this news... it is the professor from the famous NTU school
that one on 20 feb.. it is committed by some singaporean who took frug or are gangster.. whereas this one, it is by foreign student who is in FOurth year liao...
which kind of news will attract the public more??? of course is this NTU one lah... however... actually... both is actually equally serious news... that 20 feb one even worse... it is two people slashing the pest controllers....
Also those teen gangster.... even worse... one whole big group who live in neighbourhood like the rest of us law abiding students....
Originally posted by january:dun believe stabbing is frequent???
LOOk at my post.. http://www.sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/348624
titled slashing incident of pest controller in singapore
The news is around 20 feb.... which is 12 days ago only..
the new paper even put it on the front page... however... did such news make it to channel newsasia on TV and generate so much response from media and public??the answer is no because that one .. it is pest controller... this news... it is the professor from the famous NTU school
that one on 20 feb.. it is committed by some singaporean who took frug or are gangster.. whereas this one, it is by foreign student who is in FOurth year liao...
which kind of news will attract the public more??? of course is this NTU one lah... however... actually... both is actually equally serious news... that 20 feb one even worse... it is two people slashing the pest controllers....
Also those teen gangster.... even worse... one whole big group who live in neighbourhood like the rest of us law abiding students....
errr.. one news someone died, the other one no have...; seriousness different
this one more serious lah.
other stabbing incidents is stab then caught.
then the usual trials all...
this one is stab then slit wrists then commit suicide. all while i was having my tau suan in the canteen some more. go lecture then found out.
If you would go to CNA website "Video" (there are two now). The video tittled Eyewitness and Police comments on NTU stabbing is not censored at all! I really hope they are not riding on this so called exclusivity. This is so irresponsible!!
Ya la, he is quite obviously under great psychological distress at that time. Anyways, hopefully now he is at peace with himself.
These type of murder cum suicide.... smacks of "relationship" "passion" issues; I guess we will know more after the reporters dig further... into the motive
stab not successful , commit suicide.. damn..
I think the deceased student has some personal problems, and had difficulty with his FYP. Cuz the news article says so, that there were some difficulty in his FYP. Also, judging from the time now, the FYP thesis is just going to be written (1st draft), thus what probably has transpired is that the supervisor told him bluntly that his FYP is not good enough and that he needs to retain another semester, meaning that he cannot graduate with the rest of the cohort.
Seeing that the supervisor holds so many positions, it is very possible that he did not have time to supervise or mentor the student or to help or guide the student much. Since "high-ranking" Professors, normally will be very busy meeting people from overseas and going overseas for conference etc. Some unhappy conversations could have been exchanged.
The fact that the student has a knife (not sure if its a stationery), means that the assault could be premediated/preplanned. Meaning that the unhappiness could have already been for some time, maybe around 1-2 months or more. The fact that the student wants/intends to stab the Professor, means that the Professor is somehow also partly responsible for this event to happen, else the student could have stab other people, not him.
Having made the un-returnable decision, the student realised that he will not be able to get away from assaulting the Professor, and he will definitely be black listed now and almost assured of a sudden halt in his career, he feels that there is no way he can make it in life, and being also remorseful, slit his wrist and jumps.
If you read the paragraphs, this is ultimately a case study of management issues.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
These type of murder cum suicide.... smacks of "relationship" "passion" issues; I guess we will know more after the reporters dig further... into the motive
Yes, I believe so. I think both parties must be at fault.
I feel for the parents of this child.. so sad to learn that your graduating son died this way, far away from home.. Horrible.
No doubt, the professor bear the scars, but I seriously hope that there is self-reflection to why this incident even started.
Education system?
Originally posted by nightzip:
Yes, I believe so. I think both parties must be at fault.
I mean, BGR or in this case BBR problems...
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
I mean, BGR or in this case BBR problems...
Relationship meaning working relationship, boss-worker, mentor-mentee, supervisor-student relationship. Also means psychological, emotional management of both parties.
Originally posted by nightzip:Relationship meaning working relationship, boss-worker, mentor-mentee, supervisor-student relationship. Also means psychological, emotional management of both parties.
That is why I clarified for you... I am guessing about the "unmentionable in newspapers" kind of relationship.
strange
his grades have been outstanding and he got potential for 1st class honor
yet his supervisor told him he might not even pass his FYP
i tot FYP is sure-pass one?
Maybe they could be in a relationship and the lecturer decides to end it...am not surprised that most lecturer/professors could turned out to be homos..
brainless idiots sprouting nonsence
it's not impossible
the student is rejected by the professor
afterall the professor is already a married man with 2 daughters
he was an otaku
loved computer gaming, not his prof, idiots
Originally posted by No_10_Tomas:strange
his grades have been outstanding and he got potential for 1st class honor
yet his supervisor told him he might not even pass his FYP
i tot FYP is sure-pass one?
lol some group in my course, different corhort, their presentation is one jpg of their program and functions are labeled on the jpg telling everyone what each button does. but that's it.
How? sure pass?
I think this incident will only raise awareness of the possibility of more campus stabbings to come in the future.
Which lecturer or professor is going to walk around campus in peace? Students these days are not very sane, here or America. Such are societal standards and expectations in a first world nation.
If not for strict gun laws here, you would have seen some mass bullet spray already.
pew pew pew
I was from NTU as well and during my FYP grading, my moderator, with a very kwai lan attitude said, "I feel like failing you". I didnt get his name that time but he looks a bit like this prof Chan guy, might be him. He "feel like failing me" cos he got jealous i can come up with 5 designs for a thermal suit and his whole life only got one. So let this be a warning to all professors, You Can Fail Us But We Can Stab You. LOL
Oh prepare for some police action dude. They are gonna hunt u down based on ur last statement. Gd luck.
Reminds me of air passengers who joke about the word "bomb" and get detained.