I was born in Singapore and lived there till i was 16 as a PR. My parents were malaysian at the time of my birth so i am a malaysian citizen. At 17, i gave up my Singaporean PR, migrated to Aus and became an Aus PR. Now when people ask me where im from. I automatically say im a Singaporean. They then ask me whether i did NS, and i have to explain about how im no longer a Singaporean and that im a Malaysian citizen. Sort of like i lied to them about being a Singaporean. But how can i call myself a Malaysian when i speak and act Singaporean and dont know a single thing about Malaysia. Im going to get Aus citizenship in 2 yrs time. So what should i tell others i am, a Singaporean, Malaysian or Australian? Sorry for the long winded post, but please help a guy with an identity crisis.
地�人
huh... why must explain so much thing to them?
Just say u are the new age globetrotter lor, now living n working in oz land.
Not to worry. I bet most of us Singaporeans born and bred here pretty much don't know what we are either.
-
Originally posted by Frizzleflow:I was born in Singapore and lived there till i was 16 as a PR. My parents were malaysian at the time of my birth so i am a malaysian citizen. At 17, i gave up my Singaporean PR, migrated to Aus and became an Aus PR. Now when people ask me where im from. I automatically say im a Singaporean. They then ask me whether i did NS, and i have to explain about how im no longer a Singaporean and that im a Malaysian citizen. Sort of like i lied to them about being a Singaporean. But how can i call myself a Malaysian when i speak and act Singaporean and dont know a single thing about Malaysia. Im going to get Aus citizenship in 2 yrs time. So what should i tell others i am, a Singaporean, Malaysian or Australian? Sorry for the long winded post, but please help a guy with an identity crisis.
u r known as an "immigrator"...
Choose 1:
1. Sinlaylian
2. Magalian
3. Auslayporean
4. Sintrasian
5. Matraporean
6. Ausgasian
-cancelled-
I don't think people really care where you are from. It matters most whether you can click with them, ur good manners and common sense.
Originally posted by Bangulzai:Choose 1:
1. Sinlaylian
2. Magalian
3. Auslayporean
4. Sintrasian
5. Matraporean
6. Ausgasian
Lol i like that. From now on i am a Auslayporean
some form of a Third Culture Kid....
SBM should sound simple enough, singaporean born malaysian ![]()
never serve NS. u sissy
Originally posted by Frizzleflow:I was born in Singapore and lived there till i was 16 as a PR. My parents were malaysian at the time of my birth so i am a malaysian citizen. At 17, i gave up my Singaporean PR, migrated to Aus and became an Aus PR. Now when people ask me where im from. I automatically say im a Singaporean. They then ask me whether i did NS, and i have to explain about how im no longer a Singaporean and that im a Malaysian citizen. Sort of like i lied to them about being a Singaporean. But how can i call myself a Malaysian when i speak and act Singaporean and dont know a single thing about Malaysia. Im going to get Aus citizenship in 2 yrs time. So what should i tell others i am, a Singaporean, Malaysian or Australian? Sorry for the long winded post, but please help a guy with an identity crisis.
Just identify yourself as a person whom you are projecting yourself as. Since you are now turning Australian, get yourself australianized. Understand and follow their culture. When in Rome, do what the Romans do.
earthling.
Just tell people you are MaSing citizen.
Tell them that u r a Untermensch..
tell them the whole thing
make it clear to them
whats on ur passport?
malaysia right
thus ur a malaysian
if malaysia couple gave birth to a kid in sg, does the kid counts as a sgporean or malaysian?
"I am born in Singapore, and I am a Australian PR now " -> There is no need to explain the Malaysia part to other people. The world is moving towards globalization and citizenship is no longer important!! Well come to the new century. :-)
The reason why people keep asking where you are from is because, they are trying to adapt to your culture background and see if there is something sensitive that they cannot ask you or talk to you about.
For example,
in UK --> race, gender, religion is sensitive issue
in US --> private life is personal
in Aus --> they hate people chasing them for work, to them is insult for their working efficiency.
Different people, different culture and behavior.
knn, u is nt a sporean hor.
u juz say u is msian by birth.
but had been residin in spore.
malaysia citizen but brought up in sg la
You are a Singapore born and bred Malaysian.