Ok, was having a discussion with colleagues just now. We were arguing about branded stuff and the girls were saying they will never buy a second hand branded bag. Reason being its cos 'others use before'.
And so i ask ...
For the girls - would you buy a second hand branded bag? e.g. LV, gucci, loewe, bottega ? What if it was 50% off its sticker price? e.g. from $1000 become $500. Would you mind if the bag belonged to 2 seasons ago ?
For the guys - would you buy a second hand branded watch ? e.g. Rolex, AP, Patek Phillipe, Baume Mercier etc ?
How about other branded stuffs like pens ? Mont Blancs, Waterman, Cartiers .. ?
i would mind..
since im paying few hundreds, might as well get a brand new one.
I went into a shop in Katong Shopping Centre recently that sells second hand branded stuff. The bags looked pretty new and unused. The price is 50% off the original retail price.
Just ask them if they prefer a second hand girlfriend...? ![]()
Originally posted by Cool-gal:i would mind..
since im paying few hundreds, might as well get a brand new one.
I'm interpreting what u said as ," since i'm paying $500 for a second hand one, i might as well pay another $500 " for a brand new one ....
Originally posted by Honeybunz:I went into a shop in Katong Shopping Centre recently that sells second hand branded stuff. The bags looked pretty new and unused. The price is 50% off the original retail price.
did u buy ??
i dun understand it ... i thought cheaper = more value for money ...
Depends. If a second hand branded bag looks as good as new, why not? Can even buy 2 second hand bags. Nobody will ask whether it's second hand or not.
Originally posted by maxtor:did u buy ??
No leh. Cuz after the huge discount, it still cost close to $1,000. It's quite worth it lah... for the quality which looks very much brand new. Just that I was broke.
Originally posted by Miss Tiny:Depends. If a second hand branded bag looks as good as new, why not? Can even buy 2 second hand bags. Nobody will ask whether it's second hand or not.
Harnor.
And it's environment friendly too (dunno whether this applies to branded stuff or not though).
Somemore we're paying less for the original, not buying some fakes.
Originally posted by marcos_84:
However, if you have a tight budget, the bags still looks new and you really want it, why not buy a second hand one? Who on earth will know? Except urself…
That's what i was thinking. but apparently girls don't feel the same way. Perhaps they don't want to be seen in the second hand shop ?
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Harnor.
And it's environment friendly too (dunno whether this applies to branded stuff or not though).
Somemore we're paying less for the original, not buying some fakes.
Yes! You're helping to save the cows.
Humans have unlimited wants. But with limited resources, not all wants can be satisfied.
Economics. xD
god damn it ITS JUST A FREAKING BAG!!! =.=
Ya i will get if in good condition.
here's something i never understood.. a bag is a bag.. branded or not?
i copped hell in the office for daring to say that a branded bag looked butt-ugly.. it was.. but to them, it's a "branded bag" and costs way too much so therefore they seemed to look at it in awe...
i was wondering.. shit-brown with ugly obiang LV all over it is "very nice and classy" ?
p.s. i recently copped hell again when i blurted out, "sheesh, that looks horrible" to a Prada thingy...
only if it's branded such that it lasts very very long, much longer than other normal bags. i.e. it's more cost efficient to buy it than a non-branded bag.
well actually I might just buy it if it was dirt cheap just to "show off". and when I say dirt cheap I mean dirt cheap like 10 bucks.
here's another school of thought. because its a status symbol (branded stuff) people don't mind paying more for a first hand good.
because in the first place, it was never really worth it to begin with...
Originally posted by maxtor:here's another school of thought. because its a status symbol (branded stuff) people don't mind paying more for a first hand good.
because in the first place, it was never really worth it to begin with...
if i sew a piece of leather with a famous brand onto a cheapo piece of clothing, i get to put an insane pricetag on it.. and people will buy it ![]()
actually.. they already do that.. and people buy the things ![]()
case in point = "Branded" jeans..
Actually its girls who need it more than us guys.. For mi its pass the branded stuff period.
Originally posted by the Bear:
if i sew a piece of leather with a famous brand onto a cheapo piece of clothing, i get to put an insane pricetag on it.. and people will buy it
actually.. they already do that.. and people buy the things
case in point = "Branded" jeans..
How about watches ? Some watches can cost ... $50k,60k.
For those limited edition ones ... $300k, $1mil is no problem.
For me, Id be willing to spend say .. 10k on a watch? But the rest is not impt... the bag i carry .. the clothes i wear, need not be branded.
Originally posted by MooKu:Yes! You're helping to save the cows.