i know this is off topic but i need response asap.
3 days ago i went to the doctor for my flu and i asked for anti biotic cos i needed to get well asap, i was given cephalexin (10 capsule, twice a day)
Having finished like 6 capsules already, i realised this antibiotic causes mild nausea and noticeable weakness to me, should i stop taking it ? Will my sudden stop for this AB allow any bateria thats left alive to develop a tolerance to this drug in future ?
once taken the 1st antibiotic, u must finish the full course
if stop taking halfway the flu will develop an (edit) : resistance against this antibiotic in the future
omg man im doomed, cause it also causes abit of breathing difficulty for me i need to take a full deep breath a couple of times....
sian man 4 more pills to go for 2 more days seems like very long to me
finish the last 4 capsules within the next 2 days please as instructed
even when im experiencing the side effects so blatantly ?
cant believe i actually ran 2.4km and did push ups cause im enlisting in 2 weeks mi cant afford to slack on training but today i totally notice this weakness very very heavily as if my knee cap is empty and my muscles seems to be non existent
the other only way is to look for that same doctor to express ur difficulties and see what can he help otherwise.
scarly end up really is virus and i asked for anti-biotics i really is self pwned -_-
You went to a doctor because of a flu? ![]()
The feeling of being weak and having no strength is merely mental effect. It is brought on by the fact that you don't want to train. In that case, just rest for 1 day.
oh ya and for the anti runny nose and anti inflam i can stop as and when i feel i dont need it without finishing the entire course right this kind of med wont allow resistance to occur etc right ?
flu is virus, not bacteria
anyway, i urge u not to run 2.4 as the flu virus can attack ur heart
well i got 4 more capsules, meaning 2 more days so u think is it alright for me to start training on tuesday all the way when i finish this anti biotic cause its not mental the weakness is really obvious you can feel it one i force myself to exert but just no strength and the empty knee cap thing is the most obvious feel
Originally posted by Kokia:oh ya and for the anti runny nose and anti inflam i can stop as and when i feel i dont need it without finishing the entire course right this kind of med wont allow resistance to occur etc right ?
if these are stated as antibiotics, u must finish by hook or by crook
if they are not stated as antibiotics, then no need to finish the whole course
Originally posted by Bangulzai:flu is virus, not bacteria
antibiotic is for against virus
anyway, i urge u not to run 2.4 as the flu virus can attack ur heart
2.4km isn't really a large distance.
wah but i ran le omg will i be ok
for his safety in the best advice
Originally posted by Kokia:wah but i ran le omg will i be ok , also if really is flu virus means whether i finish this anti biotic or not makes no difference since there are no bateria to develop a tolerance ?
not bacteria that develop resistance, it is the virus that develop resistance
Originally posted by Kokia:wah but i ran le omg will i be ok
You will be fine. I train even when I have fever, a small flu won't kill you.
oh ok thanks all for now i guess i will try to put up with the side effects luckily its only for next 2 days i really now understand those people who have to take long term medications that have side effects ...oh well i guess i will stop training for sat and sun until i finish my anti biotics . Will start on monday....pretty wierd this year been only like 3rd month since 2009 started and im down with heavy flu (1st day of 09), gastroenteritis (11 days later) , and now flu again (almost recovered ).. cant figure out what went wrong
good
read this also, which the portion in blue is for your purview:
munfitnessblog.com :: Should I Still Exercise Even When I Have Cold or Flu?
Early last month, I was not feeling well for couple of days. Having sore throat and cough. But, I was wondering whether I should push myself to pump the iron. Just now, managed to catch an interesting conversation with a seasoned personal trainer.
Here is what I have learned:
Though Mun has always encouraged you to exercise, but do not feel bad if you are not able to do so when you are sick. It is not the end of the world if you take some time off to rest. Missing a week of workout will not deteriorate your fitness level significantly. Trust me, you do not have to start all over again. The gym building will not run away.
In fact, when we under weather, we should eat well, drink water, rest and not to do strenuous physical activities to avoid extreme fatigue. When we are sick, our muscles are not working but our immune system will be working hard. Even if you have cold and still decide to run or cycle, if you do not feel well, stop exercising immediately and rest. Do not keep pushing yourself for the wrong reason. Also, if you are infected by virus, do not go to gym. No body will come up to you and say thank you for sharing your infection.
Hopefully, this above and below the “neck rule” will help you to decide whether you should exercise. However, always listen to your body. In fact, we should exercise to stay healthy before we get sick and not only wait till we have cold then only we want to exercise. Don’t you think so?
lol i duno mines a cold or flu at its peak i got runny nose with heavy sneezing, really tired and heavy head and low grade fever , probably mild sore throat ...
wah jia lat means i duno if i will kena the peumonia(whatever) or not leh how long must i wait before its symptoms show ?
anything, listen to your body, go to the doctor if u feel not okay
article again LOL ::
The symptoms we get during a viral illness are often the body's attempt to get rid of the virus and to minimize damage. Sneezing ejects the virus from the nose, cough from the lungs and throat, vomiting from the stomach, and diarrhea from the intestines. Fever makes it difficult for the virus to reproduce. The topic of viral illnesses will always remain somewhat confusing, since the body has a relatively small number of symptoms with which to respond to an ever-changing, wide variety of viruses. While colds and flus may overlap, the differences between them are important.
Colds
Flu