anyone happens to know roughly the cost for 1 can of spray paint?
average one, no need premium quality.
are u referring to the nippon spray paint?
the cost varies according to the colours..
around 4bucks.
plus minus depending on brand, and finishes. . .
why? want to spray the wall?
thanks guys! and no lah, i wanna spray on some wood at home.
another thing.......what is the name of that thing which we spray onto wood to give it a protective coating? is it called shellac or laquer or something?
like if the wood is sandy and powdery on the surface, then you spray that thing onto it to give it protection and it has a smooth hard feel.
thanks guys! and no lah, i wanna spray on some wood at home.
another thing.......what is the name of that thing which we spray onto wood to give it a protective coating? is it called shellac or laquer or something?
like if the wood is sandy and powdery on the surface, then you spray that thing onto it to give it protection and it has a smooth hard feel.
visit the self-fix store nearest to you..
there's a small section with all kinds of paints & you may wish to ask the staff there..
sandy and powdery means you're supposed to sand it.
but if sandy and powdery means if i sand it, then more powder, grain and sand will be loose right?
Originally posted by Nikar 3:but if sandy and powdery means if i sand it, then more powder, grain and sand will be loose right?
dnt artifact ?
sand , sand again , sand again and again .
spray .
You will to make the surface smooth by filing and sanding it... if it is uneven, no use trying to make it smooth via apply the finishing... unless you intend to apply a lot of layers until it become smooth and even...
Originally posted by Nikar 3:but if sandy and powdery means if i sand it, then more powder, grain and sand will be loose right?
when you sand you're removing the bumps and uneven surfaces. no it won't be loose.
thanks all, actually, the thing is very smooth and straight due to being cut by machine, but the thing is there's a powdery feel.
like if you use your hand to stroke it, you can feel very very fine grains of wood (although un-seenable by the eye) on your finger.
so, i think maybe spraying lacquer can fix this.
Powder coated.![]()
$3.50 to $6
Originally posted by Nikar 3:thanks all, actually, the thing is very smooth and straight due to being cut by machine, but the thing is there's a powdery feel.
like if you use your hand to stroke it, you can feel very very fine grains of wood (although un-seenable by the eye) on your finger.
so, i think maybe spraying lacquer can fix this.
send for sand blasting, follow by plasma spray to coat it and then use grinder to grind to perfection. If still hve that powdery feeling, throw it away and buy a new one.
mayb need to send angle for powder coating
Originally posted by seyKai:mayb need to send angle for powder coating
If so, I will prefer Elizebeth Aden powder, dun give me those chinatown powder hor
Daiso $2
Originally posted by angel7030:
If so, I will prefer Elizebeth Aden powder, dun give me those chinatown powder hor
wan some power coating? it will paint u eternity black
Originally posted by NickL_C151:Daiso $2
apply a layer of laquer, let it dry and sand it again. This should remove most of the dust and makes the surface more smooth. After that up to you if you wanna apply laquer to make it more shiny.
thanks! oh, one more thing......is it true that i i spray-paint on plastic material, the plastic will shrink?
i'm thinking of spray-painting onto this clock movement here:

but one friend told me it *may* shrink the plastic case.....anyone?
no. Don't think so since it's acrylic. Only polystyrene foam will shrink.
Hey I was at art friend today. A can of spray paint there costs 5 bucks or so, and they sell the clock mechanism and clock hands too, abeit very limited variety.
Its black by the way the clock thingy, comes with clock hands too.![]()