Originally posted by Xelement:go kopi tiam buy coffee find tutor there, maybe can start with the names of all the beverages
oi ah dee ar!! teh o kosong jit buay!!!!
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:丽爱甲 Ley Ai Kah (which has no meaning) .
It can otherwise explain in Hokkien as only love the best with her beauty.
æ±�爱食 Li Ai Tsiah æ±� is old Chinese (Wen Yuan) of (Bai Hua Wen) you (ä½ ) of the Spring and Autumn period before Chin dynasty.
Basic Hokkien is a derivative from Chu, best survived in Chu Yuan prose that survived the burning by the Chin. Chin language have no gender hence only ä½ . Whereas other states such as Chu, Qi etc survives now only as lingusitic dialects.
Hope this help.
Thanks.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:丽爱甲 Ley Ai Kah (which has no meaning) .
It can otherwise explain in Hokkien as only love the best with her beauty.
æ±�爱食 Li Ai Tsiah æ±� is old Chinese (Wen Yuan) of (Bai Hua Wen) you (ä½ ) of the Spring and Autumn period before Chin dynasty.
Basic Hokkien is a derivative from Chu, best survived in Chu Yuan prose that survived the burning by the Chin. Chin language have no gender hence only ä½ . Whereas other states such as Chu, Qi etc survives now only as lingusitic dialects.
Hope this help.
丽爱甲 Ley Ai Kah (which has no meaning) .
It can otherwise explain in Hokkien as only love the best with her beauty
LOL, of course å—é�¢ä¸Š it is interpreted as such, but never "You Want To Eat" !
There are many layers to the explanation. I will explain one by one here:
Originally posted by Fantagf:they did not say improper, it is me who said it. as they show the jia gu wen and explained that the dai yu has not exact character to represent for learning.
what is dai yu?
Originally posted by Bangulzai:what is dai yu?
The taiwan hokkien is called tai yu
Originally posted by Fantagf:
The taiwan hokkien is called tai yu
ok ok i see
for your information, when you watch program or whoever tell you anything about this and that, if you have query it's good not to 全盘接� everything the "researchers" here and there. i always do a lot of critical thinking on these aspects
clarify with more people first, or else at the end, maybe some wrong things get stuck and next time we become more confused ourselves (why A say this, and B say that ???)
Originally posted by Bangulzai:
丽爱甲 Ley Ai Kah (which has no meaning) .
It can otherwise explain in Hokkien as only love the best with her beauty
LOL, of course å—é�¢ä¸Š it is interpreted as such, but never "You Want To Eat" !
There are many layers to the explanation. I will explain one by one here:
- In 文言文, ä½ is indeed frequently replaced by æ±�。
- But in the case of Hokkien, it is not 文言文 at play that makes Li as �。It is really through Linguistic Anthropology that the pronunciation of the Minnan Hokkien Li is �。
- Caution: I am going into very chimology from here (no choice) >>
- Li is the 厦门 & 漳州 variety of the word "You". In the æ³‰å·žï¼Œå®‰æºªï¼Œæ™‹æ±Ÿï¼Œæƒ å®‰ï¼Œå�—安 variety of Hokkien the pronunciation is Lɯ. In Minnan Linguistics, it is known that 厦门 & 漳州 variety does not retain the vowel "ɯ" and changes it into either "i" or "u". In this case, Lɯ was the predecessor of Li. In Minnan Linguistics, "ɯ" vowel came from "é�‡" rhyme, and cannot be explained for the word ä½ which is from the "æ¢" rhyme
- Hokkien is not entirely 楚 (about less than 10% of the non-Han elements in Minnan), Hokkien is more to � substrate with 闽越 admixture (the rest of the 90% of the non-Han elements in Minnan)
True, true. Hokkien is a non-Han language but influence by the southern states during the Spring and Autumn period. Wu is the coastal state whereas neighbouring Chu is the inland state both sharing a common heritage. Chu was also know as East Wu during the 3 kingdoms. The Han linguistic come from the north hence many of the pronunciation are diffrerent from the south.
é—½ is derogative term by the northerners to describe the south. A bunch of insects in the house. Hence this is not a kind word for the southerners.
My dad never allows me to use é—½ so we have to call ourselves Hokkien.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:True, true. Hokkien is a non-Han language but influence by the southern states during the Spring and Autumn period. Wu is the coastal state whereas neighbouring Chu is the inland state both sharing a common heritage. Chu was also know as East Wu during the 3 kingdoms. The Han linguistic come from the north hence many of the pronunciation are diffrerent from the south.
é—½ is derogative term by the northerners to describe the south. A bunch of insects in the house. Hence this is not a kind word for the southerners.
Perfect !
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:True, true. Hokkien is a non-Han language but influence by the southern states during the Spring and Autumn period. Wu is the coastal state whereas neighbouring Chu is the inland state both sharing a common heritage. Chu was also know as East Wu during the 3 kingdoms. The Han linguistic come from the north hence many of the pronunciation are diffrerent from the south.
It is an eye opener to read what you posted. So I am right to say that the northerners look down on the southerners. Majority of the china chinese who come to singapore now are from the north. I notice many northerners are arrogant and never hesitate to give ill comments according to their condescending attitude.
I will let as many people especially the hokkien know about the é—½ story.
It is an eye opener to read what you posted. So I am right to say that the northerners look down on the southerners. Majority of the china chinese who come to singapore now are from the north. I notice many northerners are arrogant and never hesitate to give ill comments according to their condescending attitude.I will let as many people especially the hokkien know about the é—½ story.
The meaning of Hokkien is the blessed ones who are lucky to rebuild their homelands.
é—½ is a reminder of oppressions and genocides by the northerners.
im also from pri-jc route but i quite heng mine all sap school, so chinese culture is somewhat there, as for hokkien, basic conversation if not most of it can handle, quite proud of it since many of my jc friendscant even handle chinese let alone dialect...i guess its,family enviroment...if u want learn go army lor, learn from those less educated types, almost all hokkien master but please don learn hokkien vulgar haha
since you understand hainanese, try to speak it out and as for hokkien, it is common and is easier to learn... grandparents and other elders are a good place to start to learn... practice make perfect...
Originally posted by Snoopy6876:since you understand hainanese, try to speak it out and as for hokkien, it is common and is easier to learn... grandparents and other elders are a good place to start to learn... practice make perfect...
hainanese branched off from hokkien one lor, so speak hainanese complements hokkien and speak hokkien complements hainanese
Originally posted by Bangulzai:hainanese branched off from hokkien one lor, so speak hainanese complements hokkien and speak hokkien complements hainanese
sure or not?
come come
i very happy to discuss
were you aware of this?
Originally posted by Bangulzai:come come
i very happy to discuss
were you aware of this?
yup you are right, Hainanese branch off from Hokkien. The true Hainanese ended up in Vietnam.
Originally posted by Bangulzai:come come
i very happy to discuss
were you aware of this?
never hear about it. only got to know from u
sgf can start hokkien class, we have 2 hokkien experts here. ha ah ha ha
never hear about it. only got to know from u
yay! i am so proud to haf enlightened one more person
Originally posted by Fantagf:sgf can start hokkien class, we have 2 hokkien experts here. ha ah ha ha
there are many many many oso hokkien experts here. juz dat they no time to post. actualli u oso hokkien leh
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:yup you are right, Hainanese branch off from Hokkien. The true Hainanese ended up in Vietnam.
i dunno wat ur second part mean
Originally posted by Bangulzai:yay! i am so proud to haf enlightened one more person
How it come about?
Look at my 19th post of the first page of this thread
Originally posted by Bangulzai:Look at my 19th post of the first page of this thread
How do I know it is your 19th post? lei chay!
Originally posted by Bangulzai:i dunno wat ur second part mean