I've been baffled by how my friends live their lifes.. they seemed to either have too much money, or they don't care about saving at all. I don't get it. Is it my priorities is that messed up, or i'm just being too stingy.
Btw, this question only apply to regular citizens and those who work for all their income and do not live with their parents. (allowance given by parents or anyone else should not be answering this thread)
For me, I save about 63% of my salary. And use the rest to cover like food, phone bills, car insurance, and rent (yes rent, i don't live with my parents and i don't get free food). I don't have any mortgage or credit card debt to deal with. So, i'm going at month-to-month basis.
Shout it out! let me hear all you folks' opinions.
I save 80% of my income and I don't live with my parents. I spend $450 per month including rent.
I work, study and run a part-time business and invest all at the same time.
It's doable actually.
$450 per month??? including rent???? in singapore???
that's awesome... *clap clap clap*
what is your plan for your savings? buy a house? marriage?
$450 per month??? including rent???? in singapore???
I spend nearly $2k USD per month on rent, food, bills in the US. I save between 1k and 5k a month depending on extra income I make on the side. I am currently offering commission based sales positions for workers in any region of the world. So long as you can somehow receive payments for your work.
Wish I could get away with $450 a month for everything here in the US ;)
I spend S$2k monthly for all the basic stuff i need.
$200 - PUB
$60 - HDB(some stupid fees)
$800 - food for 2
$100 - Phone bills
$300 - transport for 2
nightdriver and youyayu, are you saving at all?
dun bother to calculate
the lumber is always depressing when i chk my bank acct
Originally posted by DaDeCrater:I've been baffled by how my friends live their lifes.. they seemed to either have too much money, or they don't care about saving at all. I don't get it. Is it my priorities is that messed up, or i'm just being too stingy.
Btw, this question only apply to regular citizens and those who work for all their income and do not live with their parents. (allowance given by parents or anyone else should not be answering this thread)
For me, I save about 63% of my salary. And use the rest to cover like food, phone bills, car insurance, and rent (yes rent, i don't live with my parents and i don't get free food). I don't have any mortgage or credit card debt to deal with. So, i'm going at month-to-month basis.
Shout it out! let me hear all you folks' opinions.
I spent -
$90 - transport
$150 - Utilities
$40 - phone bills
$60 - internet bills
$350 - for my new home
$230 - for school fees
The rest i save lor.
Wah, impressive you can count all the way to 63%.
I also don't really keep count, as long as there is no deficit the following month.
I also take note that the highest expenditure goes to fine dining every weekend, other than that, weekdays I don't splurge.![]()
I saved about 50% of my salary with POSB Mysavings account and watched it grow grow grow.
How much do i spend? Far more than i save
Originally posted by DaDeCrater:$450 per month??? including rent???? in singapore???
My rent is $300 per month for on-campus accommodation.
$150 for everything else!
I spend what I earn before I can save anything!
My pay day is also Bank pay day... ( got to return loans / insurance / handphone bill....bills again........etc )
Very discouraging when click on account balance. Seems swimming around and around the same old spot.
Originally posted by MaxSleep:I spend nearly $2k USD per month on rent, food, bills in the US. I save between 1k and 5k a month depending on extra income I make on the side. I am currently offering commission based sales positions for workers in any region of the world. So long as you can somehow receive payments for your work.
Wish I could get away with $450 a month for everything here in the US ;)
I was spending about USD 700 a month when I live in Seattle. It is inclusive of everything rent,food ,utilities, car, gas,insurance. The thing I like about living cheaply in the US is that the quality of life is never sacrified..At least I still can afford to drive a car and live in a landed property with mountain view. If I spend about S$1K in Spore, I will be living miserly like a pauper and scrimping on everything.
Originally posted by homer28:I was spending about USD 700 a month when I live in Seattle. It is inclusive of everything rent,food ,utilities, car, gas,insurance. The thing I like about living cheaply in the US is that the quality of life is never sacrified..At least I still can afford to drive a car and live in a landed property with mountain view. If I spend about S$1K in Spore, I will be living miserly like a pauper and scrimping on everything.
so... how much is actually enough for living in singapore?? rent is pretty cheap right?
Originally posted by DaDeCrater:nightdriver and youyayu, are you saving at all?
Yes, I do. I think 2k per month is average for a single person...
Originally posted by TooFree:I saved about 50% of my salary with POSB Mysavings account and watched it grow grow grow.
I have one too... just opened it... but the money not a lot... lol...
i save 90% of my monthly salary.
I spend abount 1.2k on rent, food, insurance, play dates with little girls and parents expenses / mth
Originally posted by TooFree:I saved about 50% of my salary with POSB Mysavings account and watched it grow grow grow.
POSB Mysavings acc izit monthly saving? Interest good ma?
Originally posted by Aunt_Dell:
POSB Mysavings acc izit monthly saving? Interest good ma?
http://www.sgclub.com/singapore/posb_saving_account_50838_2.html
Scroll down and look at the 23th post.
i shld spend lesser and save more and more and more and more