I came across this campaign called OLPC (One Laptop Per Child), and i think it's a really meaningful and extraordinary campaign.
By donating one laptop to a school-age child in a developing nation, you empower them to learn and have a proper mean to education. The aim is to make education for the world's children a PRIORITY, not a privilege.
This laptop will enable these children to have a window to the outside world, helping them connect with each other. Most importantly, we are helping these countries and the world to develop the most important resource - educated and empowered children.
- as quoted in http://www.laptop.org/
So what are you waiting for? Visit http://www.laptop.org/ and donate a laptop now. Think of the children of the world, and think of the happiness you can bring to them by giving them a good education.
With education, we will solve our own problems. To the person who gave me this XO laptop, thank you. You have changed my world. - Zimi.
look at the current economy now..
doing charity transcends all boundaries. the laptop only costs USD$199, and it helps to change the world. isn't it a worthy investment? :)
just read the website to know more, and even if you all do not purchase and donate the laptop, it will help to create more awareness. :)
thanks for your attention!
Originally posted by countingdowntoORD:I came across this campaign called OLPC (One Laptop Per Child), and i think it's a really meaningful and extraordinary campaign.
By donating one laptop to a school-age child in a developing nation, you empower them to learn and have a proper mean to education. The aim is to make education for the world's children a PRIORITY, not a privilege.
This laptop will enable these children to have a window to the outside world, helping them connect with each other. Most importantly, we are helping these countries and the world to develop the most important resource - educated and empowered children.
- as quoted in http://www.laptop.org/So what are you waiting for? Visit http://www.laptop.org/ and donate a laptop now. Think of the children of the world, and think of the happiness you can bring to them by giving them a good education.
With education, we will solve our own problems. To the person who gave me this XO laptop, thank you. You have changed my world. - Zimi.
the child is what age one?
I dun even have a laptop. =(
Originally posted by Doraemonboi:the child is what age one?
the campaign is aiming to equip school-age children (6 yr old onwards) of developing nations with a simple laptop each. :)
When i grow up w/o internet access, w/o cpu
Also lidat wad
I think i only get my 1st cpu when i am in poly, and thats a desktop too
Originally posted by pierre^^:When i grow up w/o internet access, w/o cpu
Also lidat wad
I think i only get my 1st cpu when i am in poly, and thats a desktop too
well, u had a chance to go to school don't you? some children in africa don't even have the chance to be educated.. it's the very least we can do for them. :)
Originally posted by countingdowntoORD:
the campaign is aiming to equip school-age children (6 yr old onwards) of developing nations with a simple laptop each. :)
o than good lor but not paper com first
And... did you donate?
Originally posted by Plastic Bag:And... did you donate?
yep! :)
My sch one is I P4 den have le, i buy lo, so cheap, got subsidy, 3500 become 500. It's So much cheaper.
OLPC is the father of UMPC.
That's a great idea.
Oops, where can we plug the laptops? ![]()
I don't even have a laptop and you want me to donate a laptop to some kid in Africa? ![]()
Personally, I feel that you don't need a laptop to be empowered and have a proper mean to education. How did we learn in the past when there was no laptops? It is thru books, teachers, your own self etc.. maybe we should donate books instead. :) Hmm, i presume in developing countries they do not have access to internet as well, so what good can a laptop do when most, if not all, knowledge can be gained from internet now?? Anyway this project was started like 3 or 4 years ago, last time it was code name as hundred dollar laptop if i din remember wrongly.
how do i join?
Originally posted by FireIce:how do i join?
just visit their website at http://www.laptop.org and you'll be shown how u can donate a laptop and make a difference. :)
You must be out of your mind.......
Many families with schooling going kids here dont even have desktop pc and you are urging us to donate laptops to some oversea countries.
Puke !
i mean i wanna join to receive laptop
got pink MSI Wind?
Originally posted by countingdowntoORD:
well, u had a chance to go to school don't you? some children in africa don't even have the chance to be educated.. it's the very least we can do for them. :)
Errr.. so Africa you mean the tribe there got power points meh? Then how they charge their laptop leh? Solar power?
Then ah.. the laptop got wireless... but in the first place the tribe/village got WLAN network meh??!!
And instead of giving them laptops, why not do it the tested and proven way - ie through proper schools and curriculum? In the first place, the kids will know how to use the laptop meh? And if they are being taught by people to use the laptop.. why can't the same people teach the curriculum instead of teaching them how to use the laptop only? I think for USD 199, you can hire like quite a few teachers in africa which will benefit more children, rather than paying for ONE lousy laptop?
Originally posted by nightsky87:Errr.. so Africa you mean the tribe there got power points meh? Then how they charge their laptop leh? Solar power?
Then ah.. the laptop got wireless... but in the first place the tribe/village got WLAN network meh??!!
And instead of giving them laptops, why not do it the tested and proven way - ie through proper schools and curriculum? In the first place, the kids will know how to use the laptop meh? And if they are being taught by people to use the laptop.. why can't the same people teach the curriculum instead of teaching them how to use the laptop only? I think for USD 199, you can hire like quite a few teachers in africa which will benefit more children, rather than paying for ONE lousy laptop?
Well, if you read the site, you would have gotten the answers. But just for your benefit, here are the answers to your questions.
Questions on charging:
"It will also tolerate alternate power-charging sources, such as car batteries."
Besides normal charging can use this but I think they did explore the use of Solar Energy for this laptop.
Questions on network:
Its for all the kids to have acess to each other's laptop in class.
By the way, thanks to this OLPC project, we are having all these nice classy small UMPC.
Originally posted by PeekingZ:Well, if you read the site, you would have gotten the answers. But just for your benefit, here are the answers to your questions.
Questions on charging:
"It will also tolerate alternate power-charging sources, such as car batteries."
Besides normal charging can use this but I think they did explore the use of Solar Energy for this laptop.
Questions on network:Its for all the kids to have acess to each other's laptop in class.
By the way, thanks to this OLPC project, we are having all these nice classy small UMPC.
Oh so please help me answer the following doubts about the OLPC project. From the OLPC wiki, they did mention that the target age of OLPC is 6-12. Heck, if singapore school children do not need laptops for them to achieve proper education, why do the african children need laptops? Imagine a class of 20 african children x USD 199 = USD 3980. How many african teachers' combined salary is equivalent to that? How many more students can the african teachers educate as compared to 20 laptops used by 20 privileged african children?
By the way, UMPC is a business move by laptop companies, they produce it because it is profitable. We are having nice classy UMPC because people are willing to pay for them and buy them.
Originally posted by PeekingZ:Well, if you read the site, you would have gotten the answers. But just for your benefit, here are the answers to your questions.
Questions on charging:
Questions on network:Its for all the kids to have acess to each other's laptop in class.
Oh and what exactly do you mean by "all the kids have access to each other laptop in class"? For what? to MSN messenger their classmate sitting next to them? ![]()
Originally posted by SilverRevo:I dun even have a laptop. =(
Can i sit on your lap top??