ok, regarding the below sentence:
our watches make a perfect gift for your loved ones
is that correct?
or should it be:
our watches make a perfect gift for your love ones
which one is correct?
if use the past tense version, means refering to people who are already dead?
thanks! serious only.
moii one
our watches ish best for chiur whole family ![]()
Google it. ![]()
loved?
past tense?
why would anybody want to give a watch to their ex-wives? ![]()
they are already paying alimony. ![]()
Originally posted by deepak.c:
loved?
past tense?
why would anybody want to give a watch to their ex-wives?
they are already paying alimony.
Traditionally, the Chinese don't like sending watches or clocks as gifts. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:
Traditionally, the Chinese don't like sending watches or clocks as gifts.
I think watches are ok.
I sure won't mind if you send me a tourbillon movement. ![]()
hello, serious leh!
on the other hand, anyone knows the reason why chinese say it's in-auspicious to give clock as a gift? as in "song-zhong"?
what's the story behind?
You need chinese lesson too ?
You said the ans out and you do not know that ?
yes, but song-zhong is just normal word mah! what's the meaning?
zhong = in-auspicious?
Originally posted by Nikar 3:yes, but song-zhong is just normal word mah! what's the meaning?
zhong = in-auspicious?
means funeral, send the dead off on funeral day
why would it be "our watches make A perfect gift..." instead of "our watches make THE perfect gift..."?
ah, thanks for the explanation, fanta! and thanks to wonderamazement too. :D
but, still, should use "loved ones" or "love ones"?
Loves Loved Loving & Love. Hahaha!
The word "loved" can either be an adjective or a verb. When you say "loved ones", you are saying that the 'ones' are being loved. You are using the adjective "loved". When you say something like "I loved him", You are using the verb loved, the past tense of loved.
The word love can either be a noun ( abstract noun) or a verb, but not an adjective.
Nikar, think it should be "loved ones" if I am not wrong.
Hello fanta. Long time no see.
Originally posted by Uraniumfish:The word "loved" can either be an adjective or a verb. When you say "loved ones", you are saying that the 'ones' are being loved. You are using the adjective "loved". When you say something like "I loved him", You are using the verb loved, the past tense of loved.
The word love can either be a noun ( abstract noun) or a verb, but not an adjective.
To me, "loved ones" the word "loved" is a verb. But I went on to check the dictionary, I could not find "loved" being a verb. Perhaps, I should go check some English reference books.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:Hello fanta. Long time no see.
Beauty, long time no talk, how are you? Having any holidays?
Nop. No holidays now.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:ok, regarding the below sentence:
our watches make a perfect gift for your loved ones
is that correct?
or should it be:
our watches make a perfect gift for your love ones
which one is correct?
if use the past tense version, means refering to people who are already dead?
thanks! serious only.
e line in green is e correct 1.
past tense =/= dead hor!
KNN, my thread got hijack again.
but at least the question is solved now.
thanks to fantagf and AEW5001!
now, FI, pls do the community a service and ban all those who hijack this thread.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:KNN, my thread got hijack again.
but at least the question is solved now.
thanks to fantagf and AEW5001!
now, FI, pls do the community a service and ban all those who hijack this thread.
I don't see anyone hijack your thread.
Originally posted by AEW5001:
e line in green is e correct 1.past tense =/= dead hor!
Wrong. The word "loved" in that sentence is not the verb (past tense of love), it's the adjective.
Loved correct . that word nt meant in pass tense. i also dunoe how explain
buts its correct ! ! !
Loved is correct.
The word "loved" represents both past & present as it is in a past present form.