Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm.. why are you offended?
but if i look at this logically.. that sentence simply says that TS has alot of guts, because it's very frowned upon by the muslim community if one member switches religion.
how is that offensive?
what you said is true. I remembered how the two ex muslims converted to christians were treated.
Originally posted by gigabyte14:this thread is getting damn funny
u all making it like this:
if i join christianity, that means muslims, buddhists and other religion people must all die
and vice versa
can grow up?
well.. it's common knowledge that if a muslim converts out, he's an outcast. this is something rather frowned upon, and it's not going to be an easy life for him.
it's.. not going to change just because you think it's all petty issues.
Frankly speaking, its all in the heart. A person with good heart > A person with bad heart. Religion or not don't matter much.
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Frankly speaking, its all in the heart. A person with good heart > A person with bad heart. Religion or not don't matter much.
ya
la
lol dumbdumb, the ts confirm hong gan 1
i can imagine this
he kena kicked out of the house
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Frankly speaking, its all in the heart. A person with good heart > A person with bad heart. Religion or not don't matter much.
True. That is what I have been telling people
i tot both christianity and islam originate from the same inventor?
Originally posted by Nikar 3:i tot both christianity and islam originate from the same inventor?
This is a good one. There are similarities. Mary in islam, is mariah, joseph is yusoff , abraham is ibrahim, and other so and so on
Originally posted by gigabyte14:ya
la
lol dumbdumb, the ts confirm hong gan 1
i can imagine this
he kena kicked out of the house
usually that's the case. but hard to say also. cuz now some muslim families not so strict, can rear dogs etc.
in middle east, the convert gets stoned.
so i understand the dilemma he's facing, and that's why i say "kudos, for having the courage to make that choice"
Originally posted by Nikar 3:i tot both christianity and islam originate from the same inventor?
there are simiarities, but how the 2 religions originated are different.
i'm not sure if this is relevant, but Abraham was promised by God that he will have a son. But his wife got impatient, and asked him to sleep with a servant girl, and the servant girl got pregnant - that's the linage of the middle east people.
I think something like that, but I have to read up and clarify.
haahaa...
wah, didnt noe tat sentence is so chilli powder...
sorry sorry, my wrong...
i just wan to encourage him la..
peace......
Originally posted by Cool-gal:haahaa...
wah, didnt noe tat sentence is so chilli powder...
sorry sorry, my wrong...
i just wan to encourage him la..
peace......
of course chilli powder la. u could hv pm him instead.
i was wondering though, if he chosen to be a protestant, would you say the same thing?
you guys, whether christians or catholics go give him more encouragement and support. It is no joke to be ostracized by own kin if they find out.
no fight no fight, catholics and protestants (sorry I mean Christians). I not very much like to use protestants to call christians.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:of course chilli powder la. u could hv pm him instead.
i was wondering though, if he chosen to be a protestant, would you say the same thing?
mmmm, i would say being a christian is the right path?
aiyah, how i noe maa...
i dun mean anything one ma...
im a very peaceful person...
heehee...
Originally posted by Fantagf:you guys, whether christians or catholics go give him more encouragement and support. It is no joke to be ostracized by own kin if they find out.
mmmm, no la...
of cos, tat was just our support, ultimately its he himself to make the decision..
of cos, he has to respect his parents..
never to force someone into religion..
cos its the faith tat all gods want from their believer....
Eversince cavemen started to wonder about the natural elements, he believed in the existance of a higher being controlling the world. And within such controls begat the foundations for a civilisation to grow - a set of rules defining one's space and shared responsibilities to live in a society for comfort and protection.
Hunters pray to the moon for a good hunt, while farmers pray to the sun for a good harvest. Animalist in worship, our ancestors needed to find comfort and solace in their environment, to have at least a hope in an unknown future, more so when they, like us, still have not figured out many things, worse still when their education was sorely lacking.
The first known civilisation were the sumerians, whom although prayed to several different gods, there is a chief god they worship - Enlial. Their descendants were of the aryan ethnic group - greeks, persians, ancient europeans, romans, indians.
To outsiders, many are aghast at the hindu religion with its numerous gods and deities, but they too, like their ancestors, worships only one god - be it Shiva or Ganesha, or others, and respects the other gods.
Through Abraham, a descendant of Sumer, the line of jews were created to worship and pay homage to one God. Moses was given simple laws so that a civilisation be formed, without the conflict of multiple loyalties and strife through religious worship.
Christ, the son of God, was sent to offer mankind the value of redemption, so that mankind may sin no more. For example, if a man was to kill another, he may continue to kill more and do more harm, for he has no redemption and destine for doom. This is dangerous, thus a need for the philosophy of redemption for mankind.
Mohammed, the good prophet of the Mohammedians faith Islam, was sent to offer the religious philosophies taught by Jews and Christians to worship the ONE God.
Islam in its purest form is the direct communication to God by individual men and not thru the intercession of human beings such as clerics or its heirachies. Unfortunately, such philosophies were too far advance for desert nomads with little education and subject to, as we had seen, twisted, dominated and use to wreck havoc on humanity by intelligent educated ambitious men such as mad caliphs, demonic mongols and cruel ottomans.
It is the SAME ONE God that religious humans had ALL been praying and worshiping to.
The only difference is the interpretation of God's law by Man, and thus the different forms and manner of worship - Moses and line of priests (Aron), Christian disciples, Islamic Caliphs. Interpretation by men whom are as flawed as anyone else, none perfect. Made worse when it became a tyranny or dictatorship, unchecked by fellow men.
Buddhism is not a religion, but a philosophical way of life, with the ultimate aim similar with religion - to do good and progress humanity spiritually. We must move beyond the jungles and its laws if we are to seek any hope for our continued survival as a species.
Thus to convert or not - it is only the form of worship man created,
that one seeks to replace, not God.
one thing i find AMAZING is that how come there's no many denominations in christianity.
it is this concept of denomination that's dividing christians. what presbyterian? what protestant (people who love to protest)? what adventist (advertising dept of christian)? what catholic?
the thing is that in christianity, there is only 1 God and 1 Jesus. the rest like Abraham, Moses, Julia, Barack, Mary, Britney, McCain, Josie, Tifa, Joseph and Judas are irrelevant.
imagine if things can be kept simple and christian just follow the 10 commandments, pray to only God and Jesus, and ignore the rest.
things would be way more peaceful, and nothing like that Church of Our Savior (another sub-denomination of a denomination?) saga would happen.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:one thing i find AMAZING is that how come there's no many denominations in christianity.
it is this concept of denomination that's dividing christians. what presbyterian? what protestant (people who love to protest)? what adventist (advertising dept of christian)? what catholic?
the thing is that in christianity, there is only 1 God and 1 Jesus. the rest like Abraham, Moses, Julia, Barack, Mary, Britney, McCain, Josie, Tifa, Joseph and Judas are irrelevant.
imagine if things can be kept simple and christian just follow the 10 commandments, pray to only God and Jesus, and ignore the rest.
things would be way more peaceful, and nothing like that Church of Our Savior (another sub-denomination of a denomination?) saga would happen.
While all mankind are born equal, this is not so on their intelligence level. Some are fortunate to have a good education, some are not. Thus there may be a need for interpretation of even God's simple command.
Even a village idiot will try to wrangle and argue his way out of a commandment, so how more the intelligent? Who decides then on the mitigating factors? Flawed Man again?
Thus i guess, in order for a society to thrive, we need wise men to decide. Pay unto Ceasar what belongs to Ceaser, and pay unto God what belongs to God.
We Singaporeans are fortunate to live in Singapore, a secular society. Although we interfere not in religious affairs, we make sure whatever religious leaders do, do not interfere with the running of our society that attempts to treat all human equal, regardless of race, language or religion, through a council of wise men made up of legislative elected officials, respected judges and tested cabinet officers, bearing in mind the best of mankind's laws and its progressive furtherance.
There are unalterable cosmic laws that we know nothing about. Our destiny is the stars, promised in holy works as well as simple deduction of reason and logic. We may change our fate but never our destiny. But it will be our fate we freely choose in the hands of men that may destroy our destiny. Even this message is too far advance for modern man to comprehend, try as i might to write as simply as possible so that more may understand.
in the first place, muslim can convert meh? i thought it is haram?
Well the jews say christ is a fraud, muslim say jesus is just a simple prophet and not a son of god and not to be taken too seriously. Catholic keep the practices by a cleric called Paul faithfully while christian just read the bible and come out with many forms so varied tat some r condemned as cults.
Well tis god is no different from the many gods the chinese, greek or hindus believe. None is verifiable. Being more popular doesn't really means anything
And Buddhist is really a religion because they believe in supernatural events, follow a set of practices and explain some phenomenons of the world.
Originally posted by sbs8104h:in the first place, muslim can convert meh? i thought it is haram?
WTF!
if he's converting away, why bother about the religion's do's and dont's??
Originally posted by sbs8104h:in the first place, muslim can convert meh? i thought it is haram?
It is not the conversion that is bad or illegal. Religion is NEVER the outward form, but what lies in one's heart.
To convert or not is thus not an issue, for it is only an outward form and nothing more than public display and the acceptance of another 'man's ' structure and form of worship.
It's what you do for humanity and society from the heart that is more vital.
Originally posted by maskedangel:WTF!
if he's converting away, why bother about the religion's do's and dont's??
as long he happy ok lor
There was almost a religion base on the starwars thingy. . . lol
Originally posted by maskedangel:There was almost a religion base on the starwars thingy. . . lol