Im entering very soon in culinary arts..the interviews almost got me speechless liao..and now im entering the school in 1 month plus time... Im a Normal technical student so i need to know how their maths works and stress level.
huh
u're learning to be a chef right
what has maths got to do with it?
and hor
if it's not difficult,
what's the point in learning that?
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:huh
and hor
if it's not difficult,
Not surprisingly, many outsiders believe that culinary courses require no maths at all.
The maths required is very basic, you will not get x^2+3x+2=0 and the likes of it, but at the very least you must be able to mentally calculate proportions without mistakes.
Stress level, I will say it depends on whether you are gifted or not. If you are gifted in the culinary arts, it will be smooth-sailing for you, if not, you will find it VERY tough work. If you are the latter, you might find yourself chopping the same vege over and over again until the instructor is satisfied.
Also, memory work is important too, cause you need to be able to write down for paperwork how much of each ingredient is needed for specific dishes, and how long do you need to boil certain stuffs. Once again, maths will also come in here as you will need to calculate for yourself the amount of ingredients needed for the same dish for different amount of people.
All in all, it is not hell. It is just going to be very tough.
If you have passion in culinary it shouldnt be of any problem.
But of course, no matter how good you are, the stress level will be there.
It doesnt matter if your from normal tech or not. Enjoy your vacation now and be prepared for sch! Dont stress too much unless you have no passion in culinary thats another thing.
Anyway hows the interview like? It seems to stress you a lot
need the passion
dun go there and have the 'sian, bo pian then go in 1' kinda attitude
If I need to put in 1 gram of crushed basil leaves for every 30 litres of stock, how many grams of crushed basil do I need for 83 litres of stock?
If you can answer the above without taking half a day and on your feet, you're set.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:Not surprisingly, many outsiders believe that culinary courses require no maths at all.
The maths required is very basic, you will not get x^2+3x+2=0 and the likes of it, but at the very least you must be able to mentally calculate proportions without mistakes.
Stress level, I will say it depends on whether you are gifted or not. If you are gifted in the culinary arts, it will be smooth-sailing for you, if not, you will find it VERY tough work. If you are the latter, you might find yourself chopping the same vege over and over again until the instructor is satisfied.
Also, memory work is important too, cause you need to be able to write down for paperwork how much of each ingredient is needed for specific dishes, and how long do you need to boil certain stuffs. Once again, maths will also come in here as you will need to calculate for yourself the amount of ingredients needed for the same dish for different amount of people.
All in all, it is not hell. It is just going to be very tough.
i love culinary since i was bloody young and my passion for it is very strong.
now i understand how maths work there thank man
Originally posted by Lorry`:If you have passion in culinary it shouldnt be of any problem.
But of course, no matter how good you are, the stress level will be there.
It doesnt matter if your from normal tech or not. Enjoy your vacation now and be prepared for sch! Dont stress too much unless you have no passion in culinary thats another thing.
Anyway hows the interview like? It seems to stress you a lot
i went through two interviews..actually i didnt reach their minimum requirement but somehow i got in. The interviewer say some student quit after few months and i just freak out
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:huh
and hor
if it's not difficult,
if a chef cannot fen de chu what is kg and gram. i bet the food will be like wtf
Originally posted by youyayu:if a chef cannot fen de chu what is kg and gram. i bet the food will be like wtf
A chef told me cooking its not all about weighting its about taste and feel
Originally posted by haha879:
A chef told me cooking its not all about weighting its about taste and feel
Yes, but what the chef means is that cooking is about being able to figure out what quantity of ingredients and spices will bring out the best in a dish.
Real chefs don't bring a weighing machine around with them to measure their ingredients, they must be able to feel and tell roughly how much of each and everything is needed.
Of course, sometimes you might find the dish not salty, sweet or sour enough, hence it is alright to add a small amount of spices to bring out a better taste.
Originally posted by ditzy:If I need to put in 1 gram of crushed basil leaves for every 30 litres of stock, how many grams of crushed basil do I need for 83 litres of stock?
If you can answer the above without taking half a day and on your feet, you're set.
erm can use calculator? the maths like very hard + how to weigh out the exact amount.....
Originally posted by youyayu:if a chef cannot fen de chu what is kg and gram. i bet the food will be like wtf
but this one is basic until cannot basic de math ma!
i was thinking "x^2+3x+2=0" like forbiddensinner said.
Originally posted by haha879:
i went through two interviews..actually i didnt reach their minimum requirement but somehow i got in. The interviewer say some student quit after few months and i just freak out
Hmm i dont know in what way you didnt reach their minimum requirement.... be it academic or what.... but since you said you have that passion, then everything should be okay. Cuz it's the most impt. Without that you'd be like dragging to go school lor.
Anyway it's quite common ba to see drop outs or quitters, not just in culinary school.