First to score distinctions for all 33 of his modules

It is a first in his polytechnic's 55-year history.
SINGAPORE Polytechnic (SP) student Kuriakin has scored distinctions for
all 33 of his modules, a feat no other student from the school has
accomplished since it was established 55 years ago.
The electronics, computer and communication engineering student will be
graduating top of the 5,000-strong cohort of students graduating from
SP next week.
For his excellent performance, the 23-year-old will be receiving the
Lee Kuan Yew Award, given to top polytechnic graduates from technology
courses.
His all-distinction record is made all the more impressive by the fact
that he achieved it while juggling several jobs and co-curricular
activities in the guitar and Rotaract clubs. He also participated in
community involvement projects in the Philippines.
An Indonesian who arrived in Singapore four years ago from his hometown
on Bintan island, Mr Kuriakin has worked as a waiter, sales assistant
and roadshow promoter to pay off his $6,000 tuition loan and living
expenses here.
The youngest of five children, he did not want to burden his parents
who are still living on Bintan. His father is a mechanic and his
mother, a housewife.
His efforts are even more resounding as Mr Kuriakin was not always an
A-grade student. He did poorly in Indonesia's high school leaving
examinations in 2004 and was denied a place at SP.
He said: 'I was the captain of my school's basketball team and
neglected my studies. I saw how disappointed my parents were. During
that year, my father was hurt in an accident at his workplace and until
now I believe I caused it. He was distracted because he was depressed
by my poor results.'
Motivated to make his parents proud, he came to Singapore to sit for
his O levels as a private candidate and scored seven points.
He hopes to study robotics in the United States starting September.
He said: 'I am glad I did not give up when I did not do well in my high
school exams. If I had given up, I would not be able to chase my dreams
now.'
And the first one to make poly-history in Singapore is.....not a singaporean. : D
Grats to Mr Kuriakin, but I do hope that Singaporean poly students will strive hard to achieve the same feat as him.
It's a report in Straits Times. Truly inspiring! I can feel the passion in him.
wow....
somemore he gt work wor.
respect.
non singaporean leh
so sad
sg seriously no talent, 2nd sliver outsiders, all outsiders feat
aiya, nationality aside.
but still .. gotta give respect to this dude yo. It's not easy to work and study, plus got CCA to handle.
if he's a singaporean, he wouldn't need to work already because scholarships will throw themselves at him. it's not easy to be foreigner afterall.
aiyoh.. not bad wor ![]()
Power..
really good leh... all Distinction leh... ALL leh... wish him all the best.. go to the states and fulfil ya dream. Lee KY would be proud of you.. just make sure you come back... dont bite the hand that feeds you...
lol. wow. =D
Salute to this guy!!!!
see i've said b4 POLY modules are too easy. Singaporeans teens please wake up. If you don't treasure the opptunity to study, there are lotsa of ppl out there who are eyeing for this chance. So don't complain later when expats are earning much more when in the first place you do not treaure the opportunity to study and excel in it
that why the photo look familiar... kuri from aricc....
Originally posted by FireToad:see i've said b4 POLY modules are too easy. Singaporeans teens please wake up. If you don't treasure the opptunity to study, there are lotsa of ppl out there who are eyeing for this chance. So don't complain later when expats are earning much more when in the first place you do not treaure the opportunity to study and excel in it
but not the language modules and general electives.Are you a poly student? I am second year in school of EEE and I aimed to do the same - distinctions in all modules - but I couldn't do it. I have distinctions for the core modules. I agree that for some modules it is easy for students to score 'A', but the easier the module, the better grades everyone will get. If a class has 20 students, and everyone scores 90 and above, then you need 100 marks to ensure the distinction. The challenge is how you can ensure you score 100 marks everytime. If you don't score the 100, what are you gonna do?
Closest I know is a NYP student, everything As and Zs only
power sia... so when he's going to convert to sg citizen?
the earliest is two years ma, that's the rule, unless govt give him scholarship and ask him to convert lor. u think it's good that he converts to sgprean?
Originally posted by bigsale:the earliest is two years ma, that's the rule, unless govt give him scholarship and ask him to convert lor. u think it's good that he converts to sgprean?
I highly doubt he will, because if he does, he will have to serve NS after coming out of poly and before he enters uni.
Originally posted by FireToad:see i've said b4 POLY modules are too easy. Singaporeans teens please wake up. If you don't treasure the opptunity to study, there are lotsa of ppl out there who are eyeing for this chance. So don't complain later when expats are earning much more when in the first place you do not treaure the opportunity to study and excel in it
then why you nv get the 33 distinctions? ![]()
Can we get/engage such FTs to take care of our country's investment???????
wow
Foreigners are more hungry than Singaporeans.....
In my class of 80% foreigners/PR, they occupied front seats, do extra assignment, very attentive to lecture, very diligent in helping their own kind......
That why I said in another thread before ....foreigners/PRs...... don't play play....watch out Singaporean.....