Originally posted by youyayu:any way. without being rich. how can you help people?
if being rich is a crime. then work so much for what?
the poor is finding exquses all the time.
there is lots of $$ money making ways
but everytime they won't do it because of their lack of confidence and mentaility that they are sure to fail and even why bother starting doing it.
A wise man will always find for a way, well a foolish man always find exquses.
Making money is about opportunities. People need money to make money. Even if you want to sell things, you need contacts for suppliers, you need cash for supplies etc.
So how can you say that?
This is why it is easy for a rich man to make money but not a poor man.
I met this lady the other day on the bus back towards Clementi. She is a Messanic Judaist and a very fervant one. Apparently she is in such a financial state that she needs to sell bible and other religious stuff for a living. I went to her house the other day, it was like a regular store room. All the things she is trying to sell is in there, singapore flags, candle holder, bibles, scriptures, blow horns. Anything you could scavenge off the streets.
While I was sitting there talking to her, her husband tried to loan ten dollars from me. I think her husband is unemployed as well. Both of them are in their sixties. It is not in a very good position to be in at this age I think.
Also while I was in the lift going up to see this first lady yesterday, I met this other lady that collects newspaper for a living in her sixties as well. The other guy in the life just stood there looking at her while standing in her way when she was trying to get out the lift at level six of the HDB flat. I ended up helping her bring all her newspaper to her place before proceeding to the flat of the first lady.
It feels very sad indeed. I think helping poor aged people with some time and effort if not money is one of the things to do in Singapore
I just helped a man with no legs by giving him 2 dollars.
The reason why communsim fails in Soviet Union and China is that the governments didnt follow the ideals of Marxist theory. They become corrupted in the end. If all countires in the world were to follow the Marxist theory closely, there would be no poor people in this world. Everyone will be equal. This will be an ideal world. Robinhood is one good example of ancient communism. Overthrow the rich and equal wealth for everyone.
Originally posted by sebastian_83:The reason why communsim fails in Soviet Union and China is that the governments didnt follow the ideals of Marxist theory. They become corrupted in the end. If all countires in the world were to follow the Marxist theory closely, there would be no poor people in this world. Everyone will be equal. This will be an ideal world. Robinhood is one good example of ancient communism. Overthrow the rich and equal wealth for everyone.
i see
Maybe you shd suggest to the ministers to cut a bit of their pay. That'd save quite a lot of poor pple.
There are always poor people, in the past, in the present, in the future.
There are always weak and sick people, in the past, in the present, in the future.
There is always imbalance and injustice, in the past, in the present, in the future.
History has never shown us why this world should be equal and just. It never happens.
Not only with humans, who are born with inequality, some are born rich, strong, have talents, some are born poor, weak, dumb, and even with abnormalities since birth.Not just humans, even animals are unequal. You see in the jungle, big animals eat small animals. There is no equality, this is the nature of our world.
I think we should accept it, and once we can accept it, we can find more peace in our hearts (not to discourage good deeds, but to accept and recognize imperfection)
Some may born rich or born.
So should we just accept it as it was?
If yes, then u will be what u are
If no, then at least u stand some chance
of changing ur life around
We should try our best,
But at the most, we can only change ourselves, or maybe several people around us.
At the most even if you are a very powerful person, politician, or tycoon, or whatever leader, still, you cannot change everything. There is always going to be injustice and imbalance.
In our world, in the animal world and human world, there is no justice and equality.
Today in America, Japan, or any other "rich countries" there are still bums and homeless people, not to mention poor countries like India.
I suspect it will be like this for thousands of years to come.
Our history is just like this.
me nex mth mabbe can afford sum time on community work.
bt me still haben decide yet on whr to offer my service leh.
it has been one long year since me last volunteered loh.
every1 wishes the world to be fair, just that everyone's definition of whats equality is different.
to the people with nothing they think that its a great idea if everyone had something ( so money please! )
to the people who work hard AND succeeded they think that their efforts should be rewarded. If hard work, intelligence etc all didn't matter, then everyone might as well stay home and wait for the government to issue money. Work so hard for what?
all i can say is that the world is controlled by the people who have power.
Those who always come and talk about equality and stuff are the ones who have no money no power and hence cannot do anything.
This kind of nato ( no action talk only ) behavior would only serve to prolong the wealth upon wealth cycle of the people in power.
I look down on you people.
If any of you eventually come to succeed in life, and practice what you are preaching now ( donate your money to the poor in the pursuit of equality ) , please make the headlines and i'll salute you
Originally posted by sebastian_83:As I grow older, i discovered singapore still have many poor people. Sometimes i feel this world is unfair, some pple r struggling with their daily basic needs like food while others r driving big and luxurious cars and living in big houses. really pity the poor pple in singapore. i think more should be done to help the poor. one way is to deduct more money from those rich pple's salary and then distribute these money equally among the poor. like that will definitely save many poor pple and make everyone's wealth more equally distributed.
Singapore needs more Robin Hoot like you, people who are not afraid to kena hantam.Hope to see you run for the next Erection and see how many would actually run away from you.Good Luck Sebastian.
in conclusion, n i quote
"we are not a welfare country" those who cannot survive deserve to die
Originally posted by sebastian_83:As I grow older, i discovered singapore still have many poor people. Sometimes i feel this world is unfair, some pple r struggling with their daily basic needs like food while others r driving big and luxurious cars and living in big houses. really pity the poor pple in singapore. i think more should be done to help the poor. one way is to deduct more money from those rich pple's salary and then distribute these money equally among the poor. like that will definitely save many poor pple and make everyone's wealth more equally distributed.
Actually, the country is split into two classes, those who earn local salaries and those who earn international market level salaries. Their qualifications may not necessarily be different but just opportunities. You just hope like hell that you're in the latter. It's a vicious cycle bcos if you happen to be in the former the only way out is education, a lot of hard work and more importantly a lot of luck. Once you've moved up, it is easier to stay there. Guess which group the majority of the people are in?
If you can willing to set up a volunteer program to *save* these poor people i would volunteer to help out.
It's a lot more effective than expecting the government to do anything about it. Do you seriously think that even if the government decides to divert the money to help out these poor it would really be the needy that would apply for it ?
The government is also not helping by allowing imports of excessive FT to steal jobs of local people.
This is good lah!
Then I can voluntarily be poor. No need to work anymore. The rich and young people do the work and support me. wah!
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:me nex mth mabbe can afford sum time on community work.
bt me still haben decide yet on whr to offer my service leh.
it has been one long year since me last volunteered loh.
where u volunteered last time kitty?
Don't worry. By comparison, poor people in Singapore is much better off than poor people in many other countries. Even in worst case scenario, there is still food to eat. No one is dying from starvation. The weather is mild so the homeless can sleep in void decks. I'm not saying we should not help them, I'm just saying that life is just not so bad in Singapore be it rich or poor.
Originally posted by mancha:This is good lah!
Then I can voluntarily be poor. No need to work anymore. The rich and young people do the work and support me. wah!
Corright la.People like Sebastian here talk so easy although with good intentions knowing the task is not just difficult but impossible in a complicated society like this.